Chevron Left
Retour à Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition par Université d'État de l'Arizona

4.9
étoiles
5,566 évaluations
1,680 avis

À propos du cours

In this course learners are introduced to second or foreign language theories and practices for teaching and assessing listening, speaking, and pronunciation. Learners will also be introduced to basic studies in second language acquisition and their pedagogical implications. Teachers will be invited to recognize the importance of grounding their own teaching philosophy through an examination of purpose, content, and technique....
Points forts
Applicable teachings
(121 avis)
Creatively designed course
(270 avis)

Meilleurs avis

AA
21 juin 2021

Interesting courses! I am learning a lot. Thank you very much Coursera. I have just completed course 2 and been delivered a certificate but I just can't access my new course. What should I do, please?

NZ
10 juin 2018

I'm really enjoying this course. I'm about half way through. I'm looking forrward to how the various courses in this series take me farther and farther into language learning theories and techniques.

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 1,655 Avis pour Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition

par Abdur R I

20 oct. 2021

these theories are a nice part of course, one who is already teaching English, can improve his teaching style by knowing these theories.

par Udeshika I D S K

26 oct. 2021

A really nice course which every language teacher should follow. I highly recommend this course to every ESL teacher.

par Joanne P

8 nov. 2021

Challenging but great class

par Daniel R - C

17 févr. 2019

Great course.

par itsmegirleeislove I

26 oct. 2021

informative

par Vanessa R

20 janv. 2020

I took this class because I thought it would give me a good introduction to online teaching. It also looked tempting because it offered the option to take the practicum; however, when it's being offered at $1,000, I expect this class to be worth the cost. It's not. The first quiz is ridiculously hard (it took me three or four days to pass it), then you get to module 3 and the quizzes are way too easy. There is very little content, and a lot of contrived scenarios with foreign teachers (there is no effort to pretend they're overseas, as the dialogues basically repeat what's already been introduced except for one or two instances where we get additional information that's useful, but the backdrops are clearly fake). The whole thing with Brandon isn't informative (it could be any person), and the clips from the voxy are basically all the same thing. I really do not recommend this class if you're looking for something substantial; there's just very little worthwhile information. If this is an indication of the quality of the vox, then the voxy is very poor and not worth it unless it were free which it isn't - and the price for an educational experience that looks like this class is just not worth it.

par Rafael E M C

17 oct. 2018

I think the childish approach to the theories was time-wasteful and inadequate for the audience

par Mark T

6 nov. 2016

Patronising and very poor in content.

par Kirankumar R

28 avr. 2020

I found the course to be extremely useful.

Those videos must have taken a lot of work - actually dressing up to give the 'feel' of an 1880 or 1910 classroom shows dedication. :) :)

I have a suggestion. When we review other learner's assignments it is not easy to choose between YES and NO for completing the task. As an experienced ESL practitioner I would say that if a person has written a whole big chunk where the responses to the two prompts are not separate and where only a few relevant points appear (in bits and pieces) they should not be considered to have completed the task.

Some learners have responded to the 'difference between approaches' prompt purely in the form of personal opinion (albeit valid opinions, very often). Others have actually responded based on the contents of that week.

I understand that there is quite a range of English language levels among the people who take the course and written answers are not something that even native speakers are always good at. However, I am talking about task achievement rather than grammar and spelling. I would suggest that when marking peers for completing the task it would help if there is a range (say Yes / No / Partially) rather than just Yes or No.

Thoroughly enjoyed the course. My best compliments to the team that put it together!

par Aedrian A

3 juil. 2021

This well-made offering is such an important course not only for getting TESOL/TEFL certification but for teaching in general. I deeply appreciate the intention of the Arizona State University TESOL Professional Certification creators in allotting a full course focusing on various teaching approaches developed throughout history. Each with their unique set of advantages and disadvantages, the emphasis is on aspiring TESOL Professional Certificate holders to craft their own learning philosophy/strategy based on their critical understanding of the approaches discussed. The centrality of contemplating on purpose, content and technique as a teacher, rather than blindly following a rigid pre-made approach for teaching, is successfully relayed.

par Nathan H

18 janv. 2018

As someone relatively new to language teaching, I found Theories of Second Language Acquisition in Teach English Now! extremely useful and relevant. The quality of the teaching on this course has exceeded my expectations. This is a brilliant concept. I can tell that a lot of time and effort has gone into developing this particular course. I thoroughly enjoyed the way the material in this course was delivered and the concepts were taught. On top this, I also learned a lot of interesting, practical ideas and strategies that I can potentially use in my lessons. Thank you so much for all your hard work. This is the best introduction to second language acquisition theories I have ever had.

par RiCha r S

19 déc. 2016

I liked the way this course added more to our plates. We learned more useful information that caused a need for taking notes and seeking further information. This course also provided great background with the interactive videos that were entertaining but also sequenced in such a way that a student would understand clarification would follow in the later videos if not garnered by the first video clip with the questions. I enjoyed the pacing, detail, research based knowledge, and assessment at the end - even if I did continuously read a few questions incorrectly. The approaches I now know and understand. Thank you for these courses.

