Chevron Left
Retour à Database Management Essentials

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Database Management Essentials par University of Colorado System

4.6
1,692 notes
414 avis

À propos du cours

Database Management Essentials provides the foundation you need for a career in database development, data warehousing, or business intelligence, as well as for the entire Data Warehousing for Business Intelligence specialization. In this course, you will create relational databases, write SQL statements to extract information to satisfy business reporting requests, create entity relationship diagrams (ERDs) to design databases, and analyze table designs for excessive redundancy. As you develop these skills, you will use either Oracle or MySQL to execute SQL statements and a database diagramming tool such as the ER Assistant or Visual Paradigm to create ERDs. We’ve designed this course to ensure a common foundation for specialization learners. Everyone taking the course can jump right in with writing SQL statements in Oracle or MySQL....

Meilleurs avis

LL

Nov 15, 2016

Excellent course content, very well presented, great slide decks.\n\n(When I hear "DB Management" I think of tablespaces and indexes. The course should be named "Data Modelling Essentials" instead. )

DD

Oct 21, 2016

Excellent introduction to DB Management, I learned everything that I wanted to learn from it. I highly recommend it and actually I am already enrolled to the next course of the specialization.

Filtrer par :

351 - 375 sur 401 Examens pour Database Management Essentials

par Muhammad S K

Jun 26, 2016

Good Course with good learning, but at some places it becomes extremely boring which drifts away the excitement and commitment towards the course.

par Shwetank K

Apr 23, 2018

The course is well paced and provides a good understanding of basics of database design.

par Rochelle H

Jun 04, 2017

I'm not sure peer grading is the most effective way to evaluate since peers can be just as lost as I am.

par Aidha B

Jan 12, 2016

The course was very well presented and was easy to follow. my only problem is that I struggled a little and as much as I was trying to follow and read the recommended reading material, I found that there was not enough time due to the volume of assignments per week. Maybe if the assignments were reduced or we have them every 2 weeks?!

par Michael J M

Jun 20, 2018

It is good - generally- and long at a 7 weeks giving a good grounding in the subject matter.I really struggled to understand some of the lectures in the last week as the oral description often seemed not to match the material being displayed on the screen (seemingly what was being described was a more extensive version of the table being discussed I eventually concluded).

par Jonathan S

Oct 25, 2017

Good course and foundation for theory

par Foad M

Jun 06, 2016

it is really good course. but the lecturer should speak slower and more focus on the important issues.

Thanks overall is a good course.

par Vinay J

Mar 27, 2017

best course for a database beginner.

par RONIELSON L

May 10, 2018

Content: The course content provided sufficient technical database management information, practice and exposure for novice database managers and/or for those learning the introductory aspect of database management.

Approach: The course systematically and effectively employed in-video quizzes and peer-graded submissions and reviews to enhance and further retain the impact of each lesson provided in their modules.

Overall impact: The course fundamentally jumpstarts basic database management principles. To solidly and essentially grasp and enhance one's knowledge of this technical occupation, further continuation of this specialization would be beneficial.

par Aldy S D R

Feb 03, 2018

Really need female lecturer :')

par Domingos J S

Nov 08, 2016

Great course, learned a fair deal in regards to DB from a beginners POV. The only thing that left a sour taste in my mouth is the poor attitude of some students towards each other. The course uses peer-reviews and sadly some students take joy in poorly grading others whilst providing feedback along the lines of 'Great work!'.

If there was the possibility to actually report these users instead of having to resubmit your work and pray the next set of peers have some decency, I'd happily change my review to a 5 star.

par Kirsteen T

Mar 15, 2017

Comprehensive and good pacing for content.

par Shivam S

Jun 09, 2017

Course Is Good One must take this course in order to get background knowledge of DBMS essentials basic query formation and ER Diagrams ER Diagrams is one that must be carefully study.

par Joel K

Nov 04, 2016

Course moves very quickly, but material covered was good. Some complaints that the peer-graded assignments need an appeal process.

par Ran K

Apr 27, 2019

Intersting introductory course, recommended for people that wants to know databases better

par Badrinath

Aug 06, 2019

the data modelling part did not cover advanced topics on super type and sub type concepts. also not a single class on design patterns. wish they had a practical case study assignment.

par Jason C

Jun 06, 2019

Lessons started out very strong, the middle was a little muddled, but ended strong.

par adrian a

Aug 25, 2019

Review process taking a longer time, plus assignment solutions have few errors

par Jeff S

Jul 10, 2019

Should have been a bit more challenging.

par Mauro G

Jul 01, 2019

Theory about BCNF a bit poor, but in any way it's a very good

introductory course

par Esteban R

Sep 02, 2019

Muy buen curso, los conocimientos quedan muy claros después de realizar los assignments

par Basem E

Oct 13, 2019

Valuable Course Content, Good Instructor

par Meena V

Dec 14, 2018

Very time consuming.

par Brian M

May 04, 2016

The specialization is great, and the course breadth and topics described in each is equally good. For this course, however, I felt like I could have covered what was taught by myself with a book, i.e. I didn't feel like it was class room level engaging with the explanations.

I realized this is a one way MOOC, but I've taken courses off and on since they came out, and some others felt more interactive. This was more of here's a slide, I will read what's on the slide and explain some topics. The assignments were not bad, but definitely took more time than stated (just keep that in mind). The other thing that would help immensely is having TAs in the course. It's possible that they may get some later, but I've felt I learned/got feedback a lot more in courses with TAs.

That said, this is an excellent introduction to databases course, and there's not many of them out there. If I had to go it again, I would, and I also paid for getting the cert - if anything for career advancement and having it on your LinkedIn profile as a starter DB course.

par Matko V

Jul 10, 2016

Nice introductory course for database management. Assignments are challenging enough for beginners like me but I like that. If I'm already 'investing' my time into something I expect to learn something in return. This course gave me that kind of reciprocity. Course would benefit from radically different approach to video-lessons. Reading from power-point slides which are written in the same manner, have identical structure tends to become tedious after a while. Professor seems nice and knowledgeable but a bit more relaxed and/or engaging approach would be beneficial to many. Oh, and peer-reviewed grading, wherever possible, should be replaced with an auto-grader. That's not a critique, though. Not quite sure if it's even possible with this kind of material.