Chevron Left
Retour à Apprendre à apprendre : des outils mentaux puissants qui vous aideront à maitriser les matières difficiles

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Apprendre à apprendre : des outils mentaux puissants qui vous aideront à maitriser les matières difficiles par Université McMaster

4.8
étoiles
67,327 évaluations
19,115 avis

À propos du cours

This course gives you easy access to the invaluable learning techniques used by experts in art, music, literature, math, science, sports, and many other disciplines. We’ll learn about the how the brain uses two very different learning modes and how it encapsulates (“chunks”) information. We’ll also cover illusions of learning, memory techniques, dealing with procrastination, and best practices shown by research to be most effective in helping you master tough subjects. Using these approaches, no matter what your skill levels in topics you would like to master, you can change your thinking and change your life. If you’re already an expert, this peep under the mental hood will give you ideas for: turbocharging successful learning, including counter-intuitive test-taking tips and insights that will help you make the best use of your time on homework and problem sets. If you’re struggling, you’ll see a structured treasure trove of practical techniques that walk you through what you need to do to get on track. If you’ve ever wanted to become better at anything, this course will help serve as your guide. This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or prior to, its companion course, Mindshift. (Learning How to Learn is more learning focused, and Mindshift is more career focused.) To join the fully translated Portuguese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprender To join the fully translated Spanish version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprendiendo-a-aprender To join the fully translated Chinese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/ruhe-xuexi To join the fully translated French version of the course, visit : http://www.coursera.org/learn/apprendre-comment-apprendre...

Meilleurs avis

RS

Sep 07, 2015

I am a more effective learner as a result of this course. It has also, surprisingly, increased my enjoyment while learning. Thanks to Barbara and Terry for a well presented and informative production.

EA

Apr 29, 2017

This was a great course! I learned a number of different techniques and strategies for learning more effectively that I can't wait to implement in my studies. I highly recommend Learning How to Learn.

Filtrer par :

451 - 475 sur 10,000 Avis pour Apprendre à apprendre : des outils mentaux puissants qui vous aideront à maitriser les matières difficiles

par Chinmaya K M

Mar 31, 2020

Hi, To everybody who is reading this. I am from India and I take this course during the time of march 2020. I really really enjoy the course material and the content. As a student, You should take this because it will answer your query with reasoning. How much it is important to exercise for learning? How to approach a test? How to handle pre-exam stress and a lot more? Some concept is fresh for me. I bet you you will not waste your time by completing this awesome course. It should be studied in an Indian school. Some point to our Instructors. The course material delivering can be more fun through animation and more example. Lastly, Thanks for learning how to learn

par Mary K M

Jul 19, 2017

This course was fantastic - well-paced, encouraging, and stimulating! I liked that I could engage at the level that time and other endeavors permitted me, and I had several takeaways that I am already putting to use. I mean, I just used the word einstellung in the context of my work with my boss - it's great! Learning How to Learn is the first MOOC that I ever finished, and it inspired me to pursue other learning opportunities that pique my interest, regardless of their direct correlation to my job, my current skillset and 'innate' abilities. I'm definitely going to stop counting myself due to age or talent - anything is possible if you set yourself up for success!

par Ann R

Aug 12, 2020

I found so much helpful advice in this course. I just wish I had this when course when I went back to school to get my Library Technician Diploma. I definitely would have benefited from all the tips and techniques given in this course. For example how to get over the imposter syndrome and procrastination. I have used the pomodoro method to get over my procrastination. I also like the interviews with Dr. Richard Felder and Dr. Rebecca Brent. They gave my great ideas on how to get over my test taking anxiety. I have thoroughly enjoyed taking this course and would recommend it to anyone who is having trouble with learning new subjects especially later in life.

par Aryan R

Jun 06, 2020

This course delivers on what it promises, a clear and concise instruction on how to get better at learning. A lot of these concepts seem like common sense but unfortunately they are not common in practice which should be the goal of all that have taken this course and what they should do in the future. Furthermore, some concepts like the Einstellung effect or the Memory Palace do not seem useful and seem contradictory BUT they are SOO NOT! I used the memory palace technique with my own room and I remembered a really long list of things, I was amazed. What we need is humility and curiosity when viewing this course and apply these techniques without shame or doubt!

par Christian P

Jun 03, 2020

I haven't written a review for a product/service good or bad in around 8 years cause of my ADHD, but this course is so important that I have to go through temporary pain to tell you guys this. take this course. It will change everything. Just make sure you write down everything you learn and study it. That's the most important tip. Every week is just as important as the first. You will regret not sticking through the entire course. It even gives you some important life advice. Anyone is capable of achieving what they want, and this course will show you why and how. This course is the type of stuff you learn and say "Dang, I can't wait to pass this on to my kids."

par Eugen G

Feb 04, 2020

It is a good idea to go through this course before other topics

Coming back to the material and continuing can be tough sometimes but it's worth the effort because the concepts can help in other areas as well (such as handling complex tasks)

The quizzes can cause some anxiety (it's a test...) but the questions selected and the way the answers are written will help fixing the most important ideas so they are very helpful in the end, also proving one of the concepts (that self tests are great for learning)

