Chevron Left
Retour à Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors par Université de Pennsylvanie

4.8
étoiles
1,127 évaluations
329 avis

À propos du cours

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

Meilleurs avis

AA

Apr 19, 2020

Excellent course. This course has opened up ancient philosophy to me and made it accessible. I feel I have finished the course a good understanding of such keys texts as Plato's Republic and Timaeus.

LL

Mar 09, 2016

Good intro to early Greek philosophy. Dr Meyer has a simple and subtly humorous approach to the material. Dr Meyer makes the subject approachable so that the student wants to do further reading.

Filtrer par :

51 - 75 sur 322 Avis pour Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors

par Paul L

Feb 16, 2018

Thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of this course and also Plato and his Predecessors! They have inspired me to try & attain funding to study Philosophy at a higher academic level! Many thanks to the Professor whose teaching was both concise and enjoyable. Cheers, Paul

par Faiz A

Apr 28, 2017

This course was not only incredibly educational, but immensely fascinating at the same time. If you wish to know the origins of western philosophy, and also understand the idealogy behind a lot of the assumptions we take for granted today, this course is for you.

par Fran R

Aug 29, 2016

Although I'm very nervous about writing, I do intend to finish the course fully during a later session. I love this course! I like the emphasis on the readings compared to other courses offered on Coursera, and the lectures build off of the readings marvelously.

par Valquiria C d s

Feb 10, 2020

The course is wonderful. It brought me previously imperceptible visions. I recognized understandings that were previously intuitive and compilation, but now there is logic, learning and knowledg.

Philosophy is the path of my soul and the reason of my existence

par Antonia T B

Apr 15, 2019

This course is fascinating. The professor's lectures are very clear and the course is very well structured. It could be longer and it could go deeper, but still is a great course. Compulsory for all philosophy lovers. Thanks & greetings from Spain / Antonia

par Priscilla C

May 05, 2018

Professor Meyer explained the ideas of the ancient philosophers very clearly. I particularly enjoyed how she made their thoughts seem very relevant to today's preoccupations. I intend to read more about these philosophers... she made them come to life

par Edi d

Aug 29, 2016

I found this course to be both informative and interesting. It is extremely relevant to the issues that we are dealing with today. The issues today are complex and the lack of critical thinking that is evident make this a class that everyone should take.

par David M

Aug 06, 2019

This course provided an excellent introduction to the world of ancient philosophy. Not only has it taught me specific philosophical ideas, but it has also helped me develop crucial critical thinking skills that will greatly benefit my career.

par Gabriel G

May 25, 2020

Great course. Not to demanding so it allows you to learn without stress. However, you need to pay attention to the reading materials in order to pass the quizzes and final report. Overall I’m happy I took this course, philosophy is amazing!

par David F

Oct 23, 2017

Excellent introduction to the Pre-Socratics and Plato. My only regret is that Part 2 is not a further study of the Pre-Socratics and Plato, rather than an introduction to Aristotle. But thank you for this finely articulated introduction.

par fernanda g c g

Apr 29, 2018

I am really enjoying this course, the short and concise lessons make it very pleasant and even though the reading material can be a bit heavy at some points, the way they are explained by Susan helps understanding them much better.

par Gonçalo S

Dec 29, 2016

The teaching is excellent, if you want to learn about ancient greek philosophy, look no further.

The problems I found are small technical issues: the very loud music at the start of every video, the mistakes in the transcipts, etc.

par Ferrie S

May 09, 2016

A very informative and high content course. Good tutor and explained very well.

Questions could be a bit more difficult, but I liked the last exercise with peer reviews. Very educational and would like some more of these exercises.

par ANDRES R P D

May 08, 2018

Excellence in presentation and content of the theme. Indispensable step for further comprehension of evolution of philosophical ideas until our times. Discovering the hidden details laying in the crib of science and philosophy.

par Aida T

May 24, 2020

A great introductory course and I loved the lectures. Prof. Meyer is an eloquent speaker and an excellent teacher on dissecting abstract topics into practical examples. Greatly enjoyed it and I will be taking the next course.

par Rafael M

Apr 07, 2017

The course is simply amazing! I have learned so much about the real philosophy and how to put it to use! I surely recommend it. The professor is very knowledgable that makes it easy for us to see philosophy as a real subject.

par Ricardo S C

May 25, 2020

It's my first time with this kind of knowledgement topics. And if somebody wants to learn about this, it's a good way to start, because you would like to know what happened then and how this helped developing the philosophy.

par pooyan

Jan 01, 2018

I'm listened to this course with minimal background in philosophy. Susan is a very organized lecturer. Super cohesive material, all parts of the speech connect together at the end and create the big picture for the audience.

par FRANCISCO D

Jun 02, 2020

An excellent course taught by and extraordinary professor. I´m happy and proud of have taken this course and very excited to keep learning on Ancient Philosophy with Professor Meyer in the next course. Thank you very much.

par JCarlos P

Nov 20, 2017

What an elegant and valuable introduction to the subject matter ! Prof Meyer speech's flow is naturally captivating which helps to deliver the content a lot more effectively. I appreciated it ! Thx to all.

best rgds,

par Silvia F

May 07, 2020

It has been a very clarifying course.

The teacher talk crearly and her voice captured my interest.

The questions made during the units provided the student of a genuing tool to know if he is understanding it.

I enjoy it.

par John F

Mar 31, 2016

Excellent!! I can't say enough good things about the professor. She does an amazing job explaining the more complex ideas and concepts in a way that is clear and very easy to understand. Great course so far.

par Chris K

May 26, 2020

I knew nothing about Philosophy and wanted to learn. This is a great place to start. The professor is an awesome lecturer and gives great interpretations for the subject matter. I will be back for part 2!

par Emanuela Z

Aug 03, 2019

It was very instructive to study Greek philosophy starting from documents.

The lessons were clear and effective, I will continue with the next course

Thank you for the study opportunity you are giving

par Noemi M

Jul 27, 2020

I have never studied Philosophy before at school or on my own, but Professor Meyer made it very clear, interesting and fascinating for me to understand. Following this course has been a pleasure!