Chevron Left
Retour à Trousse de secours psychologique

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Trousse de secours psychologique par Université Johns-Hopkins

4.8
étoiles
11,484 évaluations
2,924 avis

À propos du cours

Learn to provide psychological first aid to people in an emergency by employing the RAPID model: Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition. Utilizing the RAPID model (Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition), this specialized course provides perspectives on injuries and trauma that are beyond those physical in nature. The RAPID model is readily applicable to public health settings, the workplace, the military, faith-based organizations, mass disaster venues, and even the demands of more commonplace critical events, e.g., dealing with the psychological aftermath of accidents, robberies, suicide, homicide, or community violence. In addition, the RAPID model has been found effective in promoting personal and community resilience. Participants will increase their abilities to: - Discuss key concepts related to PFA - Listen reflectively - Differentiate benign, non-incapacitating psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions from more severe, potentially incapacitating, crisis reactions - Prioritize (triage) psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions - Mitigate acute distress and dysfunction, as appropriate - Recognize when to facilitate access to further mental health support - Practice self-care Developed in collaboration with Johns Hopkins Open Education Lab....

Meilleurs avis

ED

May 23, 2020

I am very happy and satisfied with the course program. In fact, I am excited to apply what I have learned and also looking forward to enroll in another course. Thank you for this learning opportunity!

GT

Dec 20, 2019

Great structure and interactive format. Clear expectations and excellent materials. Subject was explained in an effective manner that was easily understood and applied. Very useful for any profession!

Filtrer par :

2551 - 2575 sur 2,911 Avis pour Trousse de secours psychologique

par Hailey G

Jun 13, 2020

This course was interesting and engaging. It certainly delivered what it promised, a course in PFA (RAPID model) intended for those without much of a mental health background. While I completed the course with enhanced knowledge and more confident in my ability deliver PFA to those in acute distress, I would've appreciated more detailed explanations in how to carry out some of the steps of the RAPID model. I also would've benefited from seeing more simulations, either of different situations or of different responses to the same situation, rather than viewing the same simulation repeatedly. Ultimately, I am glad I took the course and received the certification. I would recommend taking it if you have the time.

par Bianca Y

May 27, 2020

The course was very brief and very direct to the point. I think my only problem was that the teaching was done in a very dull manner–just showing PowerPoint slides and explaining what's on it.

That aside, I really appreciated that they would show a simulation every time a lecture would finish, so you understand how it can be applied or observed. Though the course is not directly related to my field, I feel that I've gained a new sense of appreciation for Psychological First Aid (PFA) because they were able to really emphasize the need for it during the lectures. I really hope more people can take this, because it'd really help improve your capacity to help other people especially in times of crisis.

par Abigail J S

Oct 28, 2016

I found the course informative, interesting and well presented, with two exceptions:

a. There was some use of profession-specific terminology/jargon, which is problematic when addressing a target audience from outside the same profession.

b. It is repeatedly stated in the course that no two interventions are done the same, and yet only one intervention simulation is used. I would have liked to see multiple simulations covering a range of possible interactions, to afford a more comprehensive understanding of survivor reactions and appropriate intervention responses.

All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed the course and found myself eager, at the end of each lesson, to get stuck into the next.

par Katharina T

May 18, 2020

I think for someone who has not studied Psychology this course is a very nice introduction on how to approach and priotize needs of someone in a crisis. As I have studied Psychology, I have to say that most of the knowledge conveyed was fimiliar to me. Also the material is sometimes not that well presented. The videos are short but it would have felt more "interactive" if there would be a visible professor speaking or if sometimes there would be pop-up questions on what has been said so far in the video. But all in all I had the feeling to do some revision which is valuable and I did not specifically know the RAPID model, so I had a little gain in knowledge. Thank you!

par Kate O

Jun 16, 2020

Essential information presented in a clear and accessible manner. Would benefit from a more engaging presentation method like more video of the speaker. If slides are to be used exclusively, incorporate color and a more attractive layout.

Actor simulations achieved their goal but were unnecessarily slow-paced.

