Chevron Left
Retour à The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1)

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1) par Université Wesleyenne

4.8
étoiles
663 évaluations
158 avis

À propos du cours

This course examines how the idea of "the modern" develops at the end of the 18th century in European philosophy and literature, and how being modern (or progressive, or hip) became one of the crucial criteria for understanding and evaluating cultural change. Are we still in modernity, or have we moved beyond the modern to the postmodern?...

Meilleurs avis

NM

Jan 08, 2016

One of the best professors i've ever come across! If the teacher is so passionate about the subject material as well as conveying the ideas, the course will be excellent. This is one of those courses.

JR

Aug 02, 2019

It was a fabulous journey, and brought me so much nearer to the great minds of the 18th and especially the 19th century, reading original texts, and listening to Prof Roth's wonderful interpretations.

Filtrer par :

126 - 150 sur 157 Avis pour The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1)

par Jon C

Apr 12, 2016

Great class!

par Mónica M G

Aug 15, 2016

excellent!

par Beatriz S

May 19, 2016

Wonderful!

par Mike H

Oct 21, 2015

very clear

par Aparicio C C

Jan 19, 2020

Excelent.

par Claiton V V d S

May 30, 2018

Perfect!!

par Carolina P d S

Aug 05, 2017

wonderful

par Hossein D

Dec 22, 2017

A

w

e

s

o

m

e

.

par Deleted A

Feb 28, 2019

awesome

par Armie M

Feb 04, 2018

I

par John

May 21, 2016

Q

par Eimeren

May 11, 2020

I am not so much knowledgeable with philosophy. This course has been informative enough to give me understanding about different figures and their philosophies such as: Kant, Rousseau, Marx, Flaubert, Darwin, Baudelaire, and Nietzsche. Professor Roth is very charismatic during his online presentations. I may have given this course a five-star review only if all of the recommended reading materials are available in the link provided by the university.

par Emmanouil P

Apr 04, 2017

This course, as well as part 2, is a great opportunity to put things in order. Modernity, the Enlightenment, shaped our present and the course does a great job in acquainting with the basic thinkers of this period. My only improvement proposal is to make access to texts easier by providing handouts in e-book format.

par Alexandra L

Oct 16, 2015

Prof. Roth has covered a great many schools of philosophical thought...which, in turn, as driven me to look up more information out of curiosity. He takes an often-difficult course of study, and makes it not only easier, but makes it enjoyable.

par frank t

Oct 18, 2015

Hey,

Was a learning course. Ben learned more about the treatment time. I simultaneously following a different course on art: Gogh History of Impressionism which was about the same period.

Regards Frank Terpoorten

par Chris R

May 19, 2020

Great course. As stated in the title this is very much a part one and lays the foundations for the topic by looking at the enlightenment and build up to modernity, which are covered in more detail in part 2.

par Patricia M

Oct 02, 2015

Very interesting lectures. I found this to be a very good learning opportunity. The professor has a very good grasp of his topic.

par Tobias G

Oct 12, 2015

The presentation of Kant's philosophy is quite inaccurate. All in all, though, this is a great course!

par Uttam S

May 17, 2017

Great course! Writing assignments were really helpful.

par Warren C

Jan 25, 2019

Fascinating overview of what 'Modern' might mean.

par Richard B

Sep 04, 2015

though the flow of ideologies eventually became distinguishable, the comments on the several artists and philosophers noted were woefully uninformed and inadequate, even distorted, and the professor's eventual humming and hawing, irritating in the extreme, suggested that he was not at all prepared for his lectures - the final presentation of paintings without commentary at all was thus both a relief from his indecision and, at all of twenty minutes, an outrageous waste of time having left all of these however masterful works without any appreciable context

par Lynne R

May 20, 2016

This course is wonderful and I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. BUT, it is not well monitored, the peer review process is broken and questions are not answered, making it frustrating. For example, I wrote an essay and received a non-passing grade. I re-wrote it and submitted it. The comments back were very good, but the grade remained a non-passing one. Very difficult to figure it out. I posted a request for clarification and received no response. So, course GREAT, administration of course, not so much.

par Joyce U

Jul 04, 2019

For me as an Artist; I am challenged , having to listen to the lectures several times to get it. The professor's presentations are AWESOME. The knowledge that I am acquiring is well worth it. It has been a few weeks... struggling so not being able to complete the essays; I tried to at least finish the lectures. I wasn't allowed, disappointed.

par İLKİN B

Oct 20, 2015

On scientific and philosophical reflections there are unbalanced focusing and biased approach to Enlightenment tradition of thoughts and Utilitarions views in particular, on the very contrary to what Prof. Shapiro explains in his MOOC "Moral Foundations of Politics".

par Smorzando

May 07, 2020

通識向,入門級,科普西方現代性,教授人很可愛,但是講話經常有結巴,相比之下在耶魯的mooc會是我更喜歡的風格。脈絡不是很統一,尤其是從理論學說突然轉變成詳細介紹福樓拜小說,現代性思想的變更是著重於理論的,突然好幾課著重介紹小說文本本身的句子有多美,我覺得欠考慮,著重其帶來的思想意義和社會變革比較符合課程的核心。