Chevron Left
Retour à Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies par Université Wesleyenne

4.7
étoiles
1,617 évaluations
517 avis

À propos du cours

Welcome to Understanding Memory. Someone once said that memory is fascinating because sometimes we forget what we want to remember, sometimes we remember what we want to forget, and sometimes we remember events that never happened or never happened the way we remember them. I want to show you how memory works, why it sometimes fails, and what we can do to enhance it. Based on my recent book – Memory and Movies: What Films Can Teach Us About Memory (MIT Press, 2015) – I will provide an introduction to the scientific study of human memory by focusing on a select group of topics that hold widespread appeal. To facilitate your understanding, I will use clips from numerous films to illustrate different aspects of memory – describing what has been learned about memory in a nontechnical way for people with no prior background in psychology. Many of us love watching movies because they offer an unparalleled opportunity for entertainment, even if entertaining films are not always scientifically accurate. Still, I believe that we can learn a lot about memory from popular films, if we watch them with an educated eye. Welcome once more. I am looking forward to showing you what movies can teach us about memory. John Seamon Professor of Psychology Emeritus Wesleyan University...

Meilleurs avis

RD

Aug 01, 2020

The material is presented in an easy to remember and understand format. Information is repeated several times during a lecture. The videos chosen enhanced understanding and engagement in the lectures.

KK

Jun 03, 2020

one of the best course I did on Coursera. I really love learning memory and psychology at the same time. the examples given are really just awesome. One useful course during this COVID-19 pandemic.

Filtrer par :

201 - 225 sur 506 Avis pour Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

par Raluca M

Jul 06, 2017

This has been a very enjoyable course, well structured and entertaining. I have recommended it to some of my friends.

par Isha P D

Apr 10, 2020

Very helpful and really very interesting, Sir has a really high knowledge and puts things up very clearly! Thankyou!

par Germán E C H

May 22, 2018

i BEGAN TO STUDY PSYCHOLOGY IN MY CINEMA CHAIR.BY THAT PSYCHOLOGY AND MOVIES ARE MY BETTER WAYS TO STUDY HUMAN BEEN.

par RITESH G

Aug 31, 2018

Love the innovative way of learning the concepts on Memory through some excellent collection of movies. Thank you.

par Ronald M

Jul 04, 2017

This is great course about memory! I enjoyed all the movies that were used as examples in the course! Recommended.

par Christy L

Jun 27, 2017

This course was easy to follow and entertaining and it was especially useful for learning about ageing and memory.

par Mary H

Sep 14, 2017

Relating the concepts to movies made them easy to learn and remember. Very comprehensible and pleasant lectures.

par Jean S

Aug 06, 2017

Excellent course informative and entertaining. I especially enjoyed the film clips which illustrated the lectures

par Maria

Mar 31, 2016

Great course, i really enjoyed it. The material is very interesting and very well presented. Great job Professor!

par Lisa M

Jul 26, 2020

Very interesting course. I recommend it for an overall knowledge of the memory functioning. Thank you, Jackie ;)

par Janette F

Oct 06, 2017

This is an entertaining and challenging course. I learned a great deal about memory and enjoyed the movie clips.

par Angelina C

Jul 18, 2020

It was fun to get a basic understanding of memory through movies, it made the lessons much more interesting.

par Kinga D

Mar 21, 2019

The course was very informative. My only complaint is that the audio was very soft when the professor spoke.

par William A

Aug 26, 2016

nice way of presenting materials. i enjoyed ever bit of them.

i will recommend this course to others for sure

par Alvaro P

Jan 13, 2018

Great way to learn about memory and the brain. This approach should be an example to follow by other moocs.

par Kaori M

Jul 27, 2016

Informative and entertaining! Yes, in this course you can learn about memory and have fun watching movies.

par ALEXI G M C

Aug 21, 2020

BUENA EXPLICACION, LOS TEMAS SON GENIALES Y AYUDAN MUCHA A ENTENDER MEJOR LOS FUNDAMENTOS EN CIERTOS TEMAS

par Sara S X

Jun 13, 2020

Learnt a lot, especially with the visual aids and good explanations of the movie. Thank you for your time!

par K. J R

May 16, 2020

Excellent engaging presentation. Memory explained scientifically and interestingly. Thanks to Prof.Seamon.

par Malathi J

Aug 30, 2017

An engaging, gentle course on a fascinating subject. Loved the treatment and the approach of Prof. Seamon.

par Angela K

Oct 22, 2020

It was a really great way to incorporate my learning in AP Psychology with this course! I learned a lot!

par chalchitrart

Aug 01, 2020

I loves this course. And I would recommend people to buy this book as well. It will definitely help you.

par Isabella F L

Aug 24, 2020

Curso incrível! Muito conteúdo interessante dado de forma leve. Prendeu minha atenção do início ao fim.

par Lydia V P

Apr 21, 2020

A very engaging course . You will watch movies with a more educated eye, after finishing this course.

par savithri i

Jul 23, 2018

Excellent content and great learning experience. The delivery by Professor Seamon was the best so far