Chevron Left
Retour à Becoming a changemaker: Introduction to Social Innovation

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Becoming a changemaker: Introduction to Social Innovation par Université du Cap

4.8
étoiles
1,001 évaluations
397 avis

À propos du cours

This free 6 week course is for anyone who wants to make a difference. Whether you are already familiar with the field of social innovation or social entrepreneurship, working for an organization that wants to increase its social impact, or just starting out, this course will take you on a journey of exploring the complex problems that surround us and how to start thinking about solutions. We will debunk common assumptions around what resources are needed to begin acting as a social innovator. We will learn from the numerous examples of social innovations happening all over the world. You will be challenged to get out of your comfort zone and start engaging with the diverse spaces around you. By the end of the course, you will have formed your own approach to social innovation, and you will have begun to develop the concepts, mindset, skills, and relationships that will enable you to start and evolve as a changemaker. You will be able to purchase a Verified Certificate if you wish to show evidence of your achievements, but this is optional, and you may apply for Financial Aid if you are unable to pay the certificate fee. The Bertha Centre for Social Innovation and Entrepreneurship co-created this course with RLabs, a social movement ‘born-and-bred’ in Bridgetown, Cape Town that is now active in 22 countries. The movement empowers youth through innovative and disruptive technology by teaching them vital skills and providing much needed support and a sense of community. Advocating and supporting initiatives such as RLabs forms part of the Bertha Centre’s mandate. The Centre is a specialised unit at University of Cape Town’s Graduate School of Business, and is the first academic centre in Africa dedicated to advancing social innovation and entrepreneurship. You can view the course trailer at www.youtube.com/watch?v=TcWYG64WO20 Tweet about this course using the hashtag #socinnMOOC...

Meilleurs avis

SA

Jul 03, 2020

This course was great! I learned a lot through discussion and project submissions. I have not only learned how to create change in my community but I have taken the first steps to make it a reality.

PJ

Jun 05, 2020

This was an inspiring course. I enjoyed applying Design Theory to an idea I had been pondering for years. I was able to refine my idea in order to share it with others and explore its feasibility.

Filtrer par :

351 - 375 sur 394 Avis pour Becoming a changemaker: Introduction to Social Innovation

par SAI J

May 12, 2020

Good

par Sanjay J

Apr 26, 2020

Best

par ANURAG .

May 10, 2020

gg

par Thomas D

Jun 29, 2018

I

par Lebohang

May 30, 2020

The course was great, informative, relevant, streched me and challenged me for the better!

The peer review method is good, however it would also have been good if 1 or 2 of the weeks assessments/assignments could be "moderated" by the lecturers. There were a number of instances where the peers who reviewed me and those that I reviewed did not submit anything in their commentary and the system did not pick it up (i.e. they just typed alphabets in the text boxes and submitted). This robs those who are committed to the course from receiving meaningful feedback.

Overall will continue to recommend the course to everyone!

par supriya

Jun 28, 2020

When you motivate people around the world for being creative to plan something realistic t through this course then R lab must take a step ahead to help people with their Ideas to get implemented and support them Its like gathering all the items required for s recipe and you awarding certificate of best chef of the word even before cooking starts. Its disappointing.

I am looking forward for Rlab teams to get in touch with me to set up the idea in real life, alone i may not succeed but with a group of experienced people I certainly will. Thank you

par Shameka G

Jun 23, 2020

This was an eye opening and challenging course. Throughout the world ordinary people are doing extraordinary things to change people lives for the better. It allowed me to get close and personal with challenges in my community. It has help build courage and commitment to find solutions to issues near and dear to my heart. Taught me ways to critically think about the various stakeholders who/how are impacted by status quo and need of disruptive changes. The feedback given and received from others trying to make a difference was also uplifting.

par Evelien V

May 12, 2020

The videos are short and to the point. Because the took one example Rlab, which is a great social innovation, everything becomes more clear and concrete. The exercises help really to reflect on your idea. It is also great to read the different social innovation ideas of people all over the world, this encourages to go further with your own idea.

par Lauren L

May 08, 2020

The course is really informative, it's nice to learn what we can do as we often get taught in aid what not to do, for instance don't teach in a school abroad if you're unqualified and wouldn't be able to do it in your own country. It's nice to lay down some foundations of ways to achieve positive impacts.

par Enes U

Aug 17, 2019

It was really helpful course to start your own social innovation and to be a changemaker. But there was just one missing thing: there were not enough example of social innovation from real world. I wanted to learn the other examples and how they became like this. Thank you for all your cooperation...

par Madimetja A M

Jan 25, 2018

A great introductory course on social innovation and how to solve complex / wicked problems that are prevalent within our communities. Learnt a lot on how I can take my ideas and turn them into sustainable social enteprises.

par Claire S

May 12, 2020

Great content, some areas were a little buggy (tech) but overall GREAT CONTENT AND COURSE LEADERS! Feeling very inspired and equipped with great knowledge to take my social innovation ideas forward

par Nuala S

Jan 16, 2019

Thought provoking course. The weekly videos give a broad outline of the topic and the suggested reading / videos give learners a chance to dive deeper into the subject.

par Tamsin N

Sep 10, 2017

A great introduction to Social Innovation to get you started on your big ideas. I hope that a second course may be created that teaches you to go from idea to business.

par Bushra A

Jul 18, 2017

I have learned a lot from this course and it has helped to open my mind to solutions which are already existent within environment rather than inventing something new.

par Nkosikhona M

May 15, 2020

A well-structured course and the information provided is very helpful. Good examples provided well done to all the stakeholders who are involved in the course.

par Barwa J

Jul 06, 2020

This is a wonderful course to take. I learnt to identify hidden resources and think of how to channel them to solve the social problems in my community

par Desire P

Apr 14, 2020

This course was exceptional as it broaden my knowledge on becoming a change maker and learning new skills. It also helped me get out of my comfort zone

par João G R

Jul 09, 2020

Its a great course to have a glimpse of Social Innovation, lectures are good and the workload is up to you to make something good or not

par Prasann S

May 13, 2020

It showed me a way to look towards the society with empathy and start a change as small as possible

par Clàudia

May 10, 2020

Extremely motivational and revealing. Very suitable in the current global situation.

par Olutoye D F

Apr 25, 2020

One of the most engaging, rich and highly interactive course! It's top notch.

par Sakir A

Jul 27, 2019

Would be better if it was self paced...peer assignments take a lot of time...

par Phutanate P

May 23, 2020

I got many ideas for my career and my vision. Thanks a lot for this course.

par Bala K S

May 11, 2020

A good initiate of social innovation and the course enrich our knowledge