Chevron Left
Retour à The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1)

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1) par Université Wesleyenne

4.8
622 notes
138 avis

À propos du cours

This course examines how the idea of "the modern" develops at the end of the 18th century in European philosophy and literature, and how being modern (or progressive, or hip) became one of the crucial criteria for understanding and evaluating cultural change. Are we still in modernity, or have we moved beyond the modern to the postmodern?...

Meilleurs avis

JR

Aug 02, 2019

It was a fabulous journey, and brought me so much nearer to the great minds of the 18th and especially the 19th century, reading original texts, and listening to Prof Roth's wonderful interpretations.

NM

Jan 08, 2016

One of the best professors i've ever come across! If the teacher is so passionate about the subject material as well as conveying the ideas, the course will be excellent. This is one of those courses.

Filtrer par :

51 - 75 sur 137 Examens pour The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1)

par Maria C

Sep 27, 2015

This course is an eye opener.

I can't get enough.

par ajay r

Dec 25, 2017

I Like How Professor Roth remains objective throughout the course without letting his personal opinions hindering his teaching in any way.Enjoyed the course Very much!Highly recommend.

par Remington C

Jan 02, 2016

Great teacher, fascinating ideas. The reading was pretty intense, but I loved that about it.

par Dasa M

Oct 17, 2015

Excellent content, very good explanation, interesting lectures. Though

par Chad C

Feb 19, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. The lectures were cogent and engaging, and the materials were wide-ranging and intriguing. While I was initially skeptical about the peer review process for an online course, my reviewers were respectful and encouraging. Overall, this was a truly worthwhile learning experience, and I am looking forward to Part 2 of the course.

par rex e

Oct 06, 2015

I really enjoyed your lectures-Great communicator of ideas-Look forward to next

par Darren G

Nov 22, 2015

Great course with quality instruction for introduction to the material.

par Luis L

Sep 16, 2015

Excellent course, thank you

par Jing Y

Apr 07, 2016

Personally, this is the highest rated course so far I've had on Coursera. Selective philosophers, thinkers, writers and poets with their best works recommended, various topics about modernity and post-modernity. Every module literally helps me review my understanding of the topic and of modernity and modern man. Recommend this course to every one I know.

par Gipsi T

Apr 25, 2016

Great course, engaging lectures stimulate and encourage interest.

par David V G

Mar 03, 2017

Enjoying the lectures again. This is my second time listening to the lectures and doing some of the readings. Thank you Professor Roth.

par Maria E H

May 08, 2017

The professor is highly engaging and explains the material in a succinct and enjoyable manner as well as making the course a pleasure!

par Yuezhen L

Jan 15, 2016

This course is very helpful in giving students a survey in the major thoughts of the modern Western world. The fact that it is carried out by Wesleyan University, a premier Liberal Arts College in the United States, ensures its quality and seminar-style coherence. I find it particularly interesting when each chapeter is started by an assigned reading task with the instructor's videos following, which is a rather typical method by which American collegiates learn humanities.

par Kat

Nov 04, 2016

I listened to both part I and part 2 of The Modern and the Postmodern, but sadly didn't have enough time to do all the reading and assignments. However, I enjoyed these lectures so much I might do this mooc again when I have more time for the readings. GREAT material and I love the way Professor Roth conveys it.

par Michael M

Apr 05, 2017

A very informative course that is extremely well presented.

par Andrew G

Dec 05, 2015

Excellent course. I really enjoyed this and it opened my eyes to areas of thought and thinking that I had not previously had the opportunity to encounter or study.

par Beatriz S

May 19, 2016

Wonderful!

par Peter M

Feb 21, 2018

5+ Highly recommended! Interesting, informative, and very well presented!

par Raquel O d

Nov 14, 2016

This is a delightful course, despite of its complexity. You can follow the discussion and very good explanation without much difficulty, because the professor guide in a clearly and objective way. I really enjoyed it ;)

par Liu y

Aug 24, 2015

Extremely-interesting course!

par Taweechai Y

Aug 14, 2015

I wish to have a course about Existentialism too if it's possible, thank you!

par Sankar V

May 20, 2017

Information overload for people occupied with other jobs too but a wonderful experience and journey through the essential philosophers that needs to be read for looking into a modern and post modern world. High intellectual quality and wonderfully structured course. cheers! thanks

par Andrea E

Sep 23, 2015

I absolutely loved the course content and the style of the instructor.

The only feedback I'd extend is more variety in the writing assignment prompts, and a little more specificity in the quiz wording. Some of the questions seemed phrased in an unclear way.

par Danai M P

Mar 10, 2018

Starting this course coincided with my having to stay at home due to a cold. I became so engrossed that staying in and studying was not only a palliative measure for cabin fever ennui but actually what I really wanted to be doing. As a result I finished the course well before its deadline. I appreciated having Professor Roth describe the perspectives of all these different thinkers so clearly, so simply, so intelligently. His enthusiasm was contagious. All the references to texts were really helpful. The course also gave me the opportunity to read texts I never normally would have done. I am already on to The Modern and the Postmodern Part II. Thank you, great experience.

par red s

Aug 15, 2015

Exelent and only halfway the course