Chevron Left
Retour à Natural Attenuation of Groundwater Contaminants: New Paradigms, Technologies, and Applications

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Natural Attenuation of Groundwater Contaminants: New Paradigms, Technologies, and Applications par Université de Rice

4.8
étoiles
296 évaluations
71 avis

À propos du cours

Cleaning up the large number of groundwater contamination sites is a significant and complex environmental challenge. The environmental industry is continuously looking for remediation methods that are both effective and cost-efficient. Over the past 10 years there have been amazing, important developments in our understanding of key attenuation processes and technologies for evaluating natural attenuation processes, and a changing institutional perspective on when and where Monitored Natural Attenuation (MNA) may be applied. Despite these advances, restoring groundwater contaminated by anthropogenic sources to allow for unrestricted use continues to be a challenge. Because of a complex mix of physical, chemical, and biological constraints associated with active in-situ cleanup technologies, there has been a long standing focus on understanding natural processes that attenuate groundwater contaminant plumes. We will build upon basic environmental science and environmental engineering principles to discover how to best implement MNA as a viable treatment for groundwater contamination plumes. Additionally we will delve into the history behind and make predictions about the new directions for this technology. Any professional working in the environmental remediation industry will benefit from this in-depth study of MNA. We will use lectures, readings, and computational exercises to enhance our understanding and implementation of MNA. At the completion of this course, students will have updated understanding and practical tools that can be applied to all possible MNA sites....

Meilleurs avis

AS

Mar 13, 2020

the course covers all the important details and the lecturers explained it very well. I started from scratch for this course and was not in touch with chemistry and related fields for half a decade.

MH

Nov 06, 2016

Excellent course to provide a broad understanding of scientific concepts and current applications of degradation processes and programs critical to modern environmental remediation programs.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 68 Avis pour Natural Attenuation of Groundwater Contaminants: New Paradigms, Technologies, and Applications

par Mauricio V

Nov 07, 2016

The course has provided me with a very up-to-date panorama of the current knowledge and considerations over the evalutaion and application of Monitored Natural Attenuation as a remdial option for contaminated sites. It has also explained and commented on many key processes that are involved in attenuation processes, about which the knowledge for those who are participating in the management of a contaminated site is mandatory. Other than that, Drs. Alvarez, Newell and Adamson showed a very good grasp over the topics discussed, with even a few funny and entertaining conversations along the lectures. Overall, an amazing course.

par Rastko P

Apr 13, 2020

I`ve taken around dozen of various courses (on different platforms) on environmental engineering/protection/management but this one is by far most up-to-date and best organized. Ok, as a hydrogeologist that`s what I expected from this topic, but lecturers really made a difference. Disregarding their obvious personal heterogeneity, their common trait is charisma and the energy they brought to the course and consequently shared with everyone.

I will definitely recommend this course to every open-minded person, in my area of expertise.

par Worku J N

Dec 14, 2016

This course was really very well organized and comprehensive in its content. The lecturers are excellent expertise on the topic and they are very engaging. It is an absolute deal to take this course for those who are looking to advance their career in the area of subsurface pollutant remediation and research.

Thanks

Worku J Negawo

par Ross C

Apr 04, 2019

Very interesting and relevant material. Although the examples were primarily in the US technical and regulatory context, the course was nonetheless very informative. I'd thoroughly recommend it for hydrogeologists, geoenvironmental engineers and environmental consultants.

par austin c

Oct 23, 2019

This course was well designed, interesting and challenging. It successfully held my attention and substantially increased my knowledge on MNA, and New Trends in Soil and Groundwater Remediation. I highly recommend this course to anyone in Environmental Consulting!

par Alberto D G

Mar 29, 2020

The course is perfect for those who want to deepen the world of hydrogeology, environmental engineering and pollutant management. in addition, the course covers many interesting topics and gives new and interesting food for thought and deepening.

par Fabiola N D

Aug 22, 2019

The course has a good content and lectures are very clear and helpful for the learning process. I really like it. The topic is kind of difficult to me, and obviously I didn't catch all the concepts but it will be helpful to me in the future.

par Peyman H R

Apr 26, 2020

Tons of information is what you get from this course. If you are working on or studying groundwater / remediation then you should take this course. Brilliantly done by wonderful staff of GSI and Rice University.

Many thanks to them.

par John R A R

May 12, 2019

It really is an advance course that requires the learner to have previous knowledge regarding biology, chemistry, physics, geology, and fluid and soil mechanics to be able to follow with the discussions.

par Anugya S

Mar 13, 2020

the course covers all the important details and the lecturers explained it very well. I started from scratch for this course and was not in touch with chemistry and related fields for half a decade.

par Mike H

Nov 06, 2016

Excellent course to provide a broad understanding of scientific concepts and current applications of degradation processes and programs critical to modern environmental remediation programs.

par Rodrigo V V

Apr 02, 2018

The course was very interesting, a lot of information in short sessions. It improved my understanding of contaminants in GW and I really like that there’s a spark of humor in the lectures.

par Emrah D

Apr 02, 2020

The knowledge I have gained as a hydrogeology engineer cannot be ignored. I would like to thank you very much for explaining the topics and for demonstrating their applications.

par Daniel M E

Nov 02, 2016

Great overview of contaminant hydrogeology. It is focused mainly in hydrocarbons and chlorinated solvents, but the methodologies ara applicable in many other situations.

par Reena C

Jun 13, 2020

This course is apt for all those researchers interested in well compiled knowledge about what's latest happening in the field of groundwater remediation technologies.

par Raul P S

Jul 21, 2018

Amazing, interesting and entertaining course delivered by some of the best in their field. Highly recommendable. Well done and keep up the great work!

par Umesh C

Aug 15, 2018

This course is very informative and very good for environmental engineers . It gives the insight of the natural attenuation of groundwater.

par Joshua R C

Jul 08, 2017

Professionally relevant. Lectures had enough bad jokes to be entertaining and keep it interesting. Seems very current with state of practice.

par Deivid L d S M

Jul 30, 2017

Great course!!! It really helped me understand a lot of interesting topics of natural attenuation that I've been dealing with at my job.

par Mohammed Y K

May 28, 2019

This course rely helped me increase my knowledge..

Thanking all for their hard work for enriching me with such a wonderful knowledge.

par Leane H

May 26, 2017

Excellent course! Explained so that it is understandable even if you don't have the sufficient background in the topics discussed.

par FRANK M B

Nov 20, 2019

the course has been very insightful. i have learnt a lot on natural attenuation of ground water contaminant.

par Yashfeen Z

Jun 01, 2020

I loved the course. I wouldn't mind checking out other courses like this. I learned a lot from this course.

par Dylan Y

Jun 10, 2017

Fantastic course regarding groundwater related concepts and applications. Be happy to take similar courses

par Francesca G

Dec 15, 2019

Great sources of information on MNA. It gives plenty of reference if you need to study this topic deeper.