Chevron Left
Retour à Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors par Université de Pennsylvanie

4.8
étoiles
632 évaluations
180 avis

À propos du cours

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

Meilleurs avis

AT
10 janv. 2021

This is an excellent course. The lecturer presents the material very clearly, carefully bringing out what is at stake in the views and arguments of the Greek thinkers and schools she considers.

LG
25 avr. 2019

Excellent course, Pr. Sauvé-Meyer keeps the material very engaging, and makes it very clear and easily accessible. Knowing how difficult the original texts are sometimes, this is very valuable.

Filtrer par :

126 - 150 sur 175 Avis pour Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors

par JOHN Q

17 mars 2016

Great course. Thanks so much.

par Kacper G

18 févr. 2020

Clara Non Sunt Interpretanda

par Joanna C

18 oct. 2017

Interesting and informative.

par Charlotta S R

3 sept. 2016

great course ( part e of 2)

par Tomas

19 juin 2021

Amazing course. Thank you.

par John V T

2 juin 2017

Very Exceptional Course

par Zhou X

25 mai 2016

Short and sweat course!

par William

23 juin 2016

An enlightening course

par ELISABETH S

8 mai 2016

more than great!!!

par Stephen W

29 mars 2017

Wonderful course!

par Wes D S

29 mars 2017

Loved the course!

par Cédric H

4 avr. 2016

Excellent course.

par Luyao Z

26 janv. 2017

Great class!

par Matthew V

17 août 2020

I loved it!

par Paul C

8 mars 2017

Superb. En

par Abdulaziz S B

10 déc. 2019

Excellent

par Kim n y

28 févr. 2019

v

e

r

y

good

par Jorge G

1 juil. 2020

Superb!

par 이근영

31 janv. 2019

Cool

par Rajneesh T

10 avr. 2020

NA

par 박기현

31 janv. 2019

g

par Charles E M

29 avr. 2018

G

par William ( A

4 janv. 2021

Great job organizing and presenting this material. Assuming you are open to hear of possible ways to improve on an already great job, my suggestion would be to expand the Aristotle material a bit and include a discussion of his work developing syllogistic logic. In addition I believe there is an important contrast between Aristotle and Plato it would be worth illuminating-- Plato was all about deductive reasoning, and it was Aristotle, in turning Plato's worldview upside down by declaring that we can trust our senses-- i.e. it is the observable concretes that are the true source of reality and "unrecallable" knowledge. One could argue from this that the genesis of empirical research rests with Aristotle.

par Antonia T B

18 mai 2019

The course is nice but it's a pity that the professor didn't start with Aristotle's ethics (which is the coolest part of his philosophy in my opinion). The first part of the course was extremely boring. The parts about Epicurus and Stoicism were very interesting. The final assignments are nor being reviewed. I finished the course and I'm still waiting to get my Certificate. That's very annoying. Also, there are no Mentors replying. That's a pity. Greetings / Antonia

par Eshana B

30 juin 2019

Not being a prior student of philosophy, or rather arts, I had a very different idea about this discipline. After taking the first week's course, I am pretty much enthusiastic about what is yet to come and look forward to learning more.

The course content seems good for me as an introduction.

Wish it included some more realistic examples from life which we can find witty and can relate to our lives.