Chevron Left
Retour à The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1)

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1) par Université Wesleyenne

4.8
étoiles
788 évaluations
205 avis

À propos du cours

This course examines how the idea of "the modern" develops at the end of the 18th century in European philosophy and literature, and how being modern (or progressive, or hip) became one of the crucial criteria for understanding and evaluating cultural change. Are we still in modernity, or have we moved beyond the modern to the postmodern?...

Meilleurs avis

JR

Aug 02, 2019

It was a fabulous journey, and brought me so much nearer to the great minds of the 18th and especially the 19th century, reading original texts, and listening to Prof Roth's wonderful interpretations.

NM

Jan 08, 2016

One of the best professors i've ever come across! If the teacher is so passionate about the subject material as well as conveying the ideas, the course will be excellent. This is one of those courses.

Filtrer par :

51 - 75 sur 203 Avis pour The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1)

par Serkan B A

Jun 04, 2019

It might be one of the best courses I've ever taken online. There were some minor errors in English subtitles, and to be honest, I hate peer-review system, but overall, it was great! Would definitely recommend it.

par ivan l a

Aug 24, 2020

Disfruté muchísimo de las clases del notable profesor Roth y de las lecturas asignadas. Es un curso que te estimula intelectualmente y genera deseos de seguir leyendo los autores estudiados. Me encantó.

par Jan R

Aug 02, 2019

It was a fabulous journey, and brought me so much nearer to the great minds of the 18th and especially the 19th century, reading original texts, and listening to Prof Roth's wonderful interpretations.

par Naman M

Jan 08, 2016

One of the best professors i've ever come across! If the teacher is so passionate about the subject material as well as conveying the ideas, the course will be excellent. This is one of those courses.

par Daniel S

Jan 31, 2018

Best course and professor I have taken at Coursera, since Demystifying Mindfulness (which is #1).

Really liked Prof Roth, and appreciate his continued emails after the course via Mentor connections.

par César F G

Jul 20, 2020

Un curso completamente excepcional. Estuve realmente meditando y las lecturas son absolutamente bien elegidas para la reflexión, la memoria histórica y la belleza literaria. Muchísimas gracias.

par Paola R

May 30, 2020

This course is absolutely amazing! Love it much! ♥ I am very much obliged to all those who were involved in bringing about this beautiful project. Thank you for making our lives better.

par Jessica W

Apr 24, 2017

An excellent introduction to Modernism that spans disciplines. The enthusiasm and humour of Michael Roth ensures parts of the course that might be difficult or dull are far from it.

par Anne F

Sep 18, 2015

I love this course. The enthusiasm of the teacher is wonderful. His choice of works and their treatment are excellent. I learned a lot, even though I have an MA in Literary Studies.

par Valentin D

Sep 06, 2015

I've not finished this course yet, but I found it to be excellent, the content is important to understand, the teacher is clear and I enjoy listening to him. I really recommend it.

par Munif M

Jun 18, 2020

A great course! Thanks to Prof. Roth and his university for conducting such a wonderful course. Really, helped me a lot. Can't wait for "The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 2)."

par Valeria B

Jul 28, 2020

An effective and catchy overview of relevant thinkers which contributed to shape the culture and society of the 19th century. I am looking forward to starting the second part.

par Epitropou S

Dec 27, 2016

A very interesting course. A privilege to be part of it. A powerful inspiration and motive to learn more about the most important figures of the last couple of centuries.

par ANGELA M C G

Sep 15, 2020

Es magnífico! Brinda la posibilidad de aprender historia, arte, ciencia, desarrollo, incluso un poco de psicología... desde la perspectiva de diversos autores y épocas.

par Elif S

Sep 11, 2018

Excellent course! Very motivating and inspiring lectures. I am more than glad to have found this course and i will be continuing with Part II for certain. Thank you!

par Calvin E

Mar 20, 2018

Very interesting subject matter, and the course was well organized and accessible. Would recommend taking the course to those interested in late Western philosophy.

par Andrew G

Dec 05, 2015

Excellent course. I really enjoyed this and it opened my eyes to areas of thought and thinking that I had not previously had the opportunity to encounter or study.

par Tuan N

Mar 22, 2017

The content of this course is great. I am provided with detailed contexts of certain movements and how they developed under the influence of thinkers and artists.

par JULIAN G

Jul 03, 2020

Excellent course. The explanations from Michael Roth and the selection of texts were absolutely on point, appropriate and very revealing for the subject matter.

par Eduardo C

Nov 08, 2019

Muito Muito bom! Uma análise bem refrescante da história da arte, uma base maior na literatura. ótimo para quem está acostumado a uma história das belas artes.

par Cecilia E A d F

Apr 11, 2020

I just loved it! I've learned a lot and it will definitely help me a lot in my teaching career! Anxiously looking forward to studying part II of the course.

par Víctor D L C

Dec 26, 2017

Excelent course, I love it and I´m learning too much about moderniy and philosophy. The professor is so good and with great empathy and so much knowledges.

par Muhammed J M

Jul 21, 2020

Great experience... Discussion forum could be more creative... there should be a video interactive session among peers under the guidance of course mentor

par Laura L

Sep 22, 2016

This is my favourite course . The professor is so enthusiastic and passionate to share his knowledge, and is doing a great job. Best course ever !

par Chris

Feb 17, 2019

Cool ideas. Very engaging instructor. Finally I understand the Simpson's and the odd Nietzschean qualities of our modern and post-modern world.