Chevron Left
Retour à Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential par Université McMaster

4.8
étoiles
10,662 évaluations
3,107 avis

À propos du cours

Mindshift is designed to help boost your career and life in today’s fast-paced learning environment. Whatever your age or stage, Mindshift teaches you essentials such as how to get the most out of online learning and MOOCs, how to seek out and work with mentors, the secrets to avoiding career ruts (