Chevron Left
Retour à Network Dynamics of Social Behavior

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Network Dynamics of Social Behavior par Université de Pennsylvanie

4.6
142 notes
41 avis

À propos du cours

How do revolutions emerge without anyone expecting them? How did social norms about same sex marriage change more rapidly than anyone anticipated? Why do some social innovations take off with relative ease, while others struggle for years without spreading? More generally, what are the forces that control the process of social evolution –from the fashions that we wear, to our beliefs about religious tolerance, to our ideas about the process of scientific discovery and the best ways to manage complex research organizations? The social world is complex and full of surprises. Our experiences and intuitions about the social world as individuals are often quite different from the behaviors that we observe emerging in large societies. Even minor changes to the structure of a social network - changes that are unobservable to individuals within those networks - can lead to radical shifts in the spread of new ideas and behaviors through a population. These “invisible” mathematical properties of social networks have powerful implications for the ways that teams solve problems, the social norms that are likely to emerge, and even the very future of our society. This course condenses the last decade of cutting-edge research on these topics into six modules. Each module provides an in-depth look at a particular research puzzle -with a focus on agent-based models and network theories of social change -and provides an interactive computational model for you try out and to use for making your own explorations! Learning objectives - after this course, students will be able to... - explain how computer models are used to study challenging social problems - describe how networks are used to represent the structure of social relationships - show how individual actions can lead to unintended collective behaviors - provide concrete examples of how social networks can influence social change - discuss how diffusion processes can explain the growth social movements, changes in cultural norms, and the success of team problem solving...

Meilleurs avis

SC

Jan 21, 2018

A Crisp yet effective overview of some of the most critical works in the field of Networking. Anyone from the fields of Management, Sociology, Anthropology et al should try the MOOC.

PA

Jul 29, 2019

This course really enhanced my understanding of collective intelligence, however, it would be great if instructors provide lecture slides also to revise the course whenever required.

Filtrer par :

26 - 40 sur 40 Examens pour Network Dynamics of Social Behavior

par Poornima A

Jul 29, 2019

This course really enhanced my understanding of collective intelligence, however, it would be great if instructors provide lecture slides also to revise the course whenever required.

par YAO E M K

Nov 24, 2018

It was a very good class and I learned a lot. Thanks for sharing and continue the good job.

par Sunil K Y

Feb 12, 2018

Content is neatly laid out, not mathematically rigorous as I believe course is targeting a wider set of audience. Week 2 material can be improved with regard to clarity about the different types of networks.

par Andrew Z

Jan 27, 2018

I whould like to have more of the models practicing.

par Jean C

Jun 20, 2018

Very good topic and teachers' expertize. It is a pity that the "rules" used in teh simulations are not made explicit, leading to some doubts. Also, could go a bit deeper in the influence of key network parameters.

par ramya h

Jan 09, 2018

An good course that will provide gist of Agent Based Modeling with out dragging it too long. Introduces an Agent Based Modeling software NetLogo with examples and codes.

par Navaneethan S

Jun 15, 2018

The course discussed some absolutely fascinating material - I really enjoyed learning about Schelling Segregation Model (collective dynamics are not obvious from individual preferences), how dense local connections are necessary for spreading behaviours that require social reinforcement (which initially seemed counterintuitive), and the section on problem solving in networks.However, I felt that the material was quite superficial in its treatment - the quizzes were very straightforward and didn't require a really deep understanding of the material (in my opinion), nor was there much attention paid to the maths underlying these phenomena. While I understand that this may not have been the aim of the course (since equations tend to put of people less comfortable or uninterested in mathematical detail), it would have been nice if the Resources contained links to further reading for those interested.Alternatively, it would have been really wonderful if Josh or Damon (both of whom explained the material really well), had added optional videos going into the material - this is how Andrew Ng does it in his Deep Learning course, and I found that extremely helpful.Overall, I would definitely recommend this course to everyone interested in a radically different approach to understanding human behaviour!

par Thomas K A W

Feb 22, 2018

The course gives a very good overview of the main insights and is enjoyable at the same time. Great course that would deserve a five-star rating if it would not be for the many typos, incomplete sentences in the tests, and errors in the videos.

par bernard

Jun 26, 2018

Great course, through this course i learned a few things on how people interact. Ideas in this course are not only applicable to people, but also diseases, problem solving and many more. I highly recommend to all managers and others interested in policy or human behavior in general

par Laurent G

Dec 11, 2017

I found this a very good introduction to network dynamics. The problems addressed are very interesting, and explanations are very clear. One drawback is that it is not very technical, but in the allotted amount of time it would not be possible to cover so much ground otherwise.

par Christo Z

Feb 23, 2018

very good overview. i'm missing the maths behind the theory which will enable me to apply the knowledge to own problems

par Siddhi G P

May 31, 2018

This is a really good course for beginners, and it gets across some great and important ideas very intuitively (even without getting into very rigorous analysis, it does a great job). It would really help if some more material on using NetLogo could be provided, but overall this is a great course.

par KARINE L

May 17, 2019

Very good introduction to the topic

par Apoorva P B

Jan 24, 2018

It's too bare-bones and not very challenging, but talks about very interesting concepts

par Roy L

Jul 08, 2019

interesting description of application of network analysis to social dynamics. However it could be improved a bit to discuss the models more in-depth