Chevron Left
Retour à Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies par Université Wesleyenne

4.7
étoiles
2,014 évaluations
622 avis

À propos du cours

Welcome to Understanding Memory. Someone once said that memory is fascinating because sometimes we forget what we want to remember, sometimes we remember what we want to forget, and sometimes we remember events that never happened or never happened the way we remember them. I want to show you how memory works, why it sometimes fails, and what we can do to enhance it. Based on my recent book – Memory and Movies: What Films Can Teach Us About Memory (MIT Press, 2015) – I will provide an introduction to the scientific study of human memory by focusing on a select group of topics that hold widespread appeal. To facilitate your understanding, I will use clips from numerous films to illustrate different aspects of memory – describing what has been learned about memory in a nontechnical way for people with no prior background in psychology. Many of us love watching movies because they offer an unparalleled opportunity for entertainment, even if entertaining films are not always scientifically accurate. Still, I believe that we can learn a lot about memory from popular films, if we watch them with an educated eye. Welcome once more. I am looking forward to showing you what movies can teach us about memory. John Seamon Professor of Psychology Emeritus Wesleyan University...

Meilleurs avis

RD

31 juil. 2020

The material is presented in an easy to remember and understand format. Information is repeated several times during a lecture. The videos chosen enhanced understanding and engagement in the lectures.

MS

6 févr. 2021

This is a great course.I'm a film lover and a psychology student.This method of learning [learning through movies] more effect than the usual learning. Hope to see more courses like this in future.

Filtrer par :

251 - 275 sur 611 Avis pour Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

par Angelina C

18 juil. 2020

It was fun to get a basic understanding of memory through movies, it made the lessons much more interesting.

par Kinga D

21 mars 2019

The course was very informative. My only complaint is that the audio was very soft when the professor spoke.

par William A

26 août 2016

nice way of presenting materials. i enjoyed ever bit of them.

i will recommend this course to others for sure

par Alvaro P

13 janv. 2018

Great way to learn about memory and the brain. This approach should be an example to follow by other moocs.

par Kaori M

27 juil. 2016

Informative and entertaining! Yes, in this course you can learn about memory and have fun watching movies.

par Marieta C

23 mars 2021

Highly recommend the course! Charismatic knowledgeable lecturer and a very entertaining journey. Thank you

par Moses C

6 déc. 2020

Extremely informative, interesting and yet very educative. Its on the top of one of my edutaiment courses

par ALEXI G M C

21 août 2020

BUENA EXPLICACION, LOS TEMAS SON GENIALES Y AYUDAN MUCHA A ENTENDER MEJOR LOS FUNDAMENTOS EN CIERTOS TEMAS

par Sara S X

13 juin 2020

Learnt a lot, especially with the visual aids and good explanations of the movie. Thank you for your time!

par K. J R

16 mai 2020

Excellent engaging presentation. Memory explained scientifically and interestingly. Thanks to Prof.Seamon.

par Malathi J

30 août 2017

An engaging, gentle course on a fascinating subject. Loved the treatment and the approach of Prof. Seamon.

par Angela K

22 oct. 2020

It was a really great way to incorporate my learning in AP Psychology with this course! I learned a lot!

par chalchitrart

1 août 2020

I loves this course. And I would recommend people to buy this book as well. It will definitely help you.

par Isabella F L

24 août 2020

Curso incrível! Muito conteúdo interessante dado de forma leve. Prendeu minha atenção do início ao fim.

par Susan W

4 déc. 2020

I loved this course! Such an experiential way to teach about memory. This professor is outstanding.

par Lydia V P

21 avr. 2020

A very engaging course . You will watch movies with a more educated eye, after finishing this course.

par savithri i

23 juil. 2018

Excellent content and great learning experience. The delivery by Professor Seamon was the best so far

par Likhitha B

30 juil. 2017

Prof. John Seamon makes this course an absolute joy! Do not forgo the pleasure of taking this course!

par Vijay R

30 janv. 2018

Extremely engaging and entertaining course that adds to my vocabulary and curiosity of human memory.

par Rachelle W

21 août 2021

Terrific course! Well-structured, interesting, and informative. Enthusiastic applause for the prof!

par Anuradha D R

26 juin 2021

very informative at one level and interestingly put together, i personally benefitted a lot. thanks

par Donna M J

12 avr. 2018

I enjoyed learning about Memory through movies. It was a fun and intesting way to learn. Thank you!

par Kravchenko O

2 oct. 2020

Absolutely amazing course! Thank you, Professor for an amazing journey into the realm of Memory :)

par Καλλιόπη Κ

5 janv. 2021

I loved the way professor presented the course. I made me to be curious to explore more about it.

par Дина

2 déc. 2017

Very useful course in which you can learn a lot about your memory watching your favourite movies!