Chevron Left
Retour à Gut Check: Exploring Your Microbiome

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Gut Check: Exploring Your Microbiome par Université du Colorado à Boulder

4.7
étoiles
1,063 évaluations
293 avis

À propos du cours

Imagine if there were an organ in your body that weighed as much as your brain, that affected your health, your weight, and even your behavior. Wouldn’t you want to know more about it? There is such an organ — the collection of microbes in and on your body, your human microbiome....

Meilleurs avis

AF
10 févr. 2017

Very informative! Everybody should take this course, to know more about their own microbiome...\n\nThe first lessons are not so exciting, but hang in there! The most interesting parts come later ;)

G
30 juin 2018

It was a good experience, and while I'm not too big on microbiology in general, I was intrigued in the role our microbiome plays in our lives. The summer I did this changed my life in a way. :)

Filtrer par :

226 - 250 sur 292 Avis pour Gut Check: Exploring Your Microbiome

par Sofya N L

10 juin 2021

Fab course!

par Alba D

21 févr. 2016

Fantástico!

par JhoryAnne N

26 nov. 2015

Thank you.

par Harshita H

28 sept. 2020

Very Good

par Jan v d R

12 nov. 2017

Excellent

par Laurence W

10 oct. 2015

THE BEST!

par Paulo V P R

19 avr. 2016

Amazing!

par Lua M d A C R

16 févr. 2016

Amazing!

par lianhaisun

13 mars 2016

good!!!

par Fleckinger O

17 oct. 2015

Amazing

par ahmed n

17 janv. 2021

thanks

par Jorge A Z L

5 nov. 2015

great

par Mona A A

9 juil. 2020

good

par Shihua Z

28 juil. 2021

par Danielle T

28 août 2016

Very interesting course and very timely at the moment given the ground-breaking research in this area! I only have two minor criticisms. Firstly, the presenters seemed to be reading from a script, which made them seem quite wooden and unnatural and thus hard for me to follow at times. Secondly, I would have preferred a little more focus on what we can do to improve our gut microbial diversity. I have tried all the basic advice given with little effect. However, perhaps we just don't know enough at this stage. Also, it would be interesting to explore the anomalies a little more. For example people with high levels of firmicutes who are also lean. Overall, I found the course useful though, thank you!

par Dr. P S

18 mars 2019

Excellent course explaining the basics of what the microbiome is and how metagenomics can be used to characterize and understand it. Interesting information about the role of microbes in the environment and about how the gut microbiome is linked to immunity, health and mental well being is presented. The only reason I am not giving it 5 points that because of the use of the techniques described in the course, our knowledge of the field has advanced during the 4 years since the course was first offered and the course has not been updated accordingly.

par Dorothy H

9 juil. 2016

This is a review from someone zooming through the course at double speed to get a general idea of the subject for free (I did not take any tests or participate in any projects).

I am studying neuroscience and this course was a great adjunct to those studies. If you have interest in biology at all, this course will broaden out your knowledge base.

I took a star away because there was too much advertising for their pet project. Some mention and instruction would have added interest, but so many of the classes being dedicated to it was a bit overkill.

par Elena R

14 nov. 2016

For someone who is a Biologist and has heard about microbiome before, this course is more a review than a course where everything is new. However, hat doesn't mean I didn't learn anything. The course was entertaning, well explained, and interesting. The interviews were simply great, with the opportunity to see experts explaining concepts and projects. For someone with less background than mentioned, it is a very nice course to do. It will change your point of view regarding microorganisms.

par Michelle H

14 oct. 2021

Fantastic information, although already somewhat outdated! References and videos of Jeff Leach should probably be scrubbed. I was very disappointed to find out that he has some serious credibility issues.

I have followed the course by listening to the audiobook of Rob Knight's Follow Your Gut.

Appreciate the efforts of all involved in this course! It certainly has me wanting more information on this incredibly fascinating topic!

par Heather M

31 mai 2020

This was a good introductory overview to this subject. There were some excellent videos and extra readings, but some of the links are not working properly. The peer review process works but would be more valuable if people were required to give real feedback and not just chose from a limiting scoring choice. I will suggest this to others who want a quick overview.

par Deanna S

8 mai 2020

The course is good, my only objection was that there was no personal Lecturer or Mentor feedback as in some other courses. In fact in the discussion section, it was obvious that some questions that had been asked some time ago were not answered. In fact one could have finished the course and not got a reply. this happened to me.

par Magdalena G

15 mai 2016

the course is very interesting, but the questions in tests are a bit too detailed and thus, too difficult; overall, during the course I learned a lot of new things, discovered new possibilites behind the gut flora and deepened my overall knowledge; if only the certificates were a bit cheaper...

par Charlotte H

11 janv. 2016

Course content was very good and I'd highly recommend this class. However the course policy of getting other students to grade the assignments results in people with big egos assigning other students arbitrarily bad grades. Maybe this can be fixed on the next iteration. Otherwise, bravo.

par Andrew J L

27 mars 2018

Great class, get ready to learn. Lots of reading assignments, which I really liked. Very current research that they are presenting to you here and the researchers that you'll hear from in this are absolutely world class.

par Digant R K

1 mars 2016

Interesting and informative. The only reason it is not 5-stars is because some lectures were too much PR, and some assignments required non-scientists to name-drop microbes and design a study without proper reference.