Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction à la science forensique

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction à la science forensique par Université de technologie de Nanyang, Singapour

4.9
étoiles
1,477 évaluations
463 avis

À propos du cours

We have all seen forensic scientists in TV shows, but how do they really work? What is the science behind their work? The course aims to explain the scientific principles and techniques behind the work of forensic scientists and will be illustrated with numerous case studies from Singapore and around the world. Some questions which we will attempt to address include: How did forensics come about? What is the role of forensics in police work? Can these methods be used in non-criminal areas? Blood. What is it? How can traces of blood be found and used in evidence? Is DNA chemistry really so powerful? What happens (biologically and chemically) if someone tries to poison me? What happens if I try to poison myself? How can we tell how long someone has been dead? What if they have been dead for a really long time? Can a little piece of a carpet fluff, or a single hair, convict someone? Was Emperor Napoleon murdered by the perfidious British, or killed by his wallpaper? *For Nanyang Technological University (NTU) students, please be noted that this course will no longer be eligible for credit transfer....

Meilleurs avis

AP
16 avr. 2021

HI, I am student of forensic science and as per my knowledge this is the best course i come across.\n\nyou just need to have basic knowledge, the cases given in the course are awesome.\n\ni loved this

SF
12 nov. 2020

Thanks to Mr Roderick Wayland Bates for his simple and vivid explanation .....I liked his way of presentation... The course was really very useful and the case studies were thought provoking......

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 456 Avis pour Introduction à la science forensique

par Jamyang P

29 oct. 2019

The course was very insightful and i thoroughly enjoyed every stage of the course and learnt so many new things. Everything is provided was in good detail and ordered well. Thank you!

par Virginia

13 oct. 2016

Professor Roderick Bates is a fantastic lecturer. It is my first time back at school in 23 years and I followed his classes with ease. Highly recommended course for everyone.

par Jonathan V P

11 nov. 2018

Very helpful class and a lot of interesting material and real cases. The professor and mentor are excellent and very helpful. Great class I would lovely recommend it

par Zafar A

9 févr. 2019

I learned a lot from this course, Everything was well prepared, and excitingly delivered. I was not bored even for a second.

par Anupriya C

11 févr. 2019

Well laid out course. Perfect for basic introduction to various topics in forensic science

par Shaza S

21 oct. 2020

Great professor! Well organized lectures. Would highly recommend.

par Claire H

28 août 2020

Some of the lectures are more informative than others, but good introductory course. The instructor periodically suffers from old-fashioned chauvinism in his apparent need to make extraneous comments about women (gratuitously commenting on a female forensic scientist's appearance, plus the "hell hath no fury" bit, "treat your woman well or she might kill you" - of course without acknowledging that it is the men who are statistically much more likely to kill their female partners), but it is mild and only pops up now and then. The problem with the grading is the peer-graded assignments, which take forever to grade and are not monitored independently, but that would be a problem in any course with that type of Coursera grading system.

par Florencia T

2 sept. 2020

It's an excellent course, you can learn chemistry, biology even a little of history, so it's very complete and interesting, if you like science and investigation I recommend you this course.

ThThe only thing I can mark as "a bad thing", as a native Spanish speaker, is that sometimes the subtitles weren't correct or weren't in coordination with the video, but it wasn't a big problem, just a little setback.

P.D.: Para aquellos que solo hablen español es importante tener en cuenta que las pruebas son en inglés, además de que a veces en los videos los subtítulos fallan, así que es recomendable entender lo suficiente de inglés como para poder comprender las consignas y/o preguntas de las pruebas.

par JIGNASHA D

10 juin 2020

The course goes in depth into the world of forensic science. The course dwells into the idea of a crime scene which not only makes one use critical analysis but also puts you into the shoes of the criminal themselves. The topics covered in this course were immense and the easy understanding of complicated topics such as DNA,Toxicology and many others made me want to continue on the course with interest and curiosity.

par Teresa C

5 oct. 2020

very interesting course which is worth the time and effort to learn if one is interested or curious about forensic science work. After completing this course made me realized that forensic science work is really not that easy as shown in dramas / movies. Kudos to the forensic scientists who contributed their expertise and knowledge through the participation of the investigation process to help dead victims "talk".

par Julia Y

17 juil. 2017

Amazing! I would highly recommend this to anyone, no need to have too much scientific knowledge, just basics, everything is explained incredibly well and the lessons are engaging - especially the case studies. Also, the skills learned are able to be applied to evidence in the short response assignments (of which there are 2). Over all, this was a great experience, this course is great for anyone and everyone!

par Alicia J

5 juin 2019

This course is a well written and structured course i have taken an "introduction to forensic science" course before but it was not as good as this one was. The website i took my course on was https://www.futurelearn.com/ it was an okay course but the accent was very difficult to understand. If you were to take a forensic science course take this one first i reccomend you to take the class on this website.