par Lucie W

13 sept. 2016

It is a great class. At the beginning, I thought it was kind of stupid to act out the characters in a funny or even silly way, however, I realized that thanks to the dramatization, I can easily remember all different approaches because the characters are visually sticky in my head! The facial expressions, the gestures, the clothes, the wig, the accent, the instruments are all helping me remember. As a teacher, I not only get to know and compare different theories of language teaching, I also learned that we should not be shy to act. Teachers are actors, let us make our classroom more fun and engaging!

par Lorain B

17 déc. 2017

This is really an amazing program. The module contents are clear and well presented. Participants are given enough, flexible and reasonable time to complete the tasks. The ideas are profound but presented in easily, comprehensible way so that participants can absorb them in a short time. The videos presentations are excellent, vivid, and although they were not meant to entertain,t hey were all inspiring and fun. Truly well structured and well presented program for aspiring language teachers as well as for those who are already in the profession. Excellent!

par Cristina S

11 sept. 2020

I am thoroughly enjoying this course, It is very well organized and the presentations are all interesting. I am an ESL teacher but I haven't studied theory and practice in a while so this course is really helpful. It is helping me review theories and techniques. It is also helping me reflect on my own teaching and allowing me to think about what works and what should be emphasized in a language learning setting. I am very grateful for the humor and liveliness of each module. Professor Dixon is a very good actor and truly gets his message across!

par Yolanda M

27 juin 2021

The course has great instructional design. Shane Dixon and Jessica Cinco are great professors, too. I have learned a lot and reflected on the ways in which I have acquired the English language - and why I have not acquired others that I tried to learn - and these learnings are already having an impact on the way I teach. The written assignments give us the opportunity to integrate what we learn each week, and reviewing our peers´writings lets us see what they assimilate and think. I look forward to keep learning with this program. Thank you very much.

par Francis Y

17 nov. 2019

This is another quality course in the TESOL certification series. Even though I have years of teaching experience, I have only had on-the-job training until now, so having approaches and theories presented to me was very helpful in consolidating why I have been taught to teach with certain techniques. The course also made me think about what kind of teacher I have been and can be. With the interesting ways that things were presented, I believe anyone, even those with no teaching experience, can easily understand the concepts in this course.

par Sofia B

7 févr. 2016

Amazing teachers, valuable information and top-quality materials! Thanks so much for making this course - I gained a lot from it, especially from giving and receiving feedback from fellow students. The only thing I didn't enjoy much are some questions in the tests because sometimes they seem a bit irrelevant. I would recommend making the tests a bit more to the point and reducing the amount of questions (especially the one in the final tests like "who inspired the angel and devil debate ":) Thanks for your work!!!

par ELENA S

19 mai 2020

It was absolutely great time for me! It was extrememly interesting to observe how teaching approaches were pendulum swinging from one to another depending on the historical changes. So, it not only brings unvalued proffinecy enhancing but broadens your mind. I got to know a lot of fascinating stories about Ford Company and Navajo Code. I highly recommend this course in order to improve your teaching skills, to become more confident in teaching and to simply enjoy listening and reading such a pithy content.

par Jennifer M

18 janv. 2021

I enjoyed how Dr. Shane changed his characters in every language approach discussed! It was really challenging learning via online or self-paced but I felt whenever I watched the videos, Miss Jessica and Dr. Shane were really alive especially when they were playing as Jack and Jill, giving their commentaries. Though, I already learned those way back in college, it's just sink in my mind just now.

I might say, they walk their talk. They really practice what they preached in every lesson.

Kudos!

par Hina M

20 août 2020

A heartfelt thanks to everyone who is part of putting this course together. Learning about eight approaches to language teaching can be simply overwhelming and tedious, but hats off to the most interesting way it has been done. No one is ever going to forget the tutor, Dr. Shane. What an extraordinary teacher and actor. Thanks to Justin Shewell who designed this course. Jessica Cinco's cheerful personality also keeps you glued to the videos. Fantastic Course!! A superlative effort by all!!

par 利平 L 卢 L

5 juil. 2017

Thanks a lot for such great courses, i learned a lot, not because of the info or knowledge but also beacause of such course that my past experience and knowledge became quite clear and organized, which really helped me in my current job as an english learning coach. I am willing to take the next course to finish all TESOL classes suggested, then something to string all those scattered thoughts try my best to be a good english teacher. Thank you!

par Valentina G

26 sept. 2019

This course is just amazing. I found out how important to understand the purpose of learning the language of your students. And choose the most appropriate approach to the teaching process according to that. Also, I was introduced to 8 different approaches to teaching. Understanding of those methods helps to create content that is accurate for the individual needs of my students and use the most suitable techniques for each specific case.

par Carrie H C

8 janv. 2016

In my university, I had to spend the whole semester only to study the theories of second language acquisition; my old-fashioned professors made me write down what they say and memorize all of them. And after 5 years of graduation, I don't remember a thing. BUT this course brought my old memories back and get them classified in a very simple and clear way; plus it didn't take so much time! I really enjoyed the course. Thank you Dr Shane!

par Geraldine H

31 mars 2020

Good day to a dynamic Team,

Goodness me; talk about a Rollercoaster, this is my second course and I’m still trying to apply brakes. I found the course fun and professionally put together. I had to extend myself beyond my own imagination. I found the structure user friendly and the content enlightening, forcing one to think out of the box, and you can only grow! I am excited to start the next course! Thank you all for your dedication.