Chevron Left
Retour à Ecosystem Services: a Method for Sustainable Development

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Ecosystem Services: a Method for Sustainable Development par Université de Genève

4.7
étoiles
420 évaluations
153 avis

À propos du cours

Ecosystem services are a way of thinking about – and evaluating – the goods and services provided by nature that contribute to the well-being of humans. This MOOC will cover scientific (technical), economic, and socio-political dimensions of the concept through a mix of theory, case-studies, interviews with specialists and a serious-game. By the end of this course, our aim is to enable you to: • define the concept of ecosystem services, its principles and limitations • understand the key services associated with any ressource (e.g., fresh water) through readings and case-studies • appreciate the advantages and potential risks of monetising ecosystem services • appreciate the social dimensions (power issues, cultural biases) embedded within any method • integrate tactical advice on mainstreaming this approach into policy and standard government practices • Optional: learn how to map ecosystem services with GIS tools The session that runs May 29th- July 10th will be actively monitored by the instructors, and learners will have the opportunity to ask questions. This course was developed by instructors from the University of Geneva with the help of numerous researchers and input from the Geneva Water Hub and the Natural Capital Project. The course was financed by the University of Geneva, the Global Programme Water Initiatives of the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC), and the Luc Hoffmann Institute. This MOOC is supported by the Geneva Water Hub and the University of Geneva along with the MOOC in « Water Resources Management and Policy » (www.coursera.org/learn/water-management) and the one in « International Water Law » (www.coursera.org/learn/droit-eau). We look forward to you joining us!...

Meilleurs avis

DS
6 sept. 2017

Great course. Awesome introduction to Ecosystem Services. Well-balanced portrayal of the many tensions and difficulties in the field. Also a great exposure to MANY experts and many diverse opinions.

C
4 juin 2017

I found this course very exciting and informative!! I learned a great deal about valuing ecosystem services and its complex challenges. I will highly suggest this course to fellow learners!

Filtrer par :

126 - 150 sur 153 Avis pour Ecosystem Services: a Method for Sustainable Development

par Flt L G R

28 juil. 2020

THANKS...

par emerilson g e

21 juil. 2017

excelent

par ANKESHWOR K M

11 juin 2020

good

par Tomáš Š

15 mai 2020

TOP

par Trevor R T

23 oct. 2017

Great introductory course to Ecosystem Services. I have two critiques, the first is that the estimated times for completing each assignment and video are not very accurate. Although the videos have are obviously a specific time length, the actual time to complete each module is longer than just the total time of all the videos and 10 minute for each assignment. Secondly, there are a lot of additional resources presented (articles and reports), which is great to add to my bibliographic library abou ES! However, there are soo many additional resources offered, yet there is only one required reading assignment for this course. I think that there should be a couple more required key readings that are selected and tested upon.

par David D

7 oct. 2017

It's hard for me personally to rate this course as I do not have a real need to dive into the the details. I was looking for an overall perspective and what exactly this meant. Therefore I am satisfied even if I do not feel the need to complete the case study, etc.

The course was professionally presented with a wealth of experts. It still remains to be seen if this approach will make such a positive impact to promote more positive sustainable development but the protocols and methodology look well thought out and I understand many initiatives have worked out successfully, so bravo!

par Alex N

24 mai 2020

The material is good and well rounded. Some of the questions and material are a little unclear, perhaps because of translation errors. The material is interactive and the peer-reviewed writing prompts are a good idea. I didn't have any problem getting assignments reviewed. I would have liked more technical details about ecosystem services methods rather than the discussion on whether ecosystems services are a good idea/ are ethical/ are useful for conservation (I do appreciate that this is included I just feel it monopolized the course a little).

par Natàlia B P

3 juin 2020

Very interesting and I liked it a lot, particularly the different points of view of each of the presenters, lecturers and guests. This allows the student to understand the strengths and weaknesses of the method. However, I maybe missed a more practical module, one to actually learn how would an assessment come to be (for example, like the extra-module 6, but actually with sequences and support, because I think it's not very useful as it is - well, at least for me). But great course overall.

par Nina B

27 déc. 2020

I really enjoyed the course! I thought it was very interesting, well-delivered, and a good mix of video's, tests, essays, etc. If anything, there could have been some more texts to read and sometimes I could not fill in the answers to the questions asked during the video's (which I loved by the way; there could even be more!).

par Claire B

28 août 2017

I have enjoyed the class very much. It is a very good introduction to Ecosystem Services. This is not an easy topic, but this is well-done, well balanced, and brings many various different views, therefore including objectivity on the matter. I appreciate this greatly!

par María J H M

7 août 2020

Its a very good course, I learned a lot. I would emphasize in the connectivity between lessons, sometimes I was bored or distracted due to long interviews and not enough clarity about key concepts. Anyway, great professors and content.

par Wouter V

10 janv. 2021

Interesting perspective and good reading materials. I missed some reference to other well known institutions like the Ellen MacArthur Foundation and well known authors with related ideas, but all in all quite relevant.

par Shefali C

31 mars 2020

This course does not only engage the students to understand importance of ecosystem services and different valuation techniques but also have provided great knowledge about the challenges and opportunities .

par Pallabi C

29 juin 2020

I could not complete the project on ecosystem services assessment of module 6 for reasons unknown. Otherwise the course is very good and it gave me deeper understanding of the concept.

par Filipe B d S

30 juin 2018

Is a very good course, but is not easy to understand immediatly, is necessary to dedicate and comprehend very well to get a great development.

par Noam J

5 juil. 2018

A brief and nuanced introduction to Ecosystem Services. Very well moderated and expert speakers. Also the cases and resources are useful.

par Saleh M A

18 oct. 2020

Interactive and very convenient quiz feedback. Too many instructors, however, would sometimes a bit hard to concentrate.

par Antoni R M

17 mars 2017

Really interesting and useful course to obtain great insights of the Ecosystem Services approach.

par Kajal Y

4 août 2020

Very nicely explain about all points and give lots of knowledge.

par Manisha K

3 juin 2020

Great course to learn the trade offs in sustainable development

par Tanja W

13 avr. 2020

Very complex for understanding principles but great challenge.

par Sondos A C

9 mai 2018

Great!!

par DR. N K

23 oct. 2020

good

par Erik S

5 mai 2017

An interesting course to learn about the emergence, context, beliefs, methods, experiences and risks of the economic approach to ecological functions. It is well done, with a lot of engagement by the teaching staff, especially Dr. Schlaepfer. Sometimes a little bit to talkative, sometimes a little bit to partial or ideological, sometimes missing of forgetting that there exist other proved integrative approaches to the (e)valuation of ecologic functions – like the verbal argumentative approach in Germany’s landscape planning and EIA - and that most of the nature conservation we can observe today – from the 19th Century on - was achieved by other than economic or monetary reasoning. I would like to suggest: (first) including a better substantiation of the ecological foundations of the approach considering that the implicit assumption of nature as “capital” offering “services” has a really weak conceptual base; (second) to profound on the issue of our limited capacity to discount the future where I see an interesting option to apply economic thinking to nature conservation; and (third) to include a more modern approach to decision making in political institutions. Since the 1970’s we know in policy analysis pretty well that decision making is conditioned by consensus-conflict-processes and that information processing - even sophisticated one as proposed in the course - is considered in decision making only if it fits to the results of consensus-conflict processes. Kind regards and thanks very much.

par jon l

23 sept. 2017

As a relatively new field, much is still to define and discover. I think the course could have been more interesting if combined with less theory and more discussion on application.