Chevron Left
Retour à Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies par Université Wesleyenne

4.7
étoiles
1,627 évaluations
523 avis

À propos du cours

Welcome to Understanding Memory. Someone once said that memory is fascinating because sometimes we forget what we want to remember, sometimes we remember what we want to forget, and sometimes we remember events that never happened or never happened the way we remember them. I want to show you how memory works, why it sometimes fails, and what we can do to enhance it. Based on my recent book – Memory and Movies: What Films Can Teach Us About Memory (MIT Press, 2015) – I will provide an introduction to the scientific study of human memory by focusing on a select group of topics that hold widespread appeal. To facilitate your understanding, I will use clips from numerous films to illustrate different aspects of memory – describing what has been learned about memory in a nontechnical way for people with no prior background in psychology. Many of us love watching movies because they offer an unparalleled opportunity for entertainment, even if entertaining films are not always scientifically accurate. Still, I believe that we can learn a lot about memory from popular films, if we watch them with an educated eye. Welcome once more. I am looking forward to showing you what movies can teach us about memory. John Seamon Professor of Psychology Emeritus Wesleyan University...

Meilleurs avis

RD

Aug 01, 2020

The material is presented in an easy to remember and understand format. Information is repeated several times during a lecture. The videos chosen enhanced understanding and engagement in the lectures.

KK

Jun 03, 2020

one of the best course I did on Coursera. I really love learning memory and psychology at the same time. the examples given are really just awesome. One useful course during this COVID-19 pandemic.

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 510 Avis pour Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

par Supreeth P N

Oct 02, 2016

This course is very informative and gives us a pretty good understanding of memory and its working in short amount of time. More over this course also entertain using movies. you will learn in this more effectively and the perspective of us looking at the movies changes. Thank you Professor Seamon for this creative course work, that you designed. Also we can understand our memory and our personality. Highly recommended course. Thank you Coursera

par Arun K

Oct 22, 2016

Great course, it is refreshing to revisit topic in psychology with a different perspective. I like that Professor Seamon demonstrates various phenomena associated with Hollywood films. It helps to look at the films and the psychological phenomena from a different angel and definitely enhanced my learning. If I am not wrong, he is teaching us psychology applying our episodic memory so that we retain the learning for long. Thank you.

par rosmi r

Mar 21, 2016

A wonderful course. I really enjoyed studying this. This was my first course on coursera. The lectures were interesting. It helped to clear many misconception I had about memory. Thank you for revealing the world of memory to me. I am not a psychology student. I am an engineer by profession. Just because of my interest in psychology I joined this course and it was worthwhile. Thanking the entire team of Memory and Movies.

par Teresa J S

Aug 30, 2018

At 61, was unsure about my ability to commit and complete a course of study. "Understanding Memory" provided the perfect opportunity to resume my education with, what I perceive to be, a unique presentation of the subject matter by John Seamon. This course held my attention, encouraged focus and provided information pertinent to my own life experiences.

I hope to be able to continue with additional courserses.

par Rose B

Dec 20, 2017

This is by far the most elegant, effective and pure genius way to form a better understanding of Memory. With every new piece of information brilliantly connected to meaningful movie scenes, Dr Seamon uses memory to teach about memory! Highly entertaining, well organized and... probably the only course that can actually become a part of our episodic memory! Thank you (and excuse my inadequate English)!

par JASEEL C

Jun 02, 2020

Truly a wonderful course. Psychology often is thought of as being interesting before we take up the course and boring as we pursue it. This course somehow blends accurate information with entertainment. It also provide learners with a new outlook to movies. After this course, you will never watch movies the same way...

Thanks a lot to the instructor as well the ones who worked behind this venture.

par Karen N M V

Feb 26, 2017

Excellent course!

Thank you very much.

As a student of pedagogy, it has helped me to complement topics on cognitive functions and learning. The time devoted to each topic may seem short, but it gave me the information I needed to understand the basic terms and delve into them in the future.

For the moment, I'll wait for my copy of the book.

Again, thank you teacher.

Make another course :)

par olivier r

Apr 17, 2018

Bon cours sur le fonctionnement de la mémoire, les différents types de mémoire, les difficultés rencontrées avec l'age, et les principales maladies liées à la mémoire. Une fin positive, avec quelques conseils pour travailler sa mémoire. D'une façon générale, ce cours permet de relativiser les petites difficultés de mémoire que chacun rencontre, et qui restent rares à présager le pire.

par Angie P

Jul 04, 2019

This course is amazing! The information given by the teacher is complete and accurate. The way of explaining every topic is very good, anyone could understand this course, you don't need to be a psychologist, psychiatrist or a neurologist to enjoy this course and to acquire all of the knownledge offered. I'm currently studying psychology and found it really helpfull. Thanks a lot! (:

par Qudsiya

Jul 31, 2020

I must first mention the fact that John Seamon has a wonderful manner of narrating. Part of the learning that takes place in this course is because of his style. I am sure to take more courses designed by him.