I felt the need to go over some parts of the material several times (using the notes) which means that times allocated for the course did not match the estimations.

par Turing

Dec 17, 2019

I wish I have taken this course when 30 years ago when I have so much difficulties in learning. It provided valuable insights to how to learn anything, and even go as far as your daily habit, your mental health and physical health, all of those are linked! You can't study well without a good mental health and physical condition, and this course give advice on how to achieve all those requirements. As I have already read Mind for numbers, this course reinforced and retain my knowledge gain, and in addition, it provided extra reading material, exercise and most important of all, the forums and social page for interaction which you can't get just by reading the book.

par Mariló F

Oct 07, 2019

I finished university long time ago and although I am a curious person who is always reading, and informally learning about a wide variety of topics, I am considering going back to study more formally and that is why i took the course.I have found it very well structured, starting with the basics of how our brains work to slowly deepen into different aspects of learning, as well as practical tips and techniques that are applicable not only for academic studies but also for daily life. Even the way the course is constantly testing is a great way to practice the theory.The instructors are clearly very knowledgeable and Dr. Oakley makes the videos quite entertaining.

par Lilian M

Jun 12, 2019

I joined Cousera a few months ago focused on improving my knowledge bank. I wanted to brush up on things I memorized in college before graduating in preparation for the corporate world. I feel so lucky that this was my first course. I now have a better reason to keep learning, in and out of cousera.

LH2L is a revolutionary work of art that will change the life of anybody who remains disciplined enough to go through the whole course. It teaches techniques and practices that you wish you knew before attending any school. Especially higher learning.

The methods, which I ended up using in the course itself are 100% effective, you just have to trust it.

Happy learning.

par David J B J

Oct 09, 2017

This was first MOOC I have taken because I read about it in a NY Times review. It was an excellent course and well laid out. This course should be taken by everyone; from high school students to anyone in their career wanting to sharpen their ability to learn in a rapidly changing environment. It gives you good logic for how the brain learns, sound tools to use immediately and confidence that you can master new material or refresh old concepts. I also like how the instructors went back and forth between the practical application and delved into the scientific structure and inner workings of the brain so it reinforced why the learning concepts will actually work.

par Pascal r

Aug 23, 2015

Really liked this class. Teachers are excellent in the way built the videos and learning material. They really master their subject and make it very accessible to anyone to understand. Content is not complicated and extremely useful concept in every day life. Wish I had this class and understood best how the brain learn better and more effectively before spending so many years in the education system wasting precious hours with the wrong techniques! Human are gifted by having such a incredible ability to learn, it would be a waste to not learn who to use our cognitive and learning abilities to its greatest potential.

Thank you very much Barbara and Terrence,

Pascal

par madhav m m

Sep 20, 2020

I have done 5 courses here and I consider this course the best of all. I loved the way they taught with funny examples that are easy to understand and help us to remember better what we learnt. This course doesn't puts any pressure on students of assignment and the tests are also designed in a way that helps the people go recall what was taught and by doing this we are able to retain what was taught to us. The words ,examples, stories, researches and many more things made it even better to understand the terms . Even the optional videos were every informative and one should definitely see them. I respect the teachers for their efforts for this valuable course.

par Ruslan K

Jun 13, 2020

The course tells about two different "modes" of mind work: focused and diffuse, and what each of them is for. It also gives practical advises about how to deal with procrastination, how to remember new material and how to prepare for tests. The course is amazing. Information is divided into small well-formed chunks. Video lectures are not longer than 7 minutes, so you I was not get tired while watching them. Dr. Oakley's lectures are so clear and easy to understand even for non-English speakers, like me.

I would like to thank Dr. Oakley and Dr. Sejnowski for their efforts.Definitely recommend everyone to take this course regardless of the area of studying.

par Francesco B

Apr 18, 2020

When I started this course I was very curious to know how, an On Line Course should have been of help for my learning projects.

Not only I found it really interesting, but after the very first videos I decided to stop any other learning activity, waiting to get to the end of the course in order to be more effective and not waste time with all other courses.

I so much appreciate the arguments, that I strongly recommend the course not only to students, but also to teachers (whatever their subject or level). Putting into practice all the information discussed within the course, should be useful to "guide" students and to help them to grow up avoiding false believes.

par Tatjana d

Jun 26, 2019

this course is fantastic! while it all might sound familiar, it gave me fantastic tools how to retain what i learn instead of making a soup out of my brain by studying without results. I learned the importance of stopping and taking a break when a problem doesn't get resolved after 20+ minutes, the importance of exercise, sleep or simply a brake to unleash the more creative, diffuse working mind, to always start tackling bigger problems during tests first but let go and do smaller if after a certain time i didnt succeed. the importance of Recall and continuos Testing yourself and the importance of regular practice. Thank you professors, it was time well spent!

par Vorobyeva P

May 09, 2020

I'm very grateful for this course Learning how to learn to Barbara Oakley and Terence Sejnowski and Coursera platform. I spend 4 productive weeks studying the main rules and principles of learning during isolation. That knowledge and skills will definitely help me in my future life and career. Also I've been seriously thinking to become of a master of this course to adapt it for middle school students in Russia. I think these skills will be truly supportive for those who has difficulties in learning, memorization, chunking, for those who being stressed during the exams and passing the tests, for those who doubts in their own abilities, potential and talents.

