Chevron Left
Retour à Ecosystem Services: a Method for Sustainable Development

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Ecosystem Services: a Method for Sustainable Development par Université de Genève

4.7
étoiles
420 évaluations
153 avis

À propos du cours

Ecosystem services are a way of thinking about – and evaluating – the goods and services provided by nature that contribute to the well-being of humans. This MOOC will cover scientific (technical), economic, and socio-political dimensions of the concept through a mix of theory, case-studies, interviews with specialists and a serious-game. By the end of this course, our aim is to enable you to: • define the concept of ecosystem services, its principles and limitations • understand the key services associated with any ressource (e.g., fresh water) through readings and case-studies • appreciate the advantages and potential risks of monetising ecosystem services • appreciate the social dimensions (power issues, cultural biases) embedded within any method • integrate tactical advice on mainstreaming this approach into policy and standard government practices • Optional: learn how to map ecosystem services with GIS tools The session that runs May 29th- July 10th will be actively monitored by the instructors, and learners will have the opportunity to ask questions. This course was developed by instructors from the University of Geneva with the help of numerous researchers and input from the Geneva Water Hub and the Natural Capital Project. The course was financed by the University of Geneva, the Global Programme Water Initiatives of the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC), and the Luc Hoffmann Institute. This MOOC is supported by the Geneva Water Hub and the University of Geneva along with the MOOC in « Water Resources Management and Policy » (www.coursera.org/learn/water-management) and the one in « International Water Law » (www.coursera.org/learn/droit-eau). We look forward to you joining us!...

Meilleurs avis

DS
6 sept. 2017

Great course. Awesome introduction to Ecosystem Services. Well-balanced portrayal of the many tensions and difficulties in the field. Also a great exposure to MANY experts and many diverse opinions.

CT
24 oct. 2018

An interesting course on understanding several ecosystem services more in-depth, as well as the ways these are quantified. I personally enjoyed also the critical perspectives at the concept

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 153 Avis pour Ecosystem Services: a Method for Sustainable Development

par Urs B

1 juil. 2017

Very interesting and inspiring course. Excellent teaching material and very motivated presenters. Thank you a lot!!!

par Elena F

8 juin 2020

Great course. Well crafted and executed. Presents Ecosystem Services and explores a variety of viewpoints about it.

par Elena T

26 mai 2020

I really appreciate the fact that the instructors guide the learners through a constructive critic of the concept.

par Ashutosh K P

6 oct. 2019

Provides concepts, methods and implications of using ecosystem services as a method of Sustainable development.

par Sean B

5 avr. 2020

Very informative. I learned a great deal about the pros and cons of the Ecosystem Services accounting.

par Jonathan Z

1 mai 2018

This was an amazing course and ahead of our time with helpful content for this and future generation !

par Wei-Harng L

29 août 2017

Excellent course with lots of new ideas / concepts being imparted. Truly Swiss made quality. Love it.

par Salma A ( A D U C

2 août 2018

It is very helpful and promising week for conducting a real research from regional to local scale.

par parvin m

23 juin 2020

the course of ecosystem services was so excellent and I receive information about that. Thank you

par Alexander W

24 nov. 2020

Great course as introduction to biodiversity and ecosystem services with many practical examples

par Diana P

4 janv. 2018

un curso muy completo con teoría, entrevistas y casos prácticos, las lecturas son muy buenas y

par vijaydilipraj

25 juin 2017

EXCELLENT COURSE MODULES WHICH IS EXPLAINED IN A COMMON MAN'S EASY TO UNDERSTAND LANGUAGE. !!

par José G G G

9 mai 2020

Congratulations!!! It was a very good MOOC! I enjoyed and learned a lot, thanks for all!

par Ed K

4 août 2020

Excellent course. I particularly enjoyed the case studies and roundtable discussions.

par Pablo N T T

27 sept. 2019

Gran calidad de información y una continua invitación a alternativas de desarrollo

par Deepak P

20 sept. 2019

Took almost six months to complete but it was exciting and knowledgeous journey.

par Phoukhong P

3 janv. 2019

Not so many people in this course for the evaluation of peer review assignments.

par Udai R G

20 oct. 2019

Excellent course content and format. Very good course instructor and teachers.

par Soumya S

29 sept. 2019

Very interesting , and i have learned a lot of things , thank you coursera

par Reham Z

28 mai 2020

the course was useful I learned a lot about biodiversity and its conditions

par Duisengalyiev A R

15 janv. 2021

A very good and useful cours! I`m so glad to succesfully finish the cours!

par Mark S

30 juil. 2017

Excellent course that serves as an excellent primer on Ecosystem Services.

par Diego A G C

27 juin 2019

thanks for the information, !!!1 and the new ideas for another projects

par Anupama C

17 juin 2019

It is an intense course, but with a very satisfactory learning outcome.

par Matt M

26 nov. 2020

I think it covered the topic is thorough detail and at the right pace.