Chevron Left
Retour à Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition par Université d'État de l'Arizona

4.9
étoiles
5,566 évaluations
1,680 avis

À propos du cours

In this course learners are introduced to second or foreign language theories and practices for teaching and assessing listening, speaking, and pronunciation. Learners will also be introduced to basic studies in second language acquisition and their pedagogical implications. Teachers will be invited to recognize the importance of grounding their own teaching philosophy through an examination of purpose, content, and technique....
Points forts
Applicable teachings
(121 avis)
Creatively designed course
(270 avis)

Meilleurs avis

AA
21 juin 2021

Interesting courses! I am learning a lot. Thank you very much Coursera. I have just completed course 2 and been delivered a certificate but I just can't access my new course. What should I do, please?

NZ
10 juin 2018

I'm really enjoying this course. I'm about half way through. I'm looking forrward to how the various courses in this series take me farther and farther into language learning theories and techniques.

Filtrer par :

101 - 125 sur 1,655 Avis pour Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition

par John K S

4 août 2018

This course is personal, fun, and well-paced. It has filled gaps in my understanding of how to teach English as a second language. The presentations are documented, so I have been able to read beyond what was presented in the course. I'm surprised how much I like to review what other students write about the material.

par Hang T N

31 août 2021

The course's contents are so well-organized and well-presented that I, as a learner, consider completing this course an enjoyment instead of a task. The knowledge gained from this course is absolutely helpful for me as an English teacher to enhance my professional expertise. Thanks for the wonderful lessons, lecturers.

par Leo S

14 juil. 2020

I have taken a lot of online courses but definitely this is the best course, it is excellent for many reasons, the methodology of the instructors, the material of content, the videos, the inspiration and passion of the theacers, I recommend this course for every teacher, not only languages teachers but for all of them.

par Deonne R M

9 févr. 2018

This course offers deep insights on the specifics of how to prepare students to maximize language acquisition skills. The content and techniques are appropriate and very relevant to real life. The presenters are quite knowledgeable and enthusiastic in delivering each lesson.

I highly recommend. Thank you Coursera!

par Sutiksha D

14 juin 2021

A wonderful course which has carefully created content just apt for online learning platform. I like the way it is presented by the awesome teachers. Not even for a minute is it boring or dragging anywhere. It actually motivates one to inculcate all the principles and new techniques learned in your everyday teaching.

par Yara N

2 juil. 2019

The course is a collection of the most wonderful videos that present information in a creative, fun and beneficial way. I enjoyed the lectures and learned a lot of valuable information. besides that I gained many useful new techniques to apply in my own classroom. Thanks to everyone that helped creating this course.

par Anna N

5 oct. 2021

This course is really helpful to me. I have applied some approaches in this course to my class. I have learned some more great approaches from history. I can combine these approaches to my class to help students acquire the language easily and feel more interested in studying languages. Thanks a lot for your help!

par Janette H

2 nov. 2016

This course was quite enlightening. Having "traveled" and compared the various approaches to learning a language - even teaching a language has provided me with much insight. I am delighted that I made the time to listen and observe the practical strategies presented by the very enthusiastic Dr. Dixon. Thank you

par MICHAEL N R

6 mai 2020

This course was well thought of. As I went through the modules, I was learning while enjoying. I admire the effort the team put into it. The manner they organized the topics was of a high international standard: clear, direct and substantial with perfect consideration of time vis a vis learners' attention span.

par Xiangyi L

22 mars 2020

I am watching this course just at week2, usually I don't comment till I finish but I must say this is an excellent course, and the delivery of this course is really interesting. the acting of different roles really made me laugh so much. thank you for making effort of making this MOOC all faculty in TESOL ASU!!

par Tatiana

11 déc. 2017

The second part of the course is absolutely fantastic. I really enjoyed the videos thanks to the presenters' acting skills and charisma. There was plenty of valuable information which is essential for my work as a teacher. The course provides a lot of fresh ideas about our work and giving our students the best.

