Chevron Left
Retour à Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way par Université Louis-et-Maximilien de Munich (LMU)

4.8
étoiles
621 évaluations

À propos du cours

Discover the mighty kingdom of Assyria, which came to be the world’s first great empire three thousand years ago. From the 9th to the 7th centuries BC, during the imperial phase of Assyria’s long history, modern day northern Iraq was the central region of a state reaching from the Mediterranean Sea to the Persian Gulf, and incorporating what is now Iraq, Syria, and Lebanon, as well as half of Israel, and wide parts of south-eastern Turkey, and Western Iran. In its geographical extent, this state was unprecedentedly large, and the distinct geography of the Middle East, with deserts and high mountain ranges, posed challenges to communication and cohesion. What were the mechanisms that kept the Empire running? This course explores the methods the Assyrian government employed to ensure unity and maintain loyalty across vast distances, using traditional as well as innovative strategies. Some of these imperial techniques have marked parallels in the ways modern multi-national corporations are operating, others will strike you as profoundly alien. This course focusses on how the Assyrians organised their empire by analysing key aspects, namely: · The CEO – the king, a religious, political and military leader, who is charged to govern by his master, the god Assur; · Home Office – the royal palace in the central region and the royal court that form the administrative centre of the state; · The Regional Managers – the governors and client-rulers to whom local power is delegated; · Human Resources – the Empire’s people are its most precious assets, its consumers and its key product, as the goal of the imperial project was to create “Assyrians”; an approach with lasting repercussions that still reverberate in the Middle East today; and finally · The Fruits of Empire – it takes a lot of effort, so what are the rewards? When we explore these topics we will contextualise them with information about the lives led by ordinary Assyrian families. Taking this course will provide you with an overview of the political, social, religious, and military history of the world’s first superpower. It will give you insight into the geography and climatic conditions of the Middle East and contribute to your understanding of the opportunities and challenges of that region. It will present you with a vision of the Middle East at a time when its political and religious structures were very different from today....

Meilleurs avis

SS

15 janv. 2021

This was my first MOOC and I fully enjoyed every aspect. The knowledge level of the instructors was evident as was their commitment to their students and the varied formats were consistently engaging.

LF

27 janv. 2021

The variety of presentations of a vast amount of knowledge made it engaging. Dr. Radner herself was engaging! The course provided a deep look into a civilization that is a bedrock to the modern world.

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 250 Avis pour Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way

par Marion K

24 janv. 2019

Very interesting course, complete new material for me, I really enjoyed the script and art and will visit the British Museum as soon as possible to see the sculptures by myself. My dream: join an excavation in that area. Thank you so much.

par Tony a E L

12 mai 2021

Dr. Radner's lectures and video presentations were excellent. The different formats kept the subject most interesting. Perhaps a few more views of the actual sites of Nineveh and Kalhu, for example, as they are today could be added.

par Marysa A

27 sept. 2020

Brilliantly done! My first love is Ancient Egypt and so i followed the course done by Penn university. This, however, is far more interesting and captivating! So thank you. Now i have another Ancient Civilization to fall in love with!

par Susan V

8 août 2020

This is an excellent course well-presented. There is a wide range of method and media is used. Prof Radner is clearly very knowledgeable: the ideal lecturer. I learned so much more about the Assyrians than dates and conquests.

par Peter M

10 mai 2022

This was an amazing, engaging course. It provided me with unexpected insights on the operations of an ancient empire that will inform the manner in which i organize my own affairs for the foreseeable future. Highly recommend!

par Frank J

29 mars 2018

An excellent, well presented and researched course which only makes us anticipate keenly further related courses on Babylonia and Mesopotamia. Something on Ancient Hittite and Persian civiisations would also be very welcome.

par Kevin G

20 juin 2021

This was one of the best online courses I have done. The style and pace was great and the quizes checked I had understood the lectures. All online courses should be as good as this . Thank you. I feel I have learnt so much.

par Lourdes V

28 janv. 2022

I​t is a very interesting and didactic course. I learnt a lot and enjoyed all the lessons. I think is high quality. Please, tell me you are thinking of a next course on the same subject.

T​hank you Professor Radner and team.

par Reggie W

19 janv. 2021

The class really allowed one to be transported back in time to the Assyrian Empire. Had not realized that the Assyrians had left us so many documents which were incredibly detailed their lives. Enjoyed the class immensely!

par Rebecca S

9 févr. 2022

I LOVED THIS COURSE! Professor Radner is a super fun lecturer who really makes the topic come alive. I really enjoyed the multiple teaching styles. Just make sure you take notes - the quizzes are not easy! Enjoy!

par Montserrat A V

23 oct. 2018

i wish to thank to Prof. Dir. Karen Radner all the work and knowledge shared through the course. Has been original, funny and so interesting. i probably i will see again many videos to memorize some things.

Thank you!

par ELLEN C

12 mars 2019

I throughly enjoyed this class. Ms. Radner was interesting, funny, informative and down to earth. Loved the artistic presentations she did. I would definitely take another of her classes. She made the class!

par Glen M

3 juin 2018

Karen Radner's lectures and the "Talking about ..." discussions were very interesting, but I especially liked the cartoon character drawings used to describe the events that happened in the Assyrian empire.

par Anthony C E

10 juil. 2020

I have previously completed courses on the Ancient Near East, but this course filled in quite a few gaps.

I really enjoyed the presentation, and I found Karen's teaching both accessible and interesting.

par Emma B

29 juil. 2020

Well-balanced, well-paced, good clear explanations, questions that test relevant knowledge - really enjoyed it, congratulations to all those involved, and particularly Prof Radner for great good humour

par Lisa F

28 janv. 2021

The variety of presentations of a vast amount of knowledge made it engaging. Dr. Radner herself was engaging! The course provided a deep look into a civilization that is a bedrock to the modern world.

par Sandra R S

16 janv. 2021

This was my first MOOC and I fully enjoyed every aspect. The knowledge level of the instructors was evident as was their commitment to their students and the varied formats were consistently engaging.

par Lara

22 févr. 2021

I loved this course and I loved the instructor! humorous and interesting, very easy to follow her lectures and comments.i wouldn't mind to take all classes she should offer, the best ever!

par Nikola W

17 févr. 2020

Nice introduction to the Assyrian history. Due to different types of videos (interviews and lectures), quizes, and an interesting selection of topics, the course offers fun while learning.

par Mardohar B B S

22 juin 2020

Other courses on ancient history sometimes stay as mere chronicles and not a message. This course is different. It gives a strong emphasis on how ancient ideas are never ancient at all.

par aigars i

15 déc. 2020

It was a brilliant way if having a course. I've enjoyed every piece of it as it's way more interestingly and intuitively set up than many similar courses on the ancient world.

par Des C

26 juin 2020

As others have written a very good course good set of lecturers. One of the more informative and well presented of the courses on offer here and a good start to farther study.

par Emilio L A

22 févr. 2020

Excellent course! Congratulations for your lectures, Mrs. Radner. Have you thought of doing another course about the extraordinary Assyrian art? I would be very interested!

par John D

8 juil. 2018

Professor Radner, her staff, and the expert faculty that she had speak provided an amazing journey into a long gone government, society, and culture and made it seem alive.