par Rodrigo P R V

2 mai 2020

A simple and easy to follow course, wich introduce the main techniques used in the field of forensic Science. The cases ilustrative of the advances in the multiple subjects, like DNA o Poisons. I especially enjoy the Case assignments at the end of some lectures, it was a great oportunity to test the knowlegdes of this course. I recomended as a first approach to the forensic Science.

par Ganapati K

19 juin 2017

Amazing course, and brilliantly designed. The Professor peppered his lectures with occasional anecdotes and humour, making the course very interesting. Initially I had some misgivings on taking this course, as I do not have a prior background in chemistry, but with a little bit of extra effort could grasp the essential nuances of chemistry as was required for this course.

par MENG Y

19 juin 2020

I am used to be an NTU student. While when this MOOC course is available for NTU undergraduate for electives, I have finished all my electives AUs. But luckily I can still take a free audition after graduation. It is a very interesting course and solves many of my questions when I saw those SCI episodes. Thanks a lot for the professor and tutors for preparing it!

par Maude L

7 juil. 2018

I love this course. I have no background in science and everything is explained very well, I am learning so much. It is more time-consuming for me than the average time the course is giving as approximates. I'm in week 4 and I needed to spend about 5 hours every week on each subject except for week 1. I recommend it to everyone who finds this subject interesting.

par Martina P

16 juil. 2017

This course was very interesting and the teacher explained all the concepts clearly and easily so that everyone could learn even without any previous knowledge. All the assignments were easy to do. The only thing that I would reccomend to improve is the peer assignments that sometimes are subjected to free interpretations. I learned a lot and had a lot of fun !!!

par Jose L L

14 juil. 2017

Es uno de los mejores cursos que he tomado en línea. Me gusta la calidad de sus videos, y la información actual que manejan a través de diversos medios, como lecturas y artículos.

This is one of the best courses I have studied online. I like the quality of their videos, and the current information they handle through various media, such as readings and articles.

par Bruno A T P

12 nov. 2016

Very good introductory course, gives very good background on forensic science, evidence collection and analysis. Particularly enjoyed Professor Roderick Bates' informal style and witty comments during the video classes. A very interesting point were also the video experiments, showing us simple protocols that can be used in the lab. All in all, a great course!

par ANOOP A S

24 oct. 2020

Fantastic course. It was nice to learn new things from this course. A perfect blend of scientific principles included in this course. From Locard's principle to identifying the culprit via DNA analysis of pine trees (if my memory is right) to the end, it was an awesome exploration with wisdom. Thank you mentor and Coursera for this wonderful course.

par Priyanka C B

18 août 2020

Initially, I thought I wouldn't be able to complete this course because of my laziness. But as I started the course, curiosity to learn new things grew and it happened so that the lectures that were scheduled for one week were completed in a day or two. I'd recommend it to everyone who's interested into Forensics. Go for it! Fighting!!!

par Devi D

10 juin 2020

This course is very much useful to the students who are interested in forensic science, I loved this course very much. It is very much informative and well structured. Thanks to NTU for providing us such an amazing course. Finally Roderick Bates Sir, for me He is one of the best teachers I have come across so far.

par Erik L

3 avr. 2021

A brilliant entry-level course for those who meet forensic science in the first time or who wish to obtain ground knowledge about possibilities and practices in this area.

It is virtually impossible to communicate hard scientific skills via an online education tool – and this is also the case. However, Dr. Bates manages to do other no less important thing: he provides understanding that, with reasonable effort, may be transmuted into practical interest. Despite restrictions I mentioned, useful packages of chemical, biological, physical attainments are well described within with both video examples and equipment surveys.

Calm and friendly manner of lecturing and illustrative real-life examples summarize this course as a helpful guide on how and where to start. You have my recommendation.

Thanks.

par Shalini H K

5 avr. 2021

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. Btw it's my first ever online course and Coursera had made it a great experience. Thanks to the lecturer Mr. Roderick for such fun lecturers, simple and well-explained presentations. The case studies were interesting and you will have different perspectives after reviewing your peers' assignments. Thanks to my peers who reviewed my assignments and gave me feedbacks that not only made my day but also made me do better in my upcoming assignments. I'm planning to take more courses on this platform. Biggest thanks to Coursera for providing financial aid to those students who can't afford to pay their fee, it helps us a lot.

par Buenaflor J

14 déc. 2020

The course covers basic concepts in forensic science, diagnostics, applications and case studies. It is multidisciplinary and enable you to explore the field from different perspectives through distinct but related subjects. The presentation although technical is easy to grasp for new learners. This is my third Coursera course and I highly recommend this for students, faculty and researchers who are interested to learn new things whatever their field of specialization are. Really very challenging and enjoyable. Thank you Dr Bates and NTU MOOC Team.