par Monika K

Nov 08, 2016

I always feel exhausted and reluctant to study or learn new things because my previous learning style was ineffective! This course tell you how to learn effectively and efficiently, with a relax way, easy to understand (even if your english is not good like me), and appliable in any fields . The coaches, Dr. Barbara and Dr. Terrence delivered their lectures as if they were talking to you directly and knew what are your problems during learning, why you have these and how to solve these problems. Each lesson will ask your feedback and I suggest you to fill it. I am really recommend this course to every one, no matter what or who you are, and how old you are!

par Ricardo O

Feb 17, 2016

You will definitely take with you a lasting impression on how your brain works along with how to treat it so that you could learn more faster. Getting rid of old habits and incorporating the new habits will take some time and practice. The instructors a great and the interviews with those that desire to learn an abundance of information and sharing their experience with you is very inspiring!

Thank you all for allowing me to improve my views on learning and the opportunity of taking a course this rich with content on how to better my thinking power. You all are great, God Bless! Keep up the work for us and I definitely look forward to contributing one day....

par LUZ E V B

Aug 05, 2020

Es un curso sencillamente espectacular, me ha permitido identificar las fallas que presentaba en mis técnicas de estudio antes de iniciarlo, ya sea por abandonas una buenas que practicaba en pregrado y otras que he aprendido totalmente nuevas para mi como la metáfora,analogía y el palacio de la memoria. ademas los concejos para vencer la procrastinación me estan ayudando mucho para avanzar. Mantenerme con una mente abierta, OCEAN y toda la informacion recibida que he ido procesando ,entendiendo, practicando y repitiendo me ayudaran a los nuevos retos. Gracias esto fue lo mejor que me ha pasado durante la pandemia y de los mejores cursos que he tomado.

par Youpheng L

Aug 10, 2020

This course is excellent and is highly recommended to anyone who would like to enrich their learning experience and take the learning results to a great level. The underlying concepts (e.g. focused vs diffused modes of thinking) and techniques (e.g. chunking and the Pomodoro) introduced in this course are particularly useful in boosting our productivity and ultimately show us a scientifically-proven and effective way of learning (and test-taking).

Self-education is a lifelong work in progress, so by being able to learn effectively, a wide range of knowledge and possibilities await us. Explore the course content now and set your timer for dedicated learning!

par ROHIT S

Jun 04, 2020

I was introduced to this course at a time when I was struggling to retain and apply what I learnt. And after this course, I can say that I have more effective methods to tackle those problems and be more productive than before. The course not only teaches about how to learn effectively but also makes one aware of the illusions of learning and the incorrect methods. In addition to the course material, it also has bonus videos in which the best people share their techniques and how they do it.

I would like to thank Dr Barbara Oakley and Dr Terrence Sejnowski for this truly wonderful course. It has taught me something that it is to be remembered for a lifetime.

par Ray P S

Mar 15, 2020

I just love how the course's instructors, Mrs. Barbara Oakley and Mr. Terrence Sejnowsky, made it easier for learners to relate their learning difficulties in the examples and concepts explained. These include the concept of the two thinking modes (focused and diffused), our inner zombies (habits), willpower, procrastination, and some effective learning techniques. I just love how it gives a breath of fresh air among the ones I always see online. It was so technical yet highly creative.

I would really, really love the idea that a day would come that I could get to meet these two individuals. :) I've always aspired to meet prominent yet fun scientists. Kudos!

par prashanna k

Nov 25, 2019

I have learnt so much about my body and mind from this course. From chunking materials, to how to answer tests and also the importance of incorporating exercise into your study routine. It was such a fascinating course and it took me a brief period to finish it. After completing it, I definitely have that much needed motivation to go through difficult concepts, projects and overall to be excited about my masters journey. I'd recommend this to anyone who wants to get out of a rut, who feels anxious in subjects, who can't focus even in study environment, who finds it difficult to grasp certain subjects/ topics. This course would be perfect for you. Good luck!

par Tina

Apr 29, 2016

This course is great! If you listen to the advice from this course, take notes and actively implementing this advice as you go along, it will become much easier for you to notice results very quickly! This course has helped me change my mindset towards learning and studying - I noticed my old ways weren't working as well for me, and learning this course helped me not only becoming aware of the techniques one can use to master their leaning, but also allowing me with a plethora of different learning methods to experiment with and see which one works for me. I highly recommend this course if you want to continue to learn in life, and get ahead much faster.

par Phuong

Dec 24, 2015

Thank you so much for your course!

I realize this is a useful closeness course, it was made to be easy to understand and follow and many interesting article to find out more. Clearly I think the knowledge was transmitted very scientifically with condensed knowledge, reasonable progress.

I through this course with excited mood, from the principles of chunking to help me learn better to the video you running when you encounter the difficult in study - exercise is very important in learning. It's encourage me, give me more motivations and feel more confident when I think I knew more about the mechanisms in study. I think it's a basic course for every courses