Chevron Left
Retour à The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I par Université de Tel Aviv

4.7
étoiles
1,029 évaluations
251 avis

À propos du cours

This course will review the emergence of the modern Middle East from the fall of the Ottoman Empire, at the end of the First World War to the present. We will discuss the Ottoman legacy in the region and the Western imperial impact on the creation of the Arab state system. The course will review the rise and retreat of Arab nationalism, the problems of internal cohesion of the Arab states, issues of religion and state, and the evolution of Islamist politics. We will also focus on the evolution of the Arab-Israeli conflict and its impact on the region and will conclude with an in depth analysis of the “Arab Spring” by placing these contemporary revolutionary events in their historical context. Please note that there is a second part to this course which is a direct extension of this part. We highly recommend to continue to the second part after you finish this one (https://www.coursera.org/learn/modern-middle-east-2/home/info)....

Meilleurs avis

MP
10 sept. 2016

I really like the professor and his narration, quite engaging and interesting course. The only suggestion I have is to improve the quizzes with more analytical rather than fact-based questions.

TP
29 avr. 2016

An excellent introduction to the formation of what we know as the Middle East. This course offers great insight and context into this area, its peoples, cultures, economy, and politics.

Filtrer par :

226 - 248 sur 248 Avis pour The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I

par Lorena D

29 janv. 2017

el curso es sumamente informativo y entretenido, vale la pena llevarlo

par Harry F

13 avr. 2016

It is only a survey but it is enlightening and helps to understand

par Munavar A

21 déc. 2016

Excellent course that is precise, specific and unbiased.

par SYED W A B

5 juil. 2020

wounderful eperience of online learning during COVID-19

par Paula B

6 oct. 2016

So far this has been a very interesting course.

par Jan S

23 déc. 2017

Very good introduction to the musslim world

par Boda S D

7 mai 2020

for an middle east politics idea, the best

par Emil

26 mai 2020

This was a nice course. Quite objective.

par Amr A W

15 janv. 2016

This is a good course. Thanks a lot. :)

par Christopher M

27 janv. 2021

Comprehensive and tough.

par dan d

30 mai 2019

Excellent all around.

par Jay N

1 juin 2016

I have learned a lot.

par Mick H

18 août 2016

Excellent insight

par Najmussaman P

30 août 2020

excellent

par Neža V

17 janv. 2016

E

par David K

22 févr. 2021

I would have given this course a higher rating but, from my point of view, I would like more guidance on which books and which chapters to read.

10 min slots are given to read at various points, but there are nine texts referenced. It would be impossible to read even one text in those slots!

The lectures by Prof Susser are excellent and I enjoyed them greatly.

par Ashrujit B

20 mars 2018

A good course for understanding the origins of the Middle East in the early 20th Century, with a great deal of background about the Ottoman Empire and Islamic thought and practice. However, it is mostly talking head, and use of a more interesting approach would have helped. The Professor is very knowledgeable and passionate.

par Andréa G P

28 oct. 2016

Very nice, interesting but videos are too long comparing others courses.

par Nicole E

15 sept. 2019

This was a challenging but informative course.

par Faisal B K V

30 juil. 2020

Thank you.

par Chris G

28 oct. 2015

Solid

par Garyfallia K

2 mars 2020

The course was very illuminating and inspiring.

The forum though, regarding the answers from the professors, it seems as if they stopped answering our questions!!!

Thank you so much.

par Sharath T

20 mars 2018

very bad.