Chevron Left
Retour à Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors par Université de Pennsylvanie

4.8
étoiles
562 évaluations
154 avis

À propos du cours

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

Meilleurs avis

LG

Apr 26, 2019

Excellent course, Pr. Sauvé-Meyer keeps the material very engaging, and makes it very clear and easily accessible. Knowing how difficult the original texts are sometimes, this is very valuable.

JB

Feb 02, 2019

This is an excellent course! The professor is well-timed and the resource material well-selected. In-depth treatment of Aristotle, the Stoics, and the Epicureans. Highly recommended.

Filtrer par :

101 - 125 sur 149 Avis pour Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors

par Patrick W

Jul 09, 2017

Extremely interesting! Thank you!

par Prashant S S

May 03, 2019

Very nice and informative course

par 김하희

Aug 11, 2018

I loved this lecture. Thank you!

par JOHN Q

Mar 17, 2016

Great course. Thanks so much.

par Kacper G

Feb 18, 2020

Clara Non Sunt Interpretanda

par Joanna C

Oct 18, 2017

Interesting and informative.

par Charlotta S R

Sep 03, 2016

great course ( part e of 2)

par John V T

Jun 03, 2017

Very Exceptional Course

par Zhou X

May 25, 2016

Short and sweat course!

par William

Jun 23, 2016

An enlightening course

par ELISABETH S

May 08, 2016

more than great!!!

par Stephen W

Mar 29, 2017

Wonderful course!

par Wes D S

Mar 29, 2017

Loved the course!

par Cédric H

Apr 04, 2016

Excellent course.

par Luyao Z

Jan 26, 2017

Great class!

par Paul C

Mar 09, 2017

Superb. En

par Abdulaziz S B

Dec 10, 2019

Excellent

par Kim n y

Feb 28, 2019

v

e

r

y

good

par Jorge G

Jul 02, 2020

Superb!

par 이근영

Jan 31, 2019

Cool

par Rajneesh T

Apr 10, 2020

NA

par 박기현

Jan 31, 2019

g

par Charles E M

Apr 30, 2018

G

par Clare H

Mar 17, 2018

Really good overview. Information is presented in a very clearly and concisely. The pace is good, and the topics are all very interesting.

The only things I didn't like had to do with format issues: I did not find the periodic "quizzes" that interrupt the videos to be helpful. They were more frustrating than anything since they broke up the flow of the videos and didn't add anything to my understanding of the topics. And while the intro sequences to each video are high-quality, it's unnecessary to have 25 seconds dedicated to the into for *each* and *every* video. This was repetitive and frustrating, especially since the volume on the intro sequences was much louder than the rest of the video, meaning I had to either manually skip the into or adjust the volume each time. These are technical details, so I don't want them to reflect poorly on the content of the course, which is excellent. It's more a suggestion to re-edit the course videos at some point.

par Antonia T B

May 18, 2019

The course is nice but it's a pity that the professor didn't start with Aristotle's ethics (which is the coolest part of his philosophy in my opinion). The first part of the course was extremely boring. The parts about Epicurus and Stoicism were very interesting. The final assignments are nor being reviewed. I finished the course and I'm still waiting to get my Certificate. That's very annoying. Also, there are no Mentors replying. That's a pity. Greetings / Antonia