Chevron Left
Retour à The Technology of Music Production

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour The Technology of Music Production par Berklee College of Music

4.8
étoiles
896 évaluations
283 avis

À propos du cours

Learn about the music production process—including recording, editing, and mixing—and the tools available to you to create contemporary music on your computer. With the recent introduction of high-quality-low-cost software and hardware, the tools of music production are now available to the masses. Albums are made in bedrooms as well as studios. On the surface this is liberating. Anyone can make an album for the low cost of a couple pieces of gear and a software package. But, if you dig deeper, you will find that it is not so easy. Producing music requires knowledge, dedication, and creativity. Knowledge is where this course comes in. No matter what kind of music you are making, there is a large set of tools that you will need to use. Each lesson of this course will demonstrate a different set of music production tools, loosely following along the music production process of recording, editing, and mixing. We will start with some background on the nature of sound and how we perceive it. We will then examine the components necessary to record audio into a computer, so that you understand the devices that sound must travel through in a music production process. Once recorded, sound must be organized along a timeline, a process known as editing. It allows us to give the impression of perfect performances and create many of the sounds we hear in contemporary music. The contemporary editing tool is the Digital Audio Workstation (DAW), a piece of software that stores and organizes all the assets of a musical project. We will focus on the editing tools that are essential in contemporary music production and that all DAWs provide. After editing, sounds must be combined or mixed together, so we look to the mixing board—a very creative place if you know how to use it. We will explore the basic functionality of both hardware and software mixing boards, including volume, pan, mute, solo, busses, inserts, sends, and submixes. The mixing process, however, includes more tools than the mixing board provides on its own. Sound must also be processed, modified from its recorded state to fit the context of the music. We will look at compression, equalization, and delay, and examine the many audio effects that are offshoots of these devices and how they are used in a musical context. In the end, the music production process relies on your creativity. Creativity is a product of the mind and will stay there, unexpressed, until the right tools are used in the right way to share it with the world. If you have an idea in your head, it will take numerous steps, each with an important tool, to reach your audience. You bring the dedication and creativity, and this course will bring you the knowledge to make that happen....

Meilleurs avis

JJ
7 févr. 2021

This course gave me a working knowledge of the many parameters of a DAW. I really have a base knowledge to continue my studies and not get frustrated with mental blocks in navigation of the software.

PV
25 juin 2017

WOW, Awesome course Loudon! I'm learning lots of stuff I never knew, very much in depth and it takes me to the source of things I already knew but ignored where they generated from. Love it!

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 288 Avis pour The Technology of Music Production

par Felippe A P

4 nov. 2021

It opened doors that I could not imagine reaching, it is part of the beginning of my journey, this course is worth all my time.

par Rajeesh V C

11 sept. 2020

This really helped me a lot to improve myself technically.Loved the way of teaching by explaining everything from the root :)

par Wesley I

26 févr. 2019

Great course, gives all the essential elements on musical production, all concepts, in detail was presented in these 6 weeks

par Дмитрий М

18 sept. 2017

Thank you Loudon for the company and for the hard work preparing and shooting this course. Hope to see ya in person one day.

par Mariia R

21 janv. 2021

It is such a great course! Thank you for this opportunity! A total new world just open for me, I am eager to dig in deeper!

par diego a

22 déc. 2020

it was great i filled a bunch of knowledge gaps i had from a course i took here locally plus learned a bunch of new stuff.

par Georgios N

16 avr. 2020

Well presented lectures and examples. The lecturer covered a variety of topics with accuracy and completeness. Many thanks

par Igor A

27 déc. 2019

Great course! Even if i already familiar with technology - it was great to re-learn things in structured way. Thank you!

par Oyan H R

25 avr. 2020

Great explanation of everything. It was a great opportunity to learn from someone like Loudon Stearns. He is the boss!

par fradely

29 déc. 2016

Is incredible. All the info and all the wasted time that I spent on the internet. You got everything in order. LOVE IT

par Sandilya A

26 févr. 2021

Very interesting and informative course for a novice student who is looking for details on Music production process.

par Fredrik N

5 oct. 2020

You learn absolutely what they say u should learn and I think it was fun.. Looking forward to the next section...

par Pambili S

28 août 2021

Thank you so much to Berklee & Cousera for making this course possible for upcoming music producers like myself

par Щербак Д С

26 sept. 2020

Thanks a lot for the course! I learnt a lot but what is more important, I feel inspired to do and to learn more

par Juan C E D

24 juil. 2017

Absolutely fantastic content and interaction, it helped me a lot since I was new to editing and mixing process.

par Nhan L H

3 oct. 2017

This course is very good and lecturer is very enthusiastic.

I really appreciate this course's value.

Thank you.

par Anna M

17 mai 2020

It would be great to have in this cource some small tasks to work with filter woth recommended parametres.

par Emanuel V d M S

23 janv. 2020

Before starting the course, I didn't even know how to use any recording software, but now I learned a lot.

par Amit S

5 nov. 2021

Content is amazing and the way Louden Sterns (Sir) has explained the concepts is just outstanding. Thanks

par 강대영

28 juin 2017

I'm very happy to take this class. It was helpful to understand about basic principles of sound process.

par Gonzalo C

20 juil. 2020

As everything: you learn if you investigate by yourself, but the guide given by prof. Stearns is great.

par Sergio S

27 avr. 2019

He disfrutado mucho haciendo este curso y aprendido mucho más de lo que podría haberme imagino gracias

par Bashar A N

18 sept. 2018

Tough tough tough. lots of concepts and many of them are similar. BUT very useful and helpful indeed.

par Kiran P

13 févr. 2019

Muy bueno, la dinámica de convivencia en los foros podría mejorar, pero el contenido está excelente.

par Fawaz A

20 août 2016

excellent , well structured , comprehensive and in-depth study of DAWs and digital audio production.