Chevron Left
Retour à The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I par Université de Tel Aviv

4.7
étoiles
894 évaluations
219 avis

À propos du cours

This course will review the emergence of the modern Middle East from the fall of the Ottoman Empire, at the end of the First World War to the present. We will discuss the Ottoman legacy in the region and the Western imperial impact on the creation of the Arab state system. The course will review the rise and retreat of Arab nationalism, the problems of internal cohesion of the Arab states, issues of religion and state, and the evolution of Islamist politics. We will also focus on the evolution of the Arab-Israeli conflict and its impact on the region and will conclude with an in depth analysis of the “Arab Spring” by placing these contemporary revolutionary events in their historical context. Please note that there is a second part to this course which is a direct extension of this part. We highly recommend to continue to the second part after you finish this one (https://www.coursera.org/learn/modern-middle-east-2/home/info)....

Meilleurs avis

MP

Sep 11, 2016

I really like the professor and his narration, quite engaging and interesting course. The only suggestion I have is to improve the quizzes with more analytical rather than fact-based questions.

TP

Apr 30, 2016

An excellent introduction to the formation of what we know as the Middle East. This course offers great insight and context into this area, its peoples, cultures, economy, and politics.

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 215 Avis pour The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I

par Duncan S

Nov 30, 2015

Excellently taught course with fantastic insights. I learnt a great deal throughout and look forward to Part II.

par Darcy R J

Oct 24, 2015

Really enjoyed this course. Learned a lot. Highly recommended to anyone interested in the history of the region.

par Rick M

Feb 01, 2016

Terrific overview of the emergence of the modern Middle East. Provides keen insight into the role of the West.

par Dina R

Dec 18, 2015

Very comprehensive course with complex happenings explained in a very clear manner. Extremely interesting.

par Kevin H

Nov 06, 2017

This is one of the most factual, organized, and well presented courses I've seen so far on coursera.

par Chilan N

May 09, 2019

This course really helped me to get a glimpse of the Middle East, and the origin of the problems.

par Glenn O

Jun 23, 2016

Extremely good course, with the ability to impart an abundance of information in a short format.

par Richard M

Mar 10, 2017

Great, detailed history of the middle east. Easy to grasp, well delivered. An excellent course

par Anne D

Apr 04, 2020

I found this course to be really informative!! I took it for fun and learned a great deal :-)

par Ben G

Apr 07, 2020

Very well explained and hugely interesting. I highly recommend to any history enthusiasts.

par MHW

Jul 24, 2017

What a clear, didactic and balanced discussion about such a difficult topic ! Thank you !

par Fabián V A

Jan 19, 2016

Excellent lectures! An in-depth look at the subject handled in a very understandable way.

par Alexander K

Nov 30, 2015

Fantastic and very informative course. I heartedly recommend it to all coursera students.

par Deborah B

Dec 08, 2015

Fantastic! It has another perspective about the damages that interventionism did there.

par OUDJEHANI R

May 15, 2019

Un superbe cours pour tous ceux qui veulent comprendre la géopolitique du Moyen-Orient

par Adwait B A

Mar 31, 2019

Brilliant depiction of Modern Middle East. Definitely going to cover second part too.

par Eden H

Dec 26, 2015

Great course! I would have preferred quizzes at the the end of every lesson, however.

par Jorge E M A

Jun 12, 2017

Thank you for bringing a glance at the wicked Middle Eastern history. Very useful

par Bruno M

Nov 18, 2016

Excellent course to understand a little bit more about the history of Middle East

par Daniela

Jan 28, 2016

Very interesting and with very clear explanations.

It left me eager to learn more!

par Tural M

Apr 10, 2020

Perfect course for whom interested in this topic. I will rewatch lessons, too.

par Michael K

Jan 27, 2016

Excellent course. Joined so many dots for me. So informative and accessible.

par Радослава Н

Jan 28, 2018

Amazing course! Thank you for the interesting topics and point of view!

par Yaniv B

Nov 03, 2018

A must take course for anyone that want to understand the middle east.

par Nicolás A G F

May 30, 2017

Excelente aproximación al Medio Oriente contemporáneo. Muy agradecido.