Chevron Left
Retour à Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan par Université de Tokyo

4.8
étoiles
599 évaluations
189 avis

À propos du cours

In their ambition to capture “real life,” Japanese painters, poets, novelists and photographers of the nineteenth century collaborated in ways seldom explored by their European contemporaries. This course offers learners the chance to encounter and appreciate behavior, moral standards and some of the material conditions surrounding Japanese artists in the nineteenth century, in order to renew our assumptions about what artistic “realism” is and what it meant. Learners will walk away with a clear understanding of how society and the individual were conceived of and represented in early modern Japan. Unlike contemporary western art forms, which acknowledge their common debt as “sister arts” but remain divided by genre and discourse, Japanese visual and literary culture tended to combine, producing literary texts inspired by visual images, and visual images which would then be inscribed with poems and prose. Noticing and being able to interpret this indivisibility of visual/literary cultures is essential in understanding the social and psychological values embedded within the beauty of Japanese art....

Meilleurs avis

DP
8 oct. 2020

Very interesting where I finished the whole course 2 weeks before the due date because I really enjoyed it. I have been a Japan fanatic since middle school so this course is really my cup of tea

OB
15 août 2021

For me this course has been a first approximation to Japanese culture. I´m glad to be able to recognize the concepts learned here when encountering them, which happens surprisingly often!

Filtrer par :

101 - 125 sur 190 Avis pour Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan

par Itziar B

19 nov. 2020

I really enjoyed and learned, maybe a little short ...

Right now, I want to read a lot of about the themes suggested !!!

Thanks a lot !!!

par Raul R

31 mai 2021

This is a one of a kind splendid course, where you'll be able to see some of the 19th and early 20th century art and culture history.

par William D

29 déc. 2020

This course provided me a perspective on writing and imagery that I had not considered. A welcome addition to my knowledge of Japan!

par Yujin L

2 nov. 2018

the lecturer is knowledgeable and engaging. it greatly enriched my appreciation of japanese arts and culture. i highly recommend it.

par Justyna P

4 janv. 2021

Excellent quality resources (presentations, videos), perfect instruction (the lecturer), and a very, very interesting topic itself.

par Sevde B

28 nov. 2020

It was definitely a great course! I've learned so much from this course and I'm willing to learn more about all of these subjects.

par Marina d L

9 févr. 2021

Very interesting, it is a side of Japanese history that I have never got in touch with as a brazilian. Thank you for the classes!

par Evisa T

10 sept. 2021

S​uper interesting course, the subject is limited, but that doesn't take at all from the amount of information we get. Thank you

par Anuja S

27 janv. 2021

Thoroughly fascinating, well-structured, and detailed. Of great value to anyone interested in Japanese history/literature/art.

par Alice L

2 juil. 2021

​This was such an amazing course and I highly recommend this to people interested in this topic. It was so fascinating!!

par Maria J T P

18 sept. 2020

It was really interesting, I learned a lot about Japan and its ways of expressing true human feelings, I really loved it

par Victor S

21 mars 2021

What an interesting course! A lot of quality content, I'm really happy with the experience and insights provided by it.

par Ozge C

15 oct. 2017

It was a truly enlightening and highly enjoyable course with an amazing lecturer. My gratitude to all who was involved.

par Susan S

27 août 2020

The course was fascinating and well presented. I look forward to other courses by Mr. Robert Campbell. Thank you.

par Javier A P

30 juil. 2019

I really like Japan, and I wanted to learn a little more about its culture, so this course has served me a lot.

par Fanny W G

9 avr. 2019

I love this course. Amazing content provided in very easy to understand lessons! I enjoyed every minute of it!!

par Vira T

10 mai 2018

Gives a deep and detailed image of the period. Helped a lot in my understanding writers of 19th cent in Japan.

par Eniko M

11 nov. 2020

It was a very interesting course on japanese culture - could proceed were quickly and finish it in 2 weeks.

par Priscilla N

29 nov. 2020

I really enjoyed listening to the lectures. The examples shown were uniformly interesting and beautiful.

par Prathit B

26 juin 2021

Very Good Course, I would recommend it to everyone who are looking for a good taste in literature

par Kam L

26 nov. 2020

Excellent review of how words and pictures are integral to 19th century literary culture in Japan.

par Katrin W

22 nov. 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed taking this course, while at the same time learning a lot about the subject.

par Steven T W

16 mars 2021

Great course with very interesting insight into art and literature in nineteenth century Japan.

par Giuliano B

16 janv. 2021

This is a fascinating cultural course that I have learned a lot. I am very grateful. Thank you

par Shohei W

18 mai 2020

Very good overview of relationship between Japanese photography and illustrations and texts