The disaster video clips were a powerful element and a critical tool that brought all the content together and illustrated many concepts and circumstances discussed. I'm glad there was so much of it to review and that the speakers (storm victims) varied considerably in demographics, emotional reactions, language used, and in their responses to memories.

par Monica M

May 04, 2020

Very useful and applicable to real life (even if the trauma is not a huge common disaster, but more personal in someone's life). Professor calm and easy to understand.

I didn't give five stars because the materials and lectures seem dated (there is a point where it becomes clear that the material is more than ten years old) and more efforts could be made to make the talks more animated or add to the slides with graphics (e.g. take a look at the graphics in the 'Introduction to Negotiation' course offered by Yale).

But overall fulfilled my wishes to take a class which is relevant for my professional further development requirements.

par Selina B

Feb 03, 2017

Great course! Sometimes it got a little bit boring and in the next moment the important information was too fast spoken to me (no native speaker) - but i enjoyed, that some complicated sentecnes have always been repeated in more simple language without too many foreign words! I also enjoyed the videos with the false/correct methods which were shown. Dr. Everly has a good voice and pronaunciation, so that i was able to listen. also great, that the quiz has no timelimit, like questions need to be anwered in 3 minutes, because i had to translate a view words into german to understand the questions and this needs time. thanks!

par Hana B

Jul 01, 2020

The information was presented in a clear and organized way. I found it a little dry at first, since seeing nothing but static slides didn't feel very engaging but later the content got more interesting. I think the course could be improved with added visuals illustrating the key points on each slide. Every person learns differently and some people absorb new information more easily from image or graphics s rather than plain text. Also, as another reviewer noted, I found it amusing how many times Dr. Everly repeats that he's been doing this for over 40 years. Overall a very good course and I appreciate that it's free.

par Nada H

Jul 10, 2020

Personally, I found the course really interesting and engaging. The simulations provided along with the quizzes really made me grasp the concept. It's a great introductory course for beginners in the field as it gives a basic outline of what should happen, but it doesn't provide details for those looking for how to actually provide psychological first aid. (Also, if you're a mental health student or practitioner looking to further you're knowledge, this is not the course for you. In the introduction, it's explicitly stated that this course is aimed for NON-MENTAL health workers with no background in mental health.)

par Michael C

Apr 15, 2020

Seems to cover what would be needed in the psychological field, also does a good job in establishing that this is a bit different than therapy, even though there will be plenty of overlap. Being a recent graduate, there were concepts I already knew, however, the experience brought to the table helped me to consider some more of the practical considerations that are necessary for being involved in people's lives like we aim to do. Was a little difficult watching the videos about how not to help someone and I would have appreciated more than one example of how to do it right. Solid foundations to build on overall.

par Eva K

Aug 03, 2020

some answers in the quizzes were not at all covered in the material, for example question about evidence based intervention and in the field trauma intervention. the questions were ambigious to me. the score should be 70% to pass, not 80%. Questions were confusing and I learned more from George's dialogue than from any slides or badly formulated, irrelevant quizzes. the question were taken from other modules sometimes not relevant to the module in test. The questions were chaotic. I liked the honesty, committment and humanity of Georgre Everly the most. His attitude was humble and true to the core. thank you.

par Wei T H

May 22, 2020

Fairly well presented and taught. Knowledge provide is quite important and useful. However, actual skills and experience is important for PFA and online lectures without practice limits the value of the learning. Might help to include some form of roleplay involvement on the part of students, although this is admittedly difficult to execution online. However, a fairer critique would be that the module on self-care can afford to be more in-depth. Perhaps methods of self-care could be shared, as well as the value of reflection and debriefing.

par Maria T R

May 14, 2020

I am very satisfied with the course

I point out the lack of the Italian language as an option of choice.

I'm sorry I have certainly lost the depth and meaning of some language barrier teachings. I believe this was the source of my mistakes.

