Chevron Left
Retour à Apprendre à apprendre : des outils mentaux puissants qui vous aideront à maitriser les matières difficiles

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Apprendre à apprendre : des outils mentaux puissants qui vous aideront à maitriser les matières difficiles par Université McMaster

4.8
étoiles
69,078 évaluations
19,617 avis

À propos du cours

This course gives you easy access to the invaluable learning techniques used by experts in art, music, literature, math, science, sports, and many other disciplines. We’ll learn about the how the brain uses two very different learning modes and how it encapsulates (“chunks”) information. We’ll also cover illusions of learning, memory techniques, dealing with procrastination, and best practices shown by research to be most effective in helping you master tough subjects. Using these approaches, no matter what your skill levels in topics you would like to master, you can change your thinking and change your life. If you’re already an expert, this peep under the mental hood will give you ideas for: turbocharging successful learning, including counter-intuitive test-taking tips and insights that will help you make the best use of your time on homework and problem sets. If you’re struggling, you’ll see a structured treasure trove of practical techniques that walk you through what you need to do to get on track. If you’ve ever wanted to become better at anything, this course will help serve as your guide. This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or prior to, its companion course, Mindshift. (Learning How to Learn is more learning focused, and Mindshift is more career focused.) To join the fully translated Portuguese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprender To join the fully translated Spanish version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprendiendo-a-aprender To join the fully translated Chinese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/ruhe-xuexi To join the fully translated French version of the course, visit : http://www.coursera.org/learn/apprendre-comment-apprendre...

Meilleurs avis

LL
17 mai 2020

This class really focused on the process of learning. It taught me so much. I even shared ideas with my college and high school student. They were surprised as some concepts were helpful to them also.

OM
28 avr. 2016

Great course. Took it since it was the most popular MOOC on coursera,. Have started using a few of the techniques and they are very effective. Highly recommended no matter who you are and what you do.

Filtrer par :

476 - 500 sur 10,000 Avis pour Apprendre à apprendre : des outils mentaux puissants qui vous aideront à maitriser les matières difficiles

par Francesco B

18 avr. 2020

When I started this course I was very curious to know how, an On Line Course should have been of help for my learning projects.

Not only I found it really interesting, but after the very first videos I decided to stop any other learning activity, waiting to get to the end of the course in order to be more effective and not waste time with all other courses.

I so much appreciate the arguments, that I strongly recommend the course not only to students, but also to teachers (whatever their subject or level). Putting into practice all the information discussed within the course, should be useful to "guide" students and to help them to grow up avoiding false believes.

par Tatjana d

26 juin 2019

this course is fantastic! while it all might sound familiar, it gave me fantastic tools how to retain what i learn instead of making a soup out of my brain by studying without results. I learned the importance of stopping and taking a break when a problem doesn't get resolved after 20+ minutes, the importance of exercise, sleep or simply a brake to unleash the more creative, diffuse working mind, to always start tackling bigger problems during tests first but let go and do smaller if after a certain time i didnt succeed. the importance of Recall and continuos Testing yourself and the importance of regular practice. Thank you professors, it was time well spent!

par Vorobyeva P

9 mai 2020

I'm very grateful for this course Learning how to learn to Barbara Oakley and Terence Sejnowski and Coursera platform. I spend 4 productive weeks studying the main rules and principles of learning during isolation. That knowledge and skills will definitely help me in my future life and career. Also I've been seriously thinking to become of a master of this course to adapt it for middle school students in Russia. I think these skills will be truly supportive for those who has difficulties in learning, memorization, chunking, for those who being stressed during the exams and passing the tests, for those who doubts in their own abilities, potential and talents.

