Chevron Left
Retour à Foundations of Objective-C App Development

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Foundations of Objective-C App Development par Université de Californie à Irvine

4.7
étoiles
534 évaluations
172 avis

À propos du cours

An introduction to the Objective-C programming language. This will prepare you for more extensive iOS app development and build a foundation for advanced iOS development topics. Objective-C programming requires a Mac laptop or desktop computer. An iOS device is optional if the learner is willing to working exclusively with the simulator. Some learners have been able to work with an OS X virtual machine on Windows, but explaining how to do that is beyond the scope of this course. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Read and write Objective-C 2. Have a strong grasp of Objective-C objects 3. Organize their code professionally using objects and blocks 4. Prototype several entry-level apps...

Meilleurs avis

DA
9 mai 2017

A very well organized step by step introduction to iOS Application development using Objective-C. The course content is good and the instructor is good explaining clearly and in a detailed way. Thanks

MA
10 déc. 2015

I am just a beginner and i Love apple inc and its products. I would love to learn this course and the instructors are cute and amazing. We will have a good communication and relation here. Thanks

Filtrer par :

151 - 172 sur 172 Avis pour Foundations of Objective-C App Development

par Manideep c

16 mars 2020

Its a good course for basic learning of Objective C

par Abhishek P

12 déc. 2016

A very good and in-depth knowledge providing course

par Ehab M A

28 sept. 2016

Such a great, and easy going course

par Artyom Z

30 juil. 2019

The course is old at the moment

par vinaya k

30 nov. 2015

Nice starter !!

par Manan J

15 mars 2018

Great course

par Vivek N

16 nov. 2015

Very useful

par Arturas-Alfredas L

10 mai 2018

Good one

par Daniel S

9 avr. 2017

.

par Dallas B K

5 sept. 2016

I cannot sign up for the message board -- why can't we just use Coursera's built-in one like other classes do? Also, it would be a lot nicer if we didn't have to pay to even submit quizzes to get any feedback. I feel like I should only have to pay to get the certificate or maybe a final project review. Also, I don't really think all the intro to programming stuff should be in this class. It seems like it should be a separate class, really, like explaining what a function is. Objective C is big enough on its own without trying to teach C, too. The assignments aren't very inspiring, either, although I like how simple the first one was because it got me on my computer trying to do it the first day.

par Frank G

17 oct. 2018

The course is fine for what it is, but it relates to an outdated version of XCode and iOS, and some of the key instructions don't apply verbatim and leave the student searching for a solution. The course needs updating. Also, peer grading is slow and ineffective. Finally, it is possible to do the assignments without paying attention to the core lessons of the course because the instructor shows sample code that does almost the entire assignment in each case. Also, the videos are slow for experienced programmers. Even at 2X playback speed I was bored. It was okay for me, but I am concerned a beginner might have a tough time.

par Lee H

2 août 2017

The course is reasonable, but the lecturer is quite tedious to follow sometimes, especially when he tries to explain basic computer science concepts. Some of his implementations have questionable coding syntax and style. Also note that this was recorded in 2015, and has not been updated and that really starts to tell as you progress through the specialization, especially in later courses where APIs he uses have been deprecated.

par 陈沈悦

8 août 2017

It's an application develop course for total beginners who want to quickly develop a software, which may not be suitable for those who want to really get a whole picture of the obj-c language

par RAJAT G

13 févr. 2016

Not very proper explanation of How to use Control key with mouse to set button properties.

No discussion forum

par Juan R S

7 août 2017

lacks updated information

par Aum S

8 juil. 2017

Not to bad, but its hard

par David F

27 juin 2016

I base my ratings of courses on 3 things:

1) Is the material clear? 3/5

Yes, for the most part, though the lecturer sometimes gets mixed up and uses terms like "class" / "object" the wrong way.

2) Can I generalize from the material to other applications? 2/5

This module spends a lot of time on C before you get to Objective-C specific material, so you don't get much Objective-C. There's a bit of a tour of XCode, but it's not particularly comprehensive. The apps you build are incredibly basic, and there's no real discussion of how to generalize from them.

3) Is the course presented in an engaging way? 1/5

This course is super boring. If you already know C, a lot of the content is a waste of time, but I imagine that if you don't know C this is not a good way to pick it up.

So overall 2/5

One other thing - the assignments are graded in a pretty bizarre way. You have to take a screencap video of your code and your app in action, upload the video, and then wait for another person to enroll in the course and review your submission. In return, you have to review three other people's videos. Sort of a rolling homework Ponzi scheme. This strikes me as a system that could be greatly improved upon!

par Mauro C

14 déc. 2020

The instructor is great, and so it is the course and how he organized it.

However, we are in 2021 (almost), and this course must have been posted such a long time ago that it became hard to follow sometimes due to the outdated SW that was used at that time.

It is not the instructor fault... it is totally the fault of the platform (Coursera) that should be more careful not to waste people time by letting them start attending courses so outdated.

Coursera: there are things like "making a pizza" that would never change (if you want to do it right). However, SW will change significantly from the version utilized 5 years earlier... The students of this course often face the challenge of not knowing whether they have done something wrong, or whether the course is outdated and they have to search for an answer on the web.

I am giving 2 stars, while apologizing to the instructor who made an amazing job, only to persuade the next student from attending another outdated course.

par Glenn C

22 nov. 2020

The material is now SO old -- Xcode 6 or 7, and now Xcode is at version 12 -- that the material is much less useful than it could be.

Objective-C is a great language -- I really enjoyed it, and was just looking for a refresher -- but much has happened in the intervening 5+ years, so the course would be SO much more useful if it was brought up to date.

par Douglas P

2 août 2019

It is not very polished. The lectures' sound quality is sub par. Also, the curriculum really doesn't deliver what is promised. It also took an extra few weeks to finish just waiting on others to grade my submissions.

par Mostafa M K

9 avr. 2016

Very very long lectures with ambiguous content. Many information provided are inaccurate, and the course doesn't teach neither programming concepts for beginners, nor high or even intermediate training for other developers.

In my opinion, It's a waste of time.

par Anusha R

31 mars 2016

Peer review assignments are too hand-held, making the assignments themselves worthless.