Chevron Left
Retour à Network Dynamics of Social Behavior

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Network Dynamics of Social Behavior par Université de Pennsylvanie

4.6
étoiles
341 évaluations
90 avis

À propos du cours

How do revolutions emerge without anyone expecting them? How did social norms about same sex marriage change more rapidly than anyone anticipated? Why do some social innovations take off with relative ease, while others struggle for years without spreading? More generally, what are the forces that control the process of social evolution –from the fashions that we wear, to our beliefs about religious tolerance, to our ideas about the process of scientific discovery and the best ways to manage complex research organizations? The social world is complex and full of surprises. Our experiences and intuitions about the social world as individuals are often quite different from the behaviors that we observe emerging in large societies. Even minor changes to the structure of a social network - changes that are unobservable to individuals within those networks - can lead to radical shifts in the spread of new ideas and behaviors through a population. These “invisible” mathematical properties of social networks have powerful implications for the ways that teams solve problems, the social norms that are likely to emerge, and even the very future of our society. This course condenses the last decade of cutting-edge research on these topics into six modules. Each module provides an in-depth look at a particular research puzzle -with a focus on agent-based models and network theories of social change -and provides an interactive computational model for you try out and to use for making your own explorations! Learning objectives - after this course, students will be able to... - explain how computer models are used to study challenging social problems - describe how networks are used to represent the structure of social relationships - show how individual actions can lead to unintended collective behaviors - provide concrete examples of how social networks can influence social change - discuss how diffusion processes can explain the growth social movements, changes in cultural norms, and the success of team problem solving...

Meilleurs avis

PG

28 juil. 2019

This course really enhanced my understanding of collective intelligence, however, it would be great if instructors provide lecture slides also to revise the course whenever required.

SC

20 janv. 2018

A Crisp yet effective overview of some of the most critical works in the field of Networking. Anyone from the fields of Management, Sociology, Anthropology et al should try the MOOC.

Filtrer par :

51 - 75 sur 89 Avis pour Network Dynamics of Social Behavior

par Kedric W

21 oct. 2019

A great entry level course for network dynamics.

par Sharon S

19 mai 2021

A must for anyones is in a business of change

par Gabriela M

21 nov. 2017

Extremely educational. Totally recommend!

par Reka P

3 juin 2018

It was extremely didactic and logical.

par David C

26 sept. 2020

Great course, great instruction

par pranav n

5 sept. 2018

needs more practical exercises

par bhanu

7 août 2018

wonderful experience

par Aime K

6 juin 2022

It was hard

par Daniela B

18 sept. 2020

I LOVED IT

par AbdurrahmanWahid T

24 mars 2022

very good

par Yijun C

14 juil. 2020

As far as I am concerned, this course is helpful. It gives me some understanding of social behaviours from a higher level. For example, social norms can not only be regulated by centralised authorities but also be naturally formed by people involved in social network (our society). Additionally, it talks about how network structure can affect the contagion. Also, different kinds of contagion will have different performances in the same network structure. However, the contents of this course doesn't include extract mathematical model. I hope it can tell us something related to math, which could explain the social phenomenon in a more analytical way in the next version!

par Eugene M

25 févr. 2022

What attracted me from the very beginning was the fact that it is a fascinating subject in a highly topical area. I would have given it five stars, but I have to note that one of the professors speaks far too quickly. It's hard to understand as a mode of communication, and it's hard to understand the meanings of speech when you're struggling to follow the "red thread." Otherwise, a great course! Congratulations!

par Siddhi G P

31 mai 2018

This is a really good course for beginners, and it gets across some great and important ideas very intuitively (even without getting into very rigorous analysis, it does a great job). It would really help if some more material on using NetLogo could be provided, but overall this is a great course.

par 赵志豪

6 mai 2021

On the whole, it is still too simple. The explanations in the first four weeks are clear and easy to understand, while the fifth week is rather vague. After-class tests tend to be conceptual. None of them have a holistic understanding of network dynamics, which is slightly disappointing.

par bernard

26 juin 2018

Great course, through this course i learned a few things on how people interact. Ideas in this course are not only applicable to people, but also diseases, problem solving and many more. I highly recommend to all managers and others interested in policy or human behavior in general

par Laurent G

11 déc. 2017

I found this a very good introduction to network dynamics. The problems addressed are very interesting, and explanations are very clear. One drawback is that it is not very technical, but in the allotted amount of time it would not be possible to cover so much ground otherwise.

par Thomas K A W

22 févr. 2018

The course gives a very good overview of the main insights and is enjoyable at the same time. Great course that would deserve a five-star rating if it would not be for the many typos, incomplete sentences in the tests, and errors in the videos.

par Jean C

20 juin 2018

Very good topic and teachers' expertize. It is a pity that the "rules" used in teh simulations are not made explicit, leading to some doubts. Also, could go a bit deeper in the influence of key network parameters.

par Sunil K

12 févr. 2018

Content is neatly laid out, not mathematically rigorous as I believe course is targeting a wider set of audience. Week 2 material can be improved with regard to clarity about the different types of networks.

par Milad y

7 avr. 2020

For me, from a non-mathematical background, it was an excellent introductory course. I wish it can paw the way for more in-depth exploration around the issue and advance steps.

par Ramya H

8 janv. 2018

An good course that will provide gist of Agent Based Modeling with out dragging it too long. Introduces an Agent Based Modeling software NetLogo with examples and codes.

par Bruno V

12 juin 2020

Great content and short/objective videos. One only comment is that, sometimes, the implementation of the models is a bit unclear.

par Christo Z

23 févr. 2018

very good overview. i'm missing the maths behind the theory which will enable me to apply the knowledge to own problems

par 周琪

5 nov. 2019

The course is great! It will be greater if there is more detail information about the coding of NetLogo.

par Raquel R d M G

2 sept. 2019

Awesome material and lessons. Only could not have five stars because could not download Netlogo models