Chevron Left
Retour à Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way par Université Louis-et-Maximilien de Munich (LMU)

4.8
étoiles
625 évaluations

À propos du cours

Discover the mighty kingdom of Assyria, which came to be the world’s first great empire three thousand years ago. From the 9th to the 7th centuries BC, during the imperial phase of Assyria’s long history, modern day northern Iraq was the central region of a state reaching from the Mediterranean Sea to the Persian Gulf, and incorporating what is now Iraq, Syria, and Lebanon, as well as half of Israel, and wide parts of south-eastern Turkey, and Western Iran. In its geographical extent, this state was unprecedentedly large, and the distinct geography of the Middle East, with deserts and high mountain ranges, posed challenges to communication and cohesion. What were the mechanisms that kept the Empire running? This course explores the methods the Assyrian government employed to ensure unity and maintain loyalty across vast distances, using traditional as well as innovative strategies. Some of these imperial techniques have marked parallels in the ways modern multi-national corporations are operating, others will strike you as profoundly alien. This course focusses on how the Assyrians organised their empire by analysing key aspects, namely: · The CEO – the king, a religious, political and military leader, who is charged to govern by his master, the god Assur; · Home Office – the royal palace in the central region and the royal court that form the administrative centre of the state; · The Regional Managers – the governors and client-rulers to whom local power is delegated; · Human Resources – the Empire’s people are its most precious assets, its consumers and its key product, as the goal of the imperial project was to create “Assyrians”; an approach with lasting repercussions that still reverberate in the Middle East today; and finally · The Fruits of Empire – it takes a lot of effort, so what are the rewards? When we explore these topics we will contextualise them with information about the lives led by ordinary Assyrian families. Taking this course will provide you with an overview of the political, social, religious, and military history of the world’s first superpower. It will give you insight into the geography and climatic conditions of the Middle East and contribute to your understanding of the opportunities and challenges of that region. It will present you with a vision of the Middle East at a time when its political and religious structures were very different from today....

Meilleurs avis

SS

15 janv. 2021

This was my first MOOC and I fully enjoyed every aspect. The knowledge level of the instructors was evident as was their commitment to their students and the varied formats were consistently engaging.

LF

27 janv. 2021

The variety of presentations of a vast amount of knowledge made it engaging. Dr. Radner herself was engaging! The course provided a deep look into a civilization that is a bedrock to the modern world.

Filtrer par :

101 - 125 sur 251 Avis pour Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way

par Vicente A A

19 mars 2020

Interesting, relevant, well organised, smartly discussed and thoroughly enjoyed. I feel that I have learned quite a few things and moreover, that I want to learn more.

par Hardeman B

9 oct. 2018

A great course that I enjoyed ! It expanded my knowledge of Assyrian history and allowed me to develop a interest for ancient Assyrian history. I highly recommend it!

par Virginia M

14 mai 2019

An excellent course. Congratulations to Professor Radner and her excellent staff. They all made our learning both profitable and thoroughly enjoyable. That you all!

par José M P Z

5 juin 2020

Splendid introductory course. I have enjoyed and learned a lot. It has motivated me to continue researching and studying about the Assyrian Empire. Congratulations.

par Jummai

4 janv. 2020

Interesting, entertaining course that has increased my interest in history especially the empires that arose around the world after the fall of the Assyrian Empire.

par Eduardo P

27 déc. 2019

Really enjoyed it - excelent format with lectures and a series of "asides" that provide context and texture.

Hope to see one course on the ancient mesopotamian city!

par Andrew S

15 août 2020

Honestly the best online course I've taken so far. The variety of formats used for the videos was very effective and engaging. Great professor also. Thank you!

par Byron N

18 juin 2020

Thanks to Dr. Radner who has put together an amazing course on the Neo-Assyrian Empire. Her enthusiasm is contagious . I feel I learned a lot in the course.

par Miloš B

11 mars 2019

This course was so much fun. Thanks to all the good people that made it possible for us to not only attend but also enjoy it. Prof. Karen is a real treasure.

par Martin C

16 août 2022

G​reat course. Important to learn about the Assyrian Empire as it influenced so much of what was to follow. This complicated subject was clearly explained.

par David I

17 juil. 2020

An amazing course that provides a broad overview of an empire but also intimate detail of everyday life of the ancient Assyrian people. Highly recommended!

par Nadezhda K

19 avr. 2022

Л​учший курс из мне известных! Тщательно подобранная информация, разнообразная подача и отличное чувство юмора преподавателя! Большое спасибо!!!

par Sompairac T

12 juil. 2020

Very interesting giving a full picture of a civilization that is not very well known and which invented basic concepts that survived till now.

par Paracementol

16 avr. 2022

Good course full of great advice on how to go from the Governor from TWD to King Nadad Assari in fifty years after the world ends! Thank you!

par Louis M

17 mars 2021

Great class! Great professor who really enjoys her subject, which shows.

Very interesting, engaging and well presented.

I really enjoyed it!

par Ralph L

15 avr. 2022

V​ery interesting way of learning and interacting, also for many other people, you only think, the Assyrians acted only as brutal warriors.

par Fan C

5 déc. 2018

I have watched the module 1, and I have gotten an impressive view to the Assyrian Empire through Professor Karan and her wonderful lectures

par Tracey G

15 févr. 2021

Fantastic course. Pitched perfect to someone who had no previous knowledge of the Assyrian empire. Iam hooked and now want to know more!!

par Vadim

6 févr. 2021

Very interesting topic. Nicely presented. I really liked meaningful and frequent quizzes which keep one engaged in the course. Thank you!

par Zachary P S

30 nov. 2020

I really enjoyed how the course material was layered adding to the understanding and knowledge retention of the topics and concepts.

par RICHARD J Y

23 juin 2022

Enjoyed course. Informative, well presented, & filled in the blanks about ancient & biblical history. need more courses like this.

par Rob M

14 mai 2018

An excellent course. If you have an interest in the Ancient World, politics or sociology, then this is a definite course for you.

par Keith P

24 juil. 2020

The breadth of the course and the presentation made this a fascinating introduction to a subject that I knew nothing about.

par Jen P

6 nov. 2019

Really good structure with some testing quizzes; excellent lecturers; interesting material well-explained and presented.

par David K

27 déc. 2021

Thank you for a very instructive and interesting course, and one in which you managed to cram in so much information.