Chevron Left
Retour à Algorithmic Toolbox

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Algorithmic Toolbox par Université de Californie à San Diego

4.7
stars
5,675 évaluations
1,187 avis

À propos du cours

The course covers basic algorithmic techniques and ideas for computational problems arising frequently in practical applications: sorting and searching, divide and conquer, greedy algorithms, dynamic programming. We will learn a lot of theory: how to sort data and how it helps for searching; how to break a large problem into pieces and solve them recursively; when it makes sense to proceed greedily; how dynamic programming is used in genomic studies. You will practice solving computational problems, designing new algorithms, and implementing solutions efficiently (so that they run in less than a second). Do you have technical problems? Write to us: coursera@hse.ru...

Meilleurs avis

SG

Jan 20, 2017

I liked the fact that the algorithms are not just the introductory searching and sorting algorithms. The assignments are fairly difficult (I have decent scripting experience), but not impossibly so.

MM

Sep 29, 2017

good course, I like the fact you can use a lot of languages for you programming exercises, the content is really helpful, I would like to have more indications from the grading system to save time.

Filtrer par :

1051 - 1075 sur 1,116 Avis pour Algorithmic Toolbox

par Francisco

Nov 30, 2016

I really had a hard time understanding Dynamic Programming. I recoomend to remove this topic and focus more on solidifying foundations so that students can be more prepared for moving through the whole Algorithm Courses. I never heard of this topic before and the lecturer ommited many steps when explaining the Edit Distance. I was forced to look for other resources like Open Courseware Algorithms course, and this is how could understand what was dynamic programming easily. Hope this helps!

par Alex

Sep 19, 2016

Overall is good course with many exercises, forum is supportive, however mentors/instructors never answered my questions (i guessed they bothered only with the very first session when course was launched) Language is sometimes overly complicated and hard to grasp the main principles of the algorithm (e.g. dynamic programming week 5) I watched youtube to understand same ideas but explained in much simpler way.

par Anirudh K

Oct 05, 2019

The learning curve becomes very steep towards the end of the course. Also sometimes it's difficult to understand what the instructor is speaking and the transcripts aren't very good. The assignments need to have some more problems in the easier category as it's only by doing many problems one gets hold of a concept. Although the difficult problems help , but they tend to be more demotivating

par Dennis L

Jan 17, 2018

The course is good overall but I worry that for the non technically oriented the examples are very terse and could use more visual linking and vocal guidance on what the variables in the examples actually are, and the thinking behind the code presented. There are also a ton of implementation based gotchas depending on the language that a green developer is likely to get hung up on.

par Safin B

Aug 14, 2019

The programming assignments are top-notch. Really tests your algorithmic skills. That being said, I didn't find the instructors explaining the algorithms clearly. They were vague in that aspect. They would just tell what is in the slide and would not make efforts to clarify the tedious parts of the algorithm

par Mohamed A A E

Aug 06, 2017

The content is very good. But I don't understand the material well in weeks 4 and 5. Maybe you need to emphasize a bit on it, and put a little bit extra effort in the slides to make the algorithms more intuitive and more understandable. Also, maybe split the idea behind an algorithm into more than one video.

par Sangil Y

Dec 07, 2018

I like the fact that we get to solve many problems on our own every week but in all the lectures, instructors explain things only vocally and it's also very fast paced. It was really difficult to follow compared with lectures where instructors write on the white board while they are explaining.

par Vivek A

Oct 03, 2016

I had already done "Algorithms: Design and Analysis Part 1", so this course was not as good as that one.

This course had lot of programming questions, which I find very good to have for any course. I just hope next courses of the specialization will be beneficial for my career.

par Akash J

Jun 06, 2017

This is a good course and I really want to thank the instructors for taking the time to create this wonderful course. However as a beginner, I want the week 5 ( Dynamic Programming ) really tough to follow and wish if there could be more resources for Week 5.

par Marwan Y

Aug 29, 2019

a lot of stuff was vague, the videos not enough but the assignment is good and the grading system is average since it leaves you in the middle in the desert and does not tell you where your code breaks like input and expected output to debug with

par Ibrahem A M A

Dec 09, 2016

This course covers important aspects of techniques used to solve popular problems. But it misses to cover introductory points in some modules (i.e: dynamic programming module) as well as the accent of some instructors isn't clear enough.

par Jonathan Z

Jul 15, 2018

Matière intéressante mais trop peu détaillée. Énorme manque d'informations et de notions nécessaire pour la réalisation des exercice. Explications parfois confuses, voire déroutantes. Beaucoup de frustration....

par Stefan M

Mar 31, 2018

Nick Rhodes' video sections are terrible: He stumbles, mumbles, and mis-speaks (words don't match slides). It would be fine for a live lecture, but for something pre-recorded, it's awful.

par Shubham C

Jun 14, 2017

It was a good course...But the gene problem was left to be solved and on top of all please take instructors so can speak british english,It was quite difficult to understand their accent.

par pratik

Jan 29, 2017

1 professor just did not make sense to me. do not just read out the pseudo code but instead try to visually show whats happening step by step with arrows and calculations from scratch

par Sreenuj C M

Jan 03, 2017

The materials covered are not enough to fully explore the topics. Should include much more detailed explanations especially when explaining some of the complex algorithms.

par Max K

Apr 09, 2017

Есть множество недочётов как в субтитрах, так и в самих слайдах. Кто-то употребляет Тета, кто-то О большое, субтитры ужасны, местами перевод совершенно не тот.

par Mick S

Jan 21, 2018

While it is possible to muddle through this course and retain some of it, understanding some higher math and Big O notation is pretty essential.

par Ashish D

Jan 16, 2020

The pseudo-code is not that good to understand quickly. Please can you code in one language say C++? It will be easy to understand that way.

par MASUDUL H Q

Jul 08, 2017

Some of the lectures are poorly explained, you'll need to review those 2-3 times to understand. Other than that, good course for beginners.

par Han, D

Jan 07, 2020

it would be better to change the way to submit assignment. its hard to coding in local and upload file every time to check my code.

par ghumdan

Aug 30, 2019

This course is very useful and widens one's brain. However, I always felt there was something missing in the explanation

par Ali A

Jun 26, 2017

The best thing about this course is the assignments but the course material needs to be discussed in a better way

par Maksat H

Jan 08, 2017

Lectures are very confusing. Instructors should use white boarding to explain codes. Difficult to follow them.

par Kumar N

Oct 29, 2019

Instructor was good but was not able to make us understand the concept easily..Need to be more ellaborative!