Chevron Left
Retour à Lesson Planning with the ELL in Mind

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Lesson Planning with the ELL in Mind par Université d'État de l'Arizona

4.7
étoiles
171 évaluations
51 avis

À propos du cours

In this course you will learn how to design lesson plans around the needs of your ELL students and their language level through the analysis of content language and cognitive demands. You will learn how to align language objectives to the adopted standards of your school and content area.  You will learn how to modify existing course materials as well as develop graphic organizers and languages frames to support ELLs’ access to content.  Analysis of second language acquisition theories will be applied to lesson planning. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: * Conceptualize theories of second language acquisition as they apply to the planning of lessons through annotation * Assess the linguistic needs of your students using BICS and CALP * Identify content specific vocabulary, grammatical structures, and language functions necessary for a student to succeed in your classroom * Write language learning outcomes that align to your student’s linguistic and cognitive ability and your school’s adopted standards * Adapt a lesson plan that accomplishes the learning outcomes outlined in the lesson objectives * Modify materials to support ELLs’ access to content * Use a wide variety of graphic organizer templates and language frames to support ELLs’ access to content * Develop activity types appropriate to the cognitive and linguistic abilities of ELLs * Incorporate community and culture into lesson planning...

Meilleurs avis

DN
11 mai 2018

This course was excellent professional development. As a Science teacher, it helped me understand how I can incorporate English language instruction into my lesson plans.

VC
8 sept. 2020

This material was so good, I Learned so much from this course, i loved the videos, the interviews, and all the examples in this videos. Thank you so much.

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 50 Avis pour Lesson Planning with the ELL in Mind

par Anari E D

14 août 2016

Highly recommended. I really enjoy this course

par Sóstenes F d S

23 févr. 2016

oh my God this course it is verry good!

par Rafael M C D

3 déc. 2015

Marvellous course! Highly recommended!

par Yingjie Y

11 déc. 2015

Very clear presentation by Ellen

par Abdelhak E O

22 nov. 2019

very good, highly recommended

par Tran V

6 janv. 2016

This is an excellent course!

par Evgeniya L

7 janv. 2016

really worth studing

par Susan D

4 déc. 2015

Fantastic Course!

par Tetiana

5 mai 2016

Very useful!

par lissette G

2 mars 2020

I LOVE IT!

par pilar

10 mai 2016

excellent!

par Andrés F A L

2 déc. 2020

Excellent

par Veda M

8 mars 2016

Fantastic

par Zakaria G

3 avr. 2018

super

par Gayathri g

31 oct. 2020

good

par Christopher M

15 juin 2017

Very interesting. The lecturers did a good job making the course engaging with review exercises after every one or two video clips. The clips are short enough that you don't fall asleep and the resources for additional reading are relevant . I like the practical tips on how to adapt a text and how to scaffold to make a task more achievable for learners. The bit sized chunks with regular reviews means you can take a few days off and come back to the course when you have free time. My only gripe is the MCQ tests. Some of the questions are ambiguous and it would be helpful if we could have the model answers with explanations so that we could learn from our mistakes. After 3 failed attempts you can't retake the test for 7 or so hours. It's been the toughest MOOC I've done so far but I managed to get through it.

par Vanessa R

2 juil. 2020

This is a great course, but I would've liked to have seen discussion prompts. Also, the optional assignment should be a required assignment; no one's ever reviewed mine, while I haven't been able to review anyone else's since nobody's posting. It's this experience that makes me think students taking this class are just in it for the certificate, not any actual learning; for me, it's all about learning, but, with learning, one needs feedback. As a result, I feel less prepared if I ever do get the chance to teach.

par Mohammed O M

27 févr. 2018

I have learnt so much how to help my ELL students in class and outside class . Thank you Arizona University, Thank you Coursera

Mohammed

par omnia m

2 janv. 2016

It was an amazing course but the language was very difficult

par Skeater F

14 août 2017

Great benefit to all teachers teaching English!

par Lucia T

4 mai 2018

Excellent course, loved the

par Bernadette W

15 déc. 2020

I find this course and its modules are difficlut for me to process. It is mind bubbling that I need to analyse the situation before creating a lesson planning. I do hope it will be easy in the future with practice.

par Sharifa D

29 juil. 2020

Great review of important language theories and suggestions for adaptations and scaffolding. The suggestions for planning seemed unrealistic.

par Sirarpi

21 sept. 2016

I was really interested in this course and I think the information is useful. But I find it boring, it didn't get my attention.

par Dr M U T

16 oct. 2015

Not worth it