par Sney

2 mars 2021

Dear Teachers I am so glad for this course but especially glad for your knowledge and abilities you are sharing here) It is my great chance to be introduced absolutely other sides of teaching English with such incredible teachers! Wishing all of you great health and further more success)))

best regards Nurshat

par 艾美WU

7 août 2019

It's a very great course for having a good understanding of the theories of SLA. If you are one of the teachers who want to know how those SLA theories evolved and what are their merits and demerits and what you can learn from those theories to improve your quality of teaching. I highly recommend this course!

par Dmitrii K

28 déc. 2020

The history of ESL is presented in a way that helps students retain information and use it later to improve their teaching skills. The assignments are thought-provoking and challenging. I recommend this course to anyone who would like to improve their understanding of what they can do in a classroom and why.

par Mustafa I

14 janv. 2021

Very Nice course created for Language Trainers to fully understand different Theories of Second Language Acquisition. I loved the Trainers. The Trainer who acted in the videos was the best part of the course as it gave a real insight into the past. His acting was superb. He should work in Hollywood movies.

par Marisa

9 sept. 2017

I like how this course was able to open my eyes to the many approaches and techniques that I have been using in my classroom in a compact way. It has really refreshed my perspective on how I teach in the classroom and I think it was time well spent. I liked Jessica, as she was bubbly and always smiling.

par Karen H

4 déc. 2016

This course helped me to relate my past and current teaching styles to particular approaches throughout history and plan to enhance the techniques I already use while putting a name to the teaching method. I can use this new knowledge to select which method and approach may work best in each situation.

par HASSOUNA H I E

11 juin 2017

All thanks and appreciation to the administrators of the website of Corseira and to the distinguished lecturers. Shane Dixon

Dr. Justin Shewell

Jessica Cinco on the effort to deploy the uncle in an easy and modern way through the international Internet for all students of the uncle and all employees

par Catherine M D

14 août 2017

I loved this course so much that I continued and finished it within a couple of days. The information that I learned here was quite intriguing. The instructors made the course engaging and made me want to learn more about the different learning approaches. Thank you so much for such a great course!

par Geophychem A

21 sept. 2021

I loved it! I usually don't like Theory or History lessons but this course is very well organized and well-prepared. Visually pleasing, easy to follow and just fun! Dr. Shane is a great actor!

P.S. Your school's logo on the certificate is a little too small. I hope you can make it bigger. Thanks! :)

par Jacqueline K

24 oct. 2016

Excellent and comprehensive course that goes into detail about ESL teaching theory. Manageable workload and plenty of time and resources to complete assessments. I have recommended this to all of my linguist and TESOL friends who are lacking a certificate. It is a phenomenal course and opportunity.

par Glenia L

10 janv. 2016

I am about to finish this course and I loved it. It is a great overview of the theories of SLA and although it says it takes 6 weeks, as I am on vacation now, I ended up finishing it in four days, working for about 4-5 hours/day. So, I highly recommend it to anyone interested in teaching languages.

par ELMA J O C

12 avr. 2021

Very informative and easy to follow procedures. A good review of the theories of SLA and how to teach in an SLA-oriented classroom. At some point, I tend to not focus on the theories and the theorists of SLA, however, learning them is a great tool to guide oneself and reevaluate goals of teaching.

par Cherry A V

16 févr. 2021

Our dearest TESOL instructor is really great Dr. Shane Dixon and Ms. Jessica Cinco for unselfishly sharing their knowledge and wisdom to us. This is best achievement for us to be part of this scholarship grant. Additional knowledge and it makes our time worthy in this time of pandemic. Thank you

par Joshua L

9 mars 2021

Module 2 required substantial effort and the challenges presented helped you grasp a deeper understanding of teaching ESL. Also, the provisions listed in the techniques are in strong correlation to those in Module 1 and can help you develop a wonderful technique that can be used in the classroom.