Chevron Left
Retour à Smart Cities – Management of Smart Urban Infrastructures

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Smart Cities – Management of Smart Urban Infrastructures par École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne

4.6
526 notes
128 avis

À propos du cours

Learn about Smart Cities within the context of management of urban infrastructures. The introduction of Smart urban technologies into legacy infrastructures has resulted in numerous challenges and opportunities for contemporary cities and will continue to do so. This course will help you to understand how to make the best of these smart technologies in your cities’ legacy infrastructures. Over the past few years, advances in the Information and Communication Technologies (ICTs) have significantly challenged the traditionally stable land scape of urban infrastructure service provision. This has resulted in increasing interest from both technology vendors and public authorities in the transition of cities towards so-called “Smart Cities”. Although such “Smart technologies” can provide immense opportunities for citizens and service providers alike, the ICTs often act as disruptive innovators of urban infrastructure service provision. In this MOOC, you will gain a thorough understanding of the challenges and opportunities associated with the Smart urban infrastructures, namely Smart urban transportation and Smart urban energy systems. Over the journey of this 5-week online course you will learn about the most important principles for the management of Smart urban infrastructures as well as the applications of these principles in the transportation and energy sectors. This course does not have any prerequisites. However, to take the most away from of this MOOC, we strongly encourage you to enroll in our other MOOC on the Management of Urban Infrastructures, which has been widely praised by learners. Through this course, you will: - Gain a deep understanding of the nature of disruptive innovations (smart technologies) in urban infrastructure systems; - Learn about state-of-the-art strategies for effectively managing the transition from legacy infrastructures to smart urban systems; - Study the management of the transition phase from legacy infrastructure systems to smart cities by supporting innovations while avoiding early lock-in; and - Understand potential applications of the materials learned in this course within the context of the management of smart urban transportation systems as well as smart urban energy systems....

Meilleurs avis

RS

Feb 12, 2019

A great overview of the smart cities topic - covered a great deal of information in a short amount of time, and provided useful perspectives through which to think about critical issues.

LY

Mar 13, 2018

Excellent overview on different aspects of smart urban infrastructure. Course creators made complex issues really easy to understand, even for absolute beginners.

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 125 Examens pour Smart Cities – Management of Smart Urban Infrastructures

par Jose U R

Jul 16, 2019

Excelente curso para identificar los componentes, retos y oportunidades de la transición a las Ciudades Inteligentes.

par Arielle M

Jun 04, 2019

Very good MOOC!!

par Oumar K

Jul 14, 2019

I am very satisfied by this course. Indeed, it's very well structured and pedagogic. I do recommand it !

par Magesh N

Jun 14, 2019

This is one of the best courses I have completed in Coursera. There are not many courses on the emerging topic of Smart Cities. Prof Mathias Finger and his team have delivered a well structured, technical content making it easily accessible. I personally learnt a lot. One of the key features of this MOOC is interviews from practitioners. They were intellectually stimulation and showing relevance of topics being discussed to Industry. Presentation by Prof Falting was very stimulation. Thank you for the entire team for making this course available in Coursera. Very much appreciate it.

par Grégoire L

Sep 22, 2019

This course is exactly what I've been looking for since I had my degree in civil engineering one year ago! It is so well explained in the videos, not too long not too shorts with concrete exemples. I see it as a perfect introduction to smart cities, for a better understanding of this "new" theory of the city. It will help anybody who is interested in understanding the challenges of the smart city and whom they concern.

Thank you!

par Juan P L V

Oct 14, 2019

Very interesting to know the trends and challenges of Smart Cities.

par gülten

Nov 05, 2019

very very good

par Joël R

Nov 24, 2018

Good theorical introduction to smart cities concepts.

Relevant interviews.

A definition of smart cities or urban manager would be appreciate. Sometimes, not very clear distinction with policy makers

Giving more instantiated views of the concept would be appreciated too.

Easy quizz evaluation mode (regarding to some other course ;-)

par RIZWAN K

Dec 05, 2018

I have been enlightened by the course study and the material provided hence have given a 4 star rating for the course.The questionnaire which are provided at the end of the each block are refreshing while as the final test quiz need good preparation to qualify.Thank you for the support.

par Jovana V

Mar 11, 2019

The course show some really interesting points about smart cities.

par Illia T

Sep 20, 2018

More practice less theory

par Phannisa N

Nov 07, 2018

English of this course is somewhat hard to follow. And I would like to learn more about case studies.

par Hitoshma S C

Sep 06, 2018

Really well structured course. Only rating it 4 because I hoped for a longer learning program.

par Tala a

Mar 24, 2017

Pretty informative course. I found some difficulties understanding some of the terms provided in this MOOC; thus, I think having more illustrated presentation would make it easier to follow along. Great efforts and a huge amount of ideas. Thank you so much.

par Campodonico N

Nov 24, 2017

Very good MOOC. I would have appreciated to have more concrete examples and cases

par Alexey K

May 08, 2018

I'd say too much of theory and learner's view on a subject. Would like to have more real life examples in the next alike courses. Thank you.

par Arnaud P

Apr 01, 2017

Very nice introduction to the concepts of Smartcities. A small step in the future of our administrations.

par Mohit C

Oct 20, 2017

Very well organized. Logical and informative. I liked the guest speakers as well.

par Nieves C

Feb 12, 2018

Very interesting. A lot of information and well prepared.

par Daithi M W

Mar 28, 2018

An interesting course about a very interesting topic. A problem I had was with the structure of some of the lessons. The course deals with several fundamental features of smart cities, yes. In the lectures, these features are often broken down into sub-features, and then more sub-features, and then more. So sometimes I found it a bit difficult to follow what was going on, because of all these different features. It would have been useful to see all this information presented visually, in simple slides. But nevertheless, it's an interesting course.

par Pierre C

Aug 18, 2017

Fundamental for those who want to play a role int he future, very exciting and not dogmatic ! Thanks

par Fabio G

Jul 07, 2017

Good information and approach on smart cities with lessons and people really involved on Smart Cities

par Harshal G H

Apr 24, 2017

Perhaps, better MOOC on smart cities among available ones. Covered different perspectives such as social, political, technical, legal, and so on. I liked the course, and will recommend it to friends and colleagues. Personally, I think 'S4-1 Transition in Socio-Technical systems' is very good articulation of challenges from a theoretical point of view. Great job.

par Evangelia P

Apr 17, 2018

Great lesson. Gives an overview pn the subject.

par Julia K

Oct 02, 2017

Very interesting course, although I preferred part 1.