par Monika K

7 nov. 2016

I always feel exhausted and reluctant to study or learn new things because my previous learning style was ineffective! This course tell you how to learn effectively and efficiently, with a relax way, easy to understand (even if your english is not good like me), and appliable in any fields . The coaches, Dr. Barbara and Dr. Terrence delivered their lectures as if they were talking to you directly and knew what are your problems during learning, why you have these and how to solve these problems. Each lesson will ask your feedback and I suggest you to fill it. I am really recommend this course to every one, no matter what or who you are, and how old you are!

par Ricardo O

17 févr. 2016

You will definitely take with you a lasting impression on how your brain works along with how to treat it so that you could learn more faster. Getting rid of old habits and incorporating the new habits will take some time and practice. The instructors a great and the interviews with those that desire to learn an abundance of information and sharing their experience with you is very inspiring!

Thank you all for allowing me to improve my views on learning and the opportunity of taking a course this rich with content on how to better my thinking power. You all are great, God Bless! Keep up the work for us and I definitely look forward to contributing one day....

par LUZ E V B

4 août 2020

Es un curso sencillamente espectacular, me ha permitido identificar las fallas que presentaba en mis técnicas de estudio antes de iniciarlo, ya sea por abandonas una buenas que practicaba en pregrado y otras que he aprendido totalmente nuevas para mi como la metáfora,analogía y el palacio de la memoria. ademas los concejos para vencer la procrastinación me estan ayudando mucho para avanzar. Mantenerme con una mente abierta, OCEAN y toda la informacion recibida que he ido procesando ,entendiendo, practicando y repitiendo me ayudaran a los nuevos retos. Gracias esto fue lo mejor que me ha pasado durante la pandemia y de los mejores cursos que he tomado.

par Youpheng L

10 août 2020

This course is excellent and is highly recommended to anyone who would like to enrich their learning experience and take the learning results to a great level. The underlying concepts (e.g. focused vs diffused modes of thinking) and techniques (e.g. chunking and the Pomodoro) introduced in this course are particularly useful in boosting our productivity and ultimately show us a scientifically-proven and effective way of learning (and test-taking).

Self-education is a lifelong work in progress, so by being able to learn effectively, a wide range of knowledge and possibilities await us. Explore the course content now and set your timer for dedicated learning!

par ROHIT S

4 juin 2020

I was introduced to this course at a time when I was struggling to retain and apply what I learnt. And after this course, I can say that I have more effective methods to tackle those problems and be more productive than before. The course not only teaches about how to learn effectively but also makes one aware of the illusions of learning and the incorrect methods. In addition to the course material, it also has bonus videos in which the best people share their techniques and how they do it.

I would like to thank Dr Barbara Oakley and Dr Terrence Sejnowski for this truly wonderful course. It has taught me something that it is to be remembered for a lifetime.

par Ray P S

15 mars 2020

I just love how the course's instructors, Mrs. Barbara Oakley and Mr. Terrence Sejnowsky, made it easier for learners to relate their learning difficulties in the examples and concepts explained. These include the concept of the two thinking modes (focused and diffused), our inner zombies (habits), willpower, procrastination, and some effective learning techniques. I just love how it gives a breath of fresh air among the ones I always see online. It was so technical yet highly creative.

I would really, really love the idea that a day would come that I could get to meet these two individuals. :) I've always aspired to meet prominent yet fun scientists. Kudos!

par prashanna k

25 nov. 2019

I have learnt so much about my body and mind from this course. From chunking materials, to how to answer tests and also the importance of incorporating exercise into your study routine. It was such a fascinating course and it took me a brief period to finish it. After completing it, I definitely have that much needed motivation to go through difficult concepts, projects and overall to be excited about my masters journey. I'd recommend this to anyone who wants to get out of a rut, who feels anxious in subjects, who can't focus even in study environment, who finds it difficult to grasp certain subjects/ topics. This course would be perfect for you. Good luck!

par Tina

29 avr. 2016

This course is great! If you listen to the advice from this course, take notes and actively implementing this advice as you go along, it will become much easier for you to notice results very quickly! This course has helped me change my mindset towards learning and studying - I noticed my old ways weren't working as well for me, and learning this course helped me not only becoming aware of the techniques one can use to master their leaning, but also allowing me with a plethora of different learning methods to experiment with and see which one works for me. I highly recommend this course if you want to continue to learn in life, and get ahead much faster.

par Phuong

24 déc. 2015

Thank you so much for your course!