I will definitely read his book because the knowledge and information shared through the course increases your curiosity to know more. Thank you . It was an awesome course.

par Angie Z

Jul 06, 2016

This is an excellent course with a very knowledgeable instructor with the course information laid out in a simple and organized way. I definitely recommend this course to others who would be interested In an interest section of psychology that affects us all, memory. The movies help illustrate the points and concepts that are in the lecture so that we can a have grasp of them.

par K R A

May 19, 2020

The course covers memory and its many facets in a very lucid manner so that even a lay person can benefit. The course material is presented exceptionally well by the professor..making us want to continue to continue to progress. The movies have been selected very well indeed to illustrate concepts and also to keep us engrossed...I thoroughly enjoyed the course. Thank you.

par Valentina D R

Jul 24, 2020

Enjoy a course I can watch and learn, as I like to listen to interesting facts while I sew or paint.

I loved that I could repeat the quiz, so then I ended up learning.

I have concluded that my semantic memory is faster than my episodic!

The fact that John spoke slow and clear helped a lot.

Thank you John, you have a lovely energy and was like having my dad tell me stories xx

par Gaivilė K

Jan 21, 2018

This is my first course on Coursera. Rate it 5 stars, because I learned some new and useful information about memory and our brains. Also, the presentation of course is highly creative and therefore more memorable. What is more, the professor's speaking and teaching way really helps to memorize as much information as possible! I highly recommend this course to everyone!

par Alpa M

May 16, 2017

This is a wonderful course and a very nice way of learning about memory. Professor Seamon's narration and teaching was simple and easy to understand. The lecture were of just the right length to hold attention and not cause boredom.The course was funny and had some very touchy moments. The films shown are really interesting. Thank you for such a wonderful course.

par Rita d C A G O

Aug 06, 2018

Excelente curso. Muito bom para saber como lidar com trabalhadores seniores, principalmente com as novas mudanças na idade mínima da aposentadoria. Informações importantes para ajudar a lidar com funcionários jovens e seniores no mesmo local de trabalho. Muito interessante as informações sobre memória, principalmente pelo uso de recursos como filmes e livros.

par Vasiliki D

May 24, 2016

A very useful course, and not just for psychologists. I have a mother that has memory problems, and this course helped me identify her illness and help her in any way I can.

Also, as a movie fanatic, it was so much easier to understand the complex ways our mind works through all the great movies our instructor used. Thank you so much for this course!!!

par Kezia R S

Apr 05, 2019

As a movie enthusiast who likes to study basic psychology, this course truly feels like a remarkable combination. It's personally not difficult for me to get engaged with the materials, very exciting, makes myself really have productive time learning. Thank you for the Professor Seamon. I have learned a lot from this course. Have many good memories!

par C M

Apr 05, 2019

Thank you very much for this opportunity to learn and expand our understanding of memory. I love films and any excuse to watch films residing with important concepts is a wonderful approach. Thank you Prof Seamon and coursera for this chance. I bought the book and it is one that I’ll treasure.

A room without books is a room without a soul.

Cicero

par Susan H

Jun 15, 2017

I learned so much from this course. I now know how to take care of myself. And not to worry about my 80 year old parents so much. The use of movies to illustrate memory was fantastic in that the subject was entertaining. I liked the professor and subject so much I bought the book. What a nice combination to teach a subject. Movies and memory.

par rosana p d m

Nov 26, 2016

Excelente curso. Dados muito interessantes sobre os processos que envolvem a memória e o funcionamento cerebral. Professor muito envolvente e claramente apaixonado pelo que faz. Sua maneira de ensinar usando os filmes deixa o curso leve e atraente. Fiquei com vontade de assistir mais. Estou aguardando novos cursos da Universidade.

par Maria-Anastasia A

Jan 14, 2017

The course was very interesting and easy most of the times to follow. The idea to use films in order to show some facts about memory is unique and makes the course very attractive. I would highly recommend this course. I learned a lot and i did it in a very pleasant way. Thank you for the opportunity to follow this course.

par Subbalakshmi K

Nov 27, 2017

It was a brilliant experience! Not only the content of the course but the way in which the movies were used to highlight so many facts and explanations in the course. Being a teacher myself, I was blown away both by the content and the way in which it was delivered. Liked the soft-spoken way of Prof John Seamon. Thanks.

par Carlos L M V

Jan 30, 2020

El curso presenta y expone un tema tal como la memoria memoria de manera apasionada, atractiva y clara. Aborda la importancia de indagar sobre esta temática. La aborda desde una perspectiva clínica y científica, donde se destaca la importancia de la investigación de la memoria y su importancia en la salud publica.

par Serena G

Oct 23, 2020

Very glad to chance upon this fascinating course whilst browsing through the catalog. It gives me a greater understanding of our memory systems. Thank you Prof Seamon for making the lectures so interesting and engaging through clips from a no. of movies. The summary at the end of each lecture is most useful.