Chevron Left
Retour à Database Management Essentials

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Database Management Essentials par University of Colorado System

4.6
1,743 notes
430 avis

À propos du cours

Database Management Essentials provides the foundation you need for a career in database development, data warehousing, or business intelligence, as well as for the entire Data Warehousing for Business Intelligence specialization. In this course, you will create relational databases, write SQL statements to extract information to satisfy business reporting requests, create entity relationship diagrams (ERDs) to design databases, and analyze table designs for excessive redundancy. As you develop these skills, you will use either Oracle or MySQL to execute SQL statements and a database diagramming tool such as the ER Assistant or Visual Paradigm to create ERDs. We’ve designed this course to ensure a common foundation for specialization learners. Everyone taking the course can jump right in with writing SQL statements in Oracle or MySQL....

Meilleurs avis

LL

Nov 15, 2016

Excellent course content, very well presented, great slide decks.\n\n(When I hear "DB Management" I think of tablespaces and indexes. The course should be named "Data Modelling Essentials" instead. )

DD

Oct 21, 2016

Excellent introduction to DB Management, I learned everything that I wanted to learn from it. I highly recommend it and actually I am already enrolled to the next course of the specialization.

Filtrer par :

351 - 375 sur 415 Examens pour Database Management Essentials

par solasa

Nov 23, 2015

if you dont have knowledge of database at all, then its little hard to understand concepts.

but the videos are insightful and helpful..we need to work more and more.

Normalisation is little difficult to understand here...my personal comment

par D'arcy M

Jan 27, 2018

Some of the assignments are very tricky in how they are worded which leads to simple mistakes. I also wish the examples would go through each of the type of problems. I learn best through reading examples rather than the theory so when I don't get to see a problem broken down I find it very hard to learn.

par Devyani G

Jun 04, 2016

Thanks for a great course

par Heliodoro S A S

Feb 04, 2016

Very useful information, and the explanation is really easy to understand

par Faizan R

Nov 20, 2016

good learning

par David L

Oct 31, 2015

Very comprehensive course on introduction to database. This is an advanced course so you should have some experience with DBs before taking it. The lecturer, Mr. Mannino, delivers a dry, straightforward teaching style. There are plenty of materials but unfortunately, there is little interaction in the forums from the teacher himself.

par Joohi G

Aug 01, 2017

Excellent

par Jordan G

Jun 02, 2016

Good course for broad end-to-end discussion of database design and management. Lectures are decent, assignments and practice problems are pretty helpful. Class takes 3-4 hours/week on average, though it varies by week. Would have like to see more advanced discussion for some of the easier topics/shorter weeks.

par yogesh s

Oct 28, 2016

Great Course

par Luis D

Feb 07, 2016

Fair enough. Good material and content for someone new or that needs to remember basic concepts about databases. Not needed if the main focus is DWH and experience with DB exists

par Muhammad S K

Jun 26, 2016

Good Course with good learning, but at some places it becomes extremely boring which drifts away the excitement and commitment towards the course.

par Shwetank K

Apr 23, 2018

The course is well paced and provides a good understanding of basics of database design.

par Rochelle H

Jun 04, 2017

I'm not sure peer grading is the most effective way to evaluate since peers can be just as lost as I am.

par Aidha B

Jan 12, 2016

The course was very well presented and was easy to follow. my only problem is that I struggled a little and as much as I was trying to follow and read the recommended reading material, I found that there was not enough time due to the volume of assignments per week. Maybe if the assignments were reduced or we have them every 2 weeks?!

par Michael J M

Jun 20, 2018

It is good - generally- and long at a 7 weeks giving a good grounding in the subject matter.I really struggled to understand some of the lectures in the last week as the oral description often seemed not to match the material being displayed on the screen (seemingly what was being described was a more extensive version of the table being discussed I eventually concluded).

par Jonathan S

Oct 25, 2017

Good course and foundation for theory

par Foad M

Jun 06, 2016

it is really good course. but the lecturer should speak slower and more focus on the important issues.

Thanks overall is a good course.

par Vinay J

Mar 27, 2017

best course for a database beginner.

par RONIELSON L

May 10, 2018

Content: The course content provided sufficient technical database management information, practice and exposure for novice database managers and/or for those learning the introductory aspect of database management.

Approach: The course systematically and effectively employed in-video quizzes and peer-graded submissions and reviews to enhance and further retain the impact of each lesson provided in their modules.

Overall impact: The course fundamentally jumpstarts basic database management principles. To solidly and essentially grasp and enhance one's knowledge of this technical occupation, further continuation of this specialization would be beneficial.

par Aldy S D R

Feb 03, 2018

Really need female lecturer :')

par Domingos J S

Nov 08, 2016

Great course, learned a fair deal in regards to DB from a beginners POV. The only thing that left a sour taste in my mouth is the poor attitude of some students towards each other. The course uses peer-reviews and sadly some students take joy in poorly grading others whilst providing feedback along the lines of 'Great work!'.

If there was the possibility to actually report these users instead of having to resubmit your work and pray the next set of peers have some decency, I'd happily change my review to a 5 star.

par Kirsteen T

Mar 15, 2017

Comprehensive and good pacing for content.

par Shivam S

Jun 09, 2017

Course Is Good One must take this course in order to get background knowledge of DBMS essentials basic query formation and ER Diagrams ER Diagrams is one that must be carefully study.

par Joel K

Nov 04, 2016

Course moves very quickly, but material covered was good. Some complaints that the peer-graded assignments need an appeal process.

par Ran K

Apr 27, 2019

Intersting introductory course, recommended for people that wants to know databases better