Chevron Left
Retour à The Technology of Music Production

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour The Technology of Music Production par Berklee College of Music

4.8
étoiles
516 évaluations
155 avis

À propos du cours

Learn about the music production process—including recording, editing, and mixing—and the tools available to you to create contemporary music on your computer. With the recent introduction of high-quality-low-cost software and hardware, the tools of music production are now available to the masses. Albums are made in bedrooms as well as studios. On the surface this is liberating. Anyone can make an album for the low cost of a couple pieces of gear and a software package. But, if you dig deeper, you will find that it is not so easy. Producing music requires knowledge, dedication, and creativity. Knowledge is where this course comes in. No matter what kind of music you are making, there is a large set of tools that you will need to use. Each lesson of this course will demonstrate a different set of music production tools, loosely following along the music production process of recording, editing, and mixing. We will start with some background on the nature of sound and how we perceive it. We will then examine the components necessary to record audio into a computer, so that you understand the devices that sound must travel through in a music production process. Once recorded, sound must be organized along a timeline, a process known as editing. It allows us to give the impression of perfect performances and create many of the sounds we hear in contemporary music. The contemporary editing tool is the Digital Audio Workstation (DAW), a piece of software that stores and organizes all the assets of a musical project. We will focus on the editing tools that are essential in contemporary music production and that all DAWs provide. After editing, sounds must be combined or mixed together, so we look to the mixing board—a very creative place if you know how to use it. We will explore the basic functionality of both hardware and software mixing boards, including volume, pan, mute, solo, busses, inserts, sends, and submixes. The mixing process, however, includes more tools than the mixing board provides on its own. Sound must also be processed, modified from its recorded state to fit the context of the music. We will look at compression, equalization, and delay, and examine the many audio effects that are offshoots of these devices and how they are used in a musical context. In the end, the music production process relies on your creativity. Creativity is a product of the mind and will stay there, unexpressed, until the right tools are used in the right way to share it with the world. If you have an idea in your head, it will take numerous steps, each with an important tool, to reach your audience. You bring the dedication and creativity, and this course will bring you the knowledge to make that happen....

Meilleurs avis

PV

Jun 26, 2017

WOW, Awesome course Loudon! I'm learning lots of stuff I never knew, very much in depth and it takes me to the source of things I already knew but ignored where they generated from. Love it!

JS

Feb 26, 2019

The absolute perfect course for beginner producers who want to learn the basics and fundamentals of the tech involved in contemporary productions. Highly highly recommend.

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 154 Avis pour The Technology of Music Production

par Amena F

Feb 14, 2018

Super course, very informative, dives deep into lots of techniques and the science behind them to give a full understanding of the concepts - perfect for people starting out and also those with some experience in music production.

par Carolyna L (

Aug 23, 2018

Great course! Fabulous instruction. Taught in such detail and in a way that is easily understood. Thank you for demystifying much of what I thought I'd need a house engineer to assist me with for all time.

Cheers,

Carolyna Lovely

par Steven S

Dec 12, 2017

I was able to learn technical concepts such as filters and compressors and be challenged by very specific quizzes! I liked being able to showcase beats in the class and see how classmates reviewed concepts as well. Nice!

par Jaison C

Feb 19, 2020

Loudin is very easy to follow, he seems naturally conversational so it seems less daunting to approach so much information. There is enough in this one course to get someone off to a great start in making music.

par LeAttol ( E L

Aug 23, 2017

Loudon Stearns at First Impression Seems like a person Rushing You through a course. But In Contrast; He's a very hard Teacher to Please. Which is good because You Learn More. I've Learned a lot. ThankYou

par Pablo S L B

Jun 21, 2017

It´s fantastic. It teaches you a lot of technical stuff that will help you if you´re starting. Loudon also is quite communicative and explains most of the things quite clearly. I really love it.

par Marc

Apr 14, 2017

This is everything I've ever dreamed of

This course is all you need to listen to song mixes and be able to replicate everything you hear in a DAW, if you can listen closely enough

Highly recommend

par Patricia C V

Jun 26, 2017

WOW, Awesome course Loudon! I'm learning lots of stuff I never knew, very much in depth and it takes me to the source of things I already knew but ignored where they generated from. Love it!

par Jesse S

Feb 26, 2019

The absolute perfect course for beginner producers who want to learn the basics and fundamentals of the tech involved in contemporary productions. Highly highly recommend.

par David O

Jul 13, 2017

This was an amazing course. Totally loved the way Loudon delivered it. I will definitely go back and re-do some of the material that was definitely more in-depth.

par Nihan G

Nov 16, 2017

Very intensive and detailed course about technology. You will not find a how to's but you will definitely have a new understanding of sound and the terminology.

par Félix M

Sep 08, 2016

This course is amazing since it teaches you a lot of useful techniques that can be used in the most popular DAWs. It totally changes the way you perceive sound.

par Maria d L L A

May 01, 2017

Overall a great course to be introduce to music production! The teacher is great and it covers a lot of material in a very short time. I totally recommend it!

par Ricardo P O

May 30, 2018

One of the best courses that I have taken. By the end, it gets a little bit complicated about Synthesis of Sound but the knowledge you learn is excellent.

par Kumar G M

Oct 21, 2017

Yup a 5 star course . It teaches you from A2Z I mean from basics to advance . Definitely give it try even if you have experience of 4 yrs .

par Albert M

Jul 12, 2016

Addicted to it. Applies to a wide range (from begginers to advanced users) and the interaction with other students is great in the forums.

par Vasil Z

Nov 03, 2017

The amount and quality of information and learning included in this course is something that no can afford to lose. Very recommended.

par Paul M

May 04, 2017

Excellent course. Lots of information and very fast paced. The instructor is very experienced and knows what he is talking about.

par Wesley I

Feb 26, 2019

Great course, gives all the essential elements on musical production, all concepts, in detail was presented in these 6 weeks

par Дмитрий М

Sep 18, 2017

Thank you Loudon for the company and for the hard work preparing and shooting this course. Hope to see ya in person one day.

par Igor A

Dec 27, 2019

Great course! Even if i already familiar with technology - it was great to re-learn things in structured way. Thank you!

par fradely

Dec 30, 2016

Is incredible. All the info and all the wasted time that I spent on the internet. You got everything in order. LOVE IT

par Juan C E D

Jul 24, 2017

Absolutely fantastic content and interaction, it helped me a lot since I was new to editing and mixing process.

par Nhan L H

Oct 03, 2017

This course is very good and lecturer is very enthusiastic.

I really appreciate this course's value.

Thank you.

par Emanuel V d M S

Jan 23, 2020

Before starting the course, I didn't even know how to use any recording software, but now I learned a lot.