I realize this is a useful closeness course, it was made to be easy to understand and follow and many interesting article to find out more. Clearly I think the knowledge was transmitted very scientifically with condensed knowledge, reasonable progress.

I through this course with excited mood, from the principles of chunking to help me learn better to the video you running when you encounter the difficult in study - exercise is very important in learning. It's encourage me, give me more motivations and feel more confident when I think I knew more about the mechanisms in study. I think it's a basic course for every courses

par Robyn H

23 févr. 2016

Much appreciation and warmest congratulations to Dr. Oakley and Dr. Sejnowski. The information presented in Learning How to Learn was very engaging and presented in an accessible way. Although I am an already-experienced learner, I gleaned many useful techniques, many of which I've already incorporated into daily life. I took this course in conjunction with my home-schooled seventh grader and we both found ourselves sharing some of the most interesting bits of the course material with others. The broad applicability of the course materials and the engaging style of the presenters make this class a must-take. Mahalo nui, Dr. Oakley and Dr. Sejnowski!

par Alice T

7 mai 2020

This course is excellent! I wish I had learned this when I was in school. It helps a lot that most of the techniques taught in the course are easy to understand and can be applied quickly. I love how Dr Oakley explains the techniques so simply and making the course enjoyable, and how Dr Sejnowski explains deep scientific concepts about the human brain in an easily understandable manner. I would recommend this course to just about anyone - after all we are all learning everyday! I believe the skills acquired here will help us to learn effectively, even at work, and is one of the most powerful skills we can ever have. Thank you Dr Oakley and Dr Sejnowski!

par Sambath M

28 mai 2019

Hello Guys.

I had a very good time learning this course with our two carrying professor. They were really cute, and give us the motivation and the will to move on further into this course. They make things so much easier with their very well detailed vidéo, and they have a gift for teaching.

They put a lot of time and effort into this course, and I'm so grateful for that, I learn so much with you, thanks for everything, and to thank you furthermore, I, myself, will teach it to my close family, and then my close friend, and maybe the public after that.

Thanks for everything, you gave us a wonderful gift, maybe the greatest gift of all time .. knowledge.

par Chris K

6 sept. 2017

This course is short and useful, providing students with many potential tactics to incorporate into their learning strategies. Some will be familiar and some won't, but it's a nice refresher either way. My complaints center around the brevity of each topic and also the amount of gimmies in each quiz/test. While the prior is understandable (and remedied by a ton of supplemental reading suggestions), the soft toss quiz question get old. Things like "As stated in the video, performing the Macarena while stabbing yourself with a spork is a scientifically proven method to efficiently chunk data" are humorous but kind of cheapen the quizzes and tests.

par Jia W L

29 sept. 2020

A really good course which provides tips and insights on how to learn more efficiently. A guide which helps me to pinpoint the root cause of the struggle that I am facing for years in my musical journey. After completing this course, I had a better idea of how to help myself learn, so that I can improve for the better in the area of music. I do recommend everyone to take this course, as I believe that regardless of your age, experiences in life, there is something that you would be able to take away from this course. Even if you know the stuff that is taught in this course, it serves as a really good reminder and motivate you to learn more in life.

par Yaniv G

1 sept. 2019

I genuinely thinks that this course is a most have for everybody, especially students (the can make the most of out it and use those practical methods immediately).

The instructors of this course make the material clear and laughable, I had great time learning how to learn.

There is a whole community behind this course - which was unexpected and welcoming. That the first time I see something like it on Online-Courses and I don't think there are many other communities out there.

