Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction à la science forensique

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Introduction à la science forensique par Université de technologie de Nanyang, Singapour

4.8
554 notes
152 avis

À propos du cours

We have all seen forensic scientists in TV shows, but how do they really work? What is the science behind their work? The course aims to explain the scientific principles and techniques behind the work of forensic scientists and will be illustrated with numerous case studies from Singapore and around the world. Some questions which we will attempt to address include: How did forensics come about? What is the role of forensics in police work? Can these methods be used in non-criminal areas? Blood. What is it? How can traces of blood be found and used in evidence? Is DNA chemistry really so powerful? What happens (biologically and chemically) if someone tries to poison me? What happens if I try to poison myself? How can we tell how long someone has been dead? What if they have been dead for a really long time? Can a little piece of a carpet fluff, or a single hair, convict someone? Was Emperor Napoleon murdered by the perfidious British, or killed by his wallpaper? *For Nanyang Technological University (NTU) students, please be noted that this course will no longer be eligible for credit transfer....

Meilleurs avis

DR

Jul 09, 2019

This was a good course for reviewing forensic medicine. Some detail part of medicolegal aspects are insufficient but as a package, it is most essential for the expert to upgrade their knowledge.

ER

Nov 20, 2016

This is by far one of the best courses I have taken. It's intriguing and thought-provoking while providing fascinating information and going into detail on how forensic science works.

Filtrer par :

126 - 148 sur 148 Examens pour Introduction à la science forensique

par Jacob L

Aug 05, 2019

Love It! Great Class.

par Di L

Aug 07, 2019

Great course. I found the material to be engaging but also presented in a scientific way. The examples and practical applications of techniques ensured understanding of different scientific concepts. I would highly recommend this course for any person interested in forensic science and application.

par Ashwini P

Aug 11, 2019

I enjoyed doing this course as it taught me a lot about the concepts of Forensic Science and how I can apply these concepts in my future career. I would highly recommend this course to anyone interested in Forensic Science.

par Seow Y D

Aug 11, 2019

I am truly grateful to Coursea for granting me a financial aid to pursue this course at essentially zero cost. I have learned many techniques and case studies from this forensics science course without having the stress of failing the module in school.

par Janani P

Jul 21, 2018

interesting subject

par

Oct 08, 2018

quite gooodddddd

par Wesley R N

Aug 03, 2017

The content of the course was exactly what I was looking for, and was very well presented. I felt the case studies could have been better prepared and more direction given in how to grade the submissions.

par Jonathan G

Apr 29, 2018

Very informative course. I learned a lot.

par Swarnava M

Jul 23, 2017

Very innovative and detailed course. Dr Bates is a very good teacher.

par Cornelia H

Aug 11, 2017

A great course to get an overview of forensic science and learn about all the important techniques of the field. It is kept quite simple and can definitely be understood without much prior knowledge, but I personally would have liked parts to go a bit more in depth on the chemical side. Overall really good course though.

par Andrea K I

Nov 07, 2016

The material is good, but the format of the case study submission has allowed numerous cases of cheating and plagiarism.

par Joy S

Apr 01, 2017

good class, watched all the lectures, just won't do peer review.

par Famke J

Nov 10, 2016

-

par BOÏ K

May 12, 2018

It's Innovation courses

par Sam B

Apr 22, 2018

Well done! Fascinating course! The assignments are super fun (I would've happily done more) but they need revising, i.e. a little better quality control and there needs to be a recourse process for when peer reviewers do not read the rubric correctly and as a result, marks students incorrectly (I never received a reply or help :( ...), hence i had to rate the course 4/5 (fix these and this course is easily a 5!)

Otherwise the lectures are amazing and I really wish there was a part 2! Loads of fun! Thank you so much Nanyang Tech for proving this opportunity!

par Darrell W

Jan 29, 2018

Excellent course except for the peer review. Students don't have enough reliable knowledge to correctly evaluate an opinion based argument.

par Louis A K H T

Nov 09, 2016

I have really learn a lot through the participation of the course and would like to sincerely thank the people conducting the course to make the course so enriching and also interesting.

par Sivasankari S

May 21, 2018

the course you provided was very useful and interesting and easier too.

par Veronica E

Nov 05, 2018

I loved the videos and the extensive information provided about the various kinds of technology available for characterizing a substance, etc. My favorite videos are of the lecturer in the lab showing the viewer how to use these tools. My one complaint is that I wish the peer-reviewed graded assessments were more detailed/more accurately tested our understanding of the great information provided in the lectures.

par DIVYA P

Apr 17, 2019

interesting course for those who wish to study a budding field

par Aravind k

Apr 04, 2019

pretty good and knowledgable

par Elise K

Mar 25, 2019

Les devoirs à rendre étaient un peu long

par Colin k

Aug 09, 2019

Very Interesting. I'm not a chemist so struggle with some of the chemical compound diagrams but understand the principal and description. I really enjoyed the presentation and case studies. The Peer reviewed assignments are hit and miss with how the assignments are marked.