Chevron Left
Retour à Translation in Practice

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Translation in Practice par Université de Nanjing

4.4
32 notes
14 avis

À propos du cours

This course offers you basic but valuable techniques used by a good translator in the translation between English and Chinese. We’ll discuss what is translation, what is good translation, and learn about how to produce good translations. All the examples used in this course are taken from the course instructor's own translations of various genres and topics of writing. These examples are elaborated on to show you how to understand the idea, style and tone of the writer, the historical and cultural context of the writing, as well as the explicit and implied meanings of words, the grammatical structures of sentences, and the logic of sentences and paragraphs in order to achieve faithfulness, expressiveness, and elegance in the translation. After completing this course, you will know what makes a qualified professional translator and acquire the abilities and skills that such a translator needs...

Meilleurs avis

VP

Jun 17, 2019

The lecturer was very knowledgeable and skilful. The course content was very well planned and managed. On the overall, I am very happy to have participated in this course. Thanks!

DD

Feb 10, 2019

Very high quality materials. Easy to understand. Helpful to know Chinese,however.

Filtrer par :

1 - 14 sur 14 Examens pour Translation in Practice

par Kristen S

Feb 18, 2018

This class was extremely informative and very comprehensive. I really gained a lot of practical knowledge about translation techniques that I’m sure I will be able to put into practice in the future. My biggest complaint about this course is that it is listed as a beginners course and requires only 3-5 hours per week of study. This is only true if you are fluent in both English and Chinese and well read with a large vocabulary in both languages. I have been studying Mandarin for over four years and have learned to an intermediate level, yet some weeks I had to spend 30 or more hours per week on assignments. One more area that could be improved are the content of the assignments. Some of them were very hard to understand even in our mother tongue and were taken out of context. A translator would always have the context of what they are translating and would likely have access to the entire work. So, in this regard translation in the real world may actually be easier than this course!

par Deb

Feb 10, 2019

Very high quality materials. Easy to understand. Helpful to know Chinese,however.

par Victor P

Jun 17, 2019

The lecturer was very knowledgeable and skilful. The course content was very well planned and managed. On the overall, I am very happy to have participated in this course. Thanks!

par 崔琳

Sep 17, 2018

我希望能和

par Qianhui

Jul 27, 2019

I really like how the course is structured. Also, it gives a lot of basics of translations. However, I do feel there isn't enough feedback from teacher and peers. I completed 2 weeks' assignment, but barely received feedback, which somewhat discouraged me. Good course for beginners, won't recommend for those who aim to improve the skills.

par A. E H

Jun 25, 2019

Very useful tips for translating. I learnt a lot however, Ii was a shame that the activities were only in Chinese. Thank you! :)

par Arrigo L

Jan 16, 2019

I can't believe that courses like these come free of charge. This is seriously valuable for someone like me - a freelancer who doesn't currently have the opportunity to have academic education. Thank you so much!

par Lorena P

Apr 05, 2018

Great Course!!

par Jerry Y

Apr 02, 2018

I think this online course is very interesting to me. And it open a door for me to learn how to translate.

par Joao F

May 16, 2018

I enjoyed these lectures, plus the teacher, she is so intelligent with a lot of exp.

par Carolina C A

Oct 03, 2019

Although the course is aimed at Chinese translations, the professor manages to bridge that gap by introducing translation techniques that anyone can use.

par Luís A C

Oct 14, 2019

I have learned a lot in this course. Very objective and informative and carefully crafted.

I have only one remark to make: in the sign-up advertisement Coursera should make it clear that the students must have a good knowledge of the Chinese language, and their tasks will be evaluated by their peers, and that they should in turn evaluate them.

par Jane L

Apr 23, 2019

Thanks to those who reviewed my assignments.

Many thanks to the instructor who prepared this wonderful course for us.

par Mel

Jun 27, 2018

In-depth and explained in detail. Could be even better if materials in a more diverse format, e.g. readings, photos, tables, are provided.