I highly recommend it.

I wish to thank to everyone who helped to make this course come alive, you're managed to make an impact on my everyday life, and I'm sure on many others.

par Evan L D

2 août 2020

Excellent course. Something like this course - basically, psychology of learning with a focus towards useful applications - should be required of all incoming freshmen at ever college. I definitely wish I had taken something like it at the beginning of my college career. There is only one thing I'd suggest to improve the course further: The male professor is obviously very uncomfortable on camera, which made me feel uncomfortable also. I'd suggest considering re-filming some of his videos after a few more practice rounds so he comes off as more relaxed and comfortable. This is nit-picky, but it did make me want to skip some of his videos at times.

par Katie D

25 sept. 2015

This course gives you the tools you will wish you had long ago. It will help you understand the way your brain works and work with it, not against it. You'll learn new way to study, use different thinking modes, and use sleep to solidify the material you're learning. The professor uses simple mnemonic's and a lot of visual aides which make it easy to understand and remember the concepts (which in and of itself is a lesson on how to absorb materiel).She's is very personable and cool, and for me personally, struggling to enter college at 26 for the first time, hearing her say she was my age when she started and is now an engineer was very inspiring!

par Vlad B

19 oct. 2019

It was a bittersweet experience. First of all, because now I feel not only a bunch of positive emotions — satisfaction, confidence, excitement for future learning endeavors, etc — but also deep regret. I regret that I have learned all of this only now, when I'm nearly 25, and not in school, where all this stuff should be taught. It could have prevented so much failure and suffering...

Then again, as the old saying goes, there's time for everything. I'll still make the most out of this new knowledge and whatever time I have left. Sincerest appreciations to those who created this course. It was an amazing job, really. Keep it up. The world needs it.

par Alan F G L

31 mai 2020

Thank you Barbara and Terrence! Because I have a lot of time on my hands, it took me some time to complete this course but it was certainly a great learning that I have no doubt that it will change my life completely. Now is the time to start a new stage in my life and no doubt thank you both. You are the most wholesome teachers I've had for now! And now I feel entitled to teach what I've learned in this course with other people that had before the same problems as me and others that took this course and I cannot recommend enough how useful the material in this course is. Thank you very much and thanks for teaching me for Learning how to Learn!

par Stefanie P

12 nov. 2016

My best Coursera course so far - and probably one of the best courses I took ever. The information was really new to me (e.g. the greatest enemy to learning is procrastination - in German: "Aufschieberitis", or "start hard jumpy easy"). it was presented in a funny and easy to grasp way (I loved the zombies and the little private photos and videos from Dr. Oakley). It was extremly helpful (e.g. Anki and the Pomodoro method).

As a mother of two teenage boys I am happy to pass on what I learned to my kids.

This is a valuable and fun course. And after the course they keep you informed with regular e-mails on the topic.

Thank you, thank you, thank you!

par David G A

1 sept. 2020

This course offered me a deep view into the world of learning - now I understand much better what I have to do in order to achieve greatest accomplishments in my academical career.

I may not agree with some of the techniques they mention, and I may had already known some of them from before. However, I feel that its scientific perspective and its wise advices are very valuable for anyone who is attempting to improve their academical performance in any subject.

Finally, I really appreciate the efforts of P.Oakley and P.Sejnowski - and their team - for bringing us this fantastic and potentially life-changing course for free. Thank you very much.

par austin c

29 juin 2020

The best class I took over my 30 years of learning. Initially, I did not think much of the course. But I was intrigued that it was so popular. I am glad i did jump in and stay. It has improved my learning ever since. Understanding how learning is conducted 'under the hood' allows me to explore techniques i overlooked and reinforce habits I already have. Thank you for two excellent teachers. Th I challenge Coursera to elevate this course to highest level of visibility. Rather than waiting for serendipity, more learners of the world should have common awareness of this brilliant class. Thank you for the opportunity to express myself