Chevron Left
Retour à Ecosystem Services: a Method for Sustainable Development

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Ecosystem Services: a Method for Sustainable Development par Université de Genève

4.7
étoiles
253 évaluations
96 avis

À propos du cours

Ecosystem services are a way of thinking about – and evaluating – the goods and services provided by nature that contribute to the well-being of humans. This MOOC will cover scientific (technical), economic, and socio-political dimensions of the concept through a mix of theory, case-studies, interviews with specialists and a serious-game. By the end of this course, our aim is to enable you to: • define the concept of ecosystem services, its principles and limitations • understand the key services associated with any ressource (e.g., fresh water) through readings and case-studies • appreciate the advantages and potential risks of monetising ecosystem services • appreciate the social dimensions (power issues, cultural biases) embedded within any method • integrate tactical advice on mainstreaming this approach into policy and standard government practices • Optional: learn how to map ecosystem services with GIS tools The session that runs May 29th- July 10th will be actively monitored by the instructors, and learners will have the opportunity to ask questions. This course was developed by instructors from the University of Geneva with the help of numerous researchers and input from the Geneva Water Hub and the Natural Capital Project. The course was financed by the University of Geneva, the Global Programme Water Initiatives of the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC), and the Luc Hoffmann Institute. This MOOC is supported by the Geneva Water Hub and the University of Geneva along with the MOOC in « Water Resources Management and Policy » (www.coursera.org/learn/water-management) and the one in « International Water Law » (www.coursera.org/learn/droit-eau). We look forward to you joining us!...

Meilleurs avis

DS

Sep 07, 2017

Great course. Awesome introduction to Ecosystem Services. Well-balanced portrayal of the many tensions and difficulties in the field. Also a great exposure to MANY experts and many diverse opinions.

CT

Oct 25, 2018

An interesting course on understanding several ecosystem services more in-depth, as well as the ways these are quantified. I personally enjoyed also the critical perspectives at the concept

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 97 Avis pour Ecosystem Services: a Method for Sustainable Development

par Edward D

Jun 04, 2017

The course is very detailed and yet remains accessible. I partiularlyThe tests are slightly redundant (often you are asked to given your opinion) but I don't place too much importance as the certificate, it's more the chance to acquire new knowledge.

par Sushma S

Dec 21, 2017

Great instructors, guest speakers, diversity of topics, well structured format and great supplemental course materials make this course one of the most relevant and interesting classes I ever have taken. Thank you for offering this course.

par Hanna M

May 11, 2020

Really enjoyed the class. It presented views from a lot of different perspective which is so important when discussing such a new and complicated concept. Assignment 2 was kind of vague though, I could have used further instruction.

par Matheus F S

Mar 27, 2020

I am a forest engineering student and this course is being of great value in development, technology, ethics. It is interesting to see how there are some public policies in the interest of ecosystem services around the world.

par mathew r

Nov 04, 2019

Great course! The professional quality of this MOOC makes it easy to follow. The references provided are essential to further the understanding of the Ecosystem Services approach. The lecturers are clear and knowledgable.

par Shravani

Feb 14, 2020

Dear Teachers,

This was a very well structured and simplified course and I really appreciate the learnings received in the same. I hope you do more courses like this getting into further details.

Thank you,

Regards

Shravani

par Sophie d L R K

Mar 29, 2020

I discovered this topic and I found the different views on it very interesting . This course is in my opinion a gateway to a more thorough reflexion on how we could collectively progress on ecosystem services valuation.

par Andre H

Nov 27, 2017

What I really enjoy about this course is that there are so many different speakers from different sectors. That makes it interesting because it makes you aware of these different approaches of ecosystems services.

par Mahmud H T

Oct 03, 2017

Ecosystem services is one of most suppressed issue in the field of environment. From this course i have learned the importance, calculation and maximizing the ES. Also learned some new topics in the field of ES.

par Diego S

Sep 07, 2017

Great course. Awesome introduction to Ecosystem Services. Well-balanced portrayal of the many tensions and difficulties in the field. Also a great exposure to MANY experts and many diverse opinions.

par Giovanni A B F

May 18, 2020

It's well structured course, made by top professionals in the field. It gives a nice overhall of the Ecosystem service approach and a good base for further studing. I recomend this course .

par Christian T

Oct 25, 2018

An interesting course on understanding several ecosystem services more in-depth, as well as the ways these are quantified. I personally enjoyed also the critical perspectives at the concept

par Livia S

Apr 14, 2020

Very useful and interesting course. Concepts and case studies are explained very clearly and there is plenty of suggested materials to further deepen your knowledge! Highly recommended!

par Héctor F G F

Jul 05, 2017

Amazing course. I learnt important concepts that definitely are going to help me to improve my academic skills. Not only the content but also teachers make this course enjoyable.

par Shubham S

Jul 13, 2019

Goes into adequate depth both for someone who is new to the concept as well as for someone who has a fairly well established background of Environmental and Spatial Planning.

par Jewel L

Jan 30, 2018

Excellent course that covers the important points of the ecosystem services approach and how it may be influencing decisions at multiple levels of government and practice.

par Marina B

May 18, 2020

Very nice course! With a very complete and critical view of ecosystem services approach and passionate lecturers.

I really enjoyed doing it, thank you for your efforts!

par HAMZA E G

Feb 24, 2020

Very good course, for all those who want to acquire a solid knowledge in sustainable development and know more about the ecosystem services until now taken for grant

par Livia M M

Jul 06, 2017

Straight to the point, rich in debates and discussions which stimulate critical thinking! Thank you for setting up this relevant, interesting and excellent course.

par Mauricio J M P

May 11, 2020

I have worked on this field of environmental economic valuation and this course is great, well structure and demand the necessary skills, totally recommended

par Janos C

Sep 25, 2017

I enjoyed this course and found it highly informative. Very much appreciated the well balanced and critical perspectives and insightful practical examples.

par RANJEET K

Dec 22, 2018

A course change my outlook towards biodiversity conservation and paved way to explore innovative means for better decision making in environmental policies

par Lisa A

Jan 08, 2020

The concepts introduced in this course will be extremely useful in my work when trying to communicate the value of ecosystem services to decision-makers.

par Joshua M

Apr 28, 2020

Very well put together course providing helpful instruction on the wide variety of considerations and skills within ecosystems analysis and reporting.

par Mariana R O

May 13, 2020

Excelente curso, muy buenos docentes. Vale la pena hacerlo y poner en práctica todo el conocimiento y habilidades adquiridas.