Given the excellence of the course, I invite you to include the Italian language ..... we are not many in the world ... but we are a people open to learning and inclined to relationships and exchange therefore it is a pity that the Italian language does not is covered in your course.

par Naga V K I

Apr 02, 2018

Good introduction to the psychological first aid (PFA). This is the first time I took a course like this. It was ver informative. The speaker introduced RAPID model for PFA and went into detail of each of the steps of the RAPID model. Also provided is simulations of right and wrong ways of using the techniques learnt, which was really informative. Overall, course is great, me bring a beginner in this field. The course is short, and concise and to the point. Thanks Dr. Everly, John Hopkins, and Coursera for the course.

par Natalie

Aug 23, 2017

This was an excellent course. It provided a basic understanding of PFA, going through the John's Hopkins RAPID model for treating someone in acute psychological distress. I got a lot more out of the course than I intended. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because I am still not quite sure I could go into the field right now and utilize the skills I learned in class. While the fact-based knowledge obtained in class was superior, I wish there was a way to practice. Thank you, Dr. Everly for a wonderful course!

par Lisa I

Sep 11, 2020

Learning videos & information is very good. I got frustrated with the language used & how quiz questions were phrased & had to redo quizzes several times. I had to write out each question & the answers, making note of my guesses for when I re-took tests. Very time consuming.

Also was looking to pay for the certificate, but was unable to see where to do it at end.

Thank you for making this course available to us, as I work for a tight budgeted nonprofit helping the houseless community.

par Sarah N

Apr 12, 2017

I liked all the content though I thought presentation of it was a bit boring, a lot of the what not to do examples were a bit obvious or extreme rather than attempting to shed light on the subtle mistakes one might be inclined to do. Some of the quiz questions seemed almost purposefully confusing or worded in a trick way, which felt a little pointless. Otherwise I've enjoyed everything I've learned and would definitely take another PFA course, maybe a level 2 or something.

par Vaishali

May 07, 2020

I am psychology student and this course was very helpful to understand the basic things like active listening, forming rapport etc. Psychological First Aid is really a very interesting topic to study and to understand, not only for mental health or social workers but for everyone who wish to know about psychological first aid. The simulation videos were very helpful to understand practically. Thank you George sir to guide us through out the course.

par Yueh Q C

May 16, 2020

I think it is definitely a good introduction to psychological first aid. However, the topics weren't discussed in-depth and there were a lot of lingering questions by the end of each module. It would be great to see more examples presented instead of just 1 simulation if possible. If you are looking for something much more informational or detailed, you might probably want to read the book at your own pace or take a more advanced course.

par Katherine M

Jun 23, 2020

I thought this course was extremely interesting and useful for people potentially going into healthcare. I am also a leader for an outdoor education group and am grateful to have these tools now in case anything happens while we are in the field. I feel better prepared for my future in medicine and the outdoors! My only critique is that the slides were very boring and I often found it hard to keep focused. Other than that, it was great!

par Elita F M U

Jun 04, 2020

I really liked, the simulations and the way Prof. George explained was very clear, slowly, good pronunciation. The best were the simulations, made me feel like in a kind of lab. It was very nice.

THANK YOU PROF. GEORGE AND TEAM.

Suggestions: Maybe the ppt was a little boring in the part of the sentences, about video making I suggest to improve it with some techniques like the Mooc from Barbara Oakley Mindshift Mc Master University.

par Renu K

Jul 14, 2020

I enjoyed this course thoroughly. I would have liked some more video to watch. For eg: video of a person who is dysfunctional. All the videos were of Gina who was coping with trauma.

Beyond the ashes: I couldn't figure out how to sequence them since there were no names or numbers.

Since I work with staff, parents and children my learning in this course will help me. Can you suggest a follow up course please? Thank You

par Gwendolyn U M

Apr 30, 2020

The content was easy to understand, and the simulation of what not to do and what to do were very helpful. I just wish there were more examples or exercises for us to apply RAPID, so we can put theory into practice, even if they're just practice sessions. It could be broken down per letter and then done as a whole in the end. But in total, I was happy with the course coverage. The concepts were clear and concise.

par Khrystelle-Gaelle M

Apr 28, 2020

I would like to say many thanks to everyone who was behind and in the fronts to make this course available and free for people online. Earning a certificate for a course is one thing, but having such an applied and interactive, even through online lessons, is another thing. I am well aware that this course will be useful to me presently and in the future. Hope to see more courses like these ones in the future!

par Amalia S

May 18, 2018

well structured and interesting. I would prefer however, to have more practical questions and steps in order to be able to understand in depth how to offer the needed help in case of emergencies.

The videos were not clear enough in the sense of distinguishing between a nice approach and a bad approach and I think that it would also be helpful to have more than one stories developed in the case scenarios.