Chevron Left
Retour à The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I par Université de Tel Aviv

4.7
étoiles
881 évaluations
216 avis

À propos du cours

This course will review the emergence of the modern Middle East from the fall of the Ottoman Empire, at the end of the First World War to the present. We will discuss the Ottoman legacy in the region and the Western imperial impact on the creation of the Arab state system. The course will review the rise and retreat of Arab nationalism, the problems of internal cohesion of the Arab states, issues of religion and state, and the evolution of Islamist politics. We will also focus on the evolution of the Arab-Israeli conflict and its impact on the region and will conclude with an in depth analysis of the “Arab Spring” by placing these contemporary revolutionary events in their historical context. Please note that there is a second part to this course which is a direct extension of this part. We highly recommend to continue to the second part after you finish this one (https://www.coursera.org/learn/modern-middle-east-2/home/info)....

Meilleurs avis

MP

Sep 11, 2016

I really like the professor and his narration, quite engaging and interesting course. The only suggestion I have is to improve the quizzes with more analytical rather than fact-based questions.

TP

Apr 30, 2016

An excellent introduction to the formation of what we know as the Middle East. This course offers great insight and context into this area, its peoples, cultures, economy, and politics.

Filtrer par :

151 - 175 sur 213 Avis pour The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I

par Bobrov M

Feb 19, 2017

Кратко, информативно, полезно.

par Roberto D

Aug 18, 2016

Great teacher, great course !

par Maxim Z

Apr 20, 2020

Great! I have enjoyed it!

par Giuseppe

Oct 14, 2017

Very very interesting!!!!

par Muhammad i R

Nov 10, 2019

Amazing learning it was.

par Therese R

Sep 30, 2016

A superb in depth study!

par Syeda D E Z J

May 17, 2020

Brilliantly delivered.

par Emerson M A

Jan 26, 2018

Excellent. Thank you.

par Dilshod M

Feb 18, 2017

Very good explaining

par Joy S

Jun 04, 2017

super informative

par John V T

Jun 03, 2017

Excellent Course

par cheryl b

Mar 17, 2016

Excellent Course

par Hamid S

Feb 18, 2016

excellent course

par Alex R

Dec 06, 2015

Very informative

par Jakub S

Feb 29, 2016

An eye opener.

par Gijs v S

Nov 18, 2019

Very thorough

par Tayfun K

Sep 16, 2018

Great course!

par Dan O M M

Aug 31, 2017

Great course!

par Ioannis V

Nov 18, 2019

Excellent!

par Mahmoud E

Aug 24, 2018

very good

par EDUARDO A

Mar 09, 2017

Excellent

par Bárbara T

Jul 14, 2017

I like!

par Daan B

May 15, 2016

I very much liked this course. Iam reading this book:

http://www.amazon.com/History-Modern-Middle-East-5th/dp/0813348331

this course is a good addition. I think it is necessary to also read about the topics because the course covers a lot. Still without reading I think this is an interesting introduction to get an overview of the past centuries. One may get lost in some of de details but the teaching is very good so you will always get something out of this course.

Hopefully more courses on the middle east will be available on Coursera in the future.

par Gary

Apr 14, 2019

Informational and inspirational, the course was clearly illustrated by Prof. Asher Susser. In this first part, the history and establishment of every country in the Middle East are explained meticulously. I was amazed by Prof. Susser's comprehensive knowledge and sources of citation, and interested even more in every aspect of the Middle East.

par Karin H

May 08, 2018

Good overview. Wish we could have articles rather than books for complementary readings (from a time perspective). As well, would be great if, when showing and talking about maps, the professor could point to the area he is talking about. Sometimes it was really hard to make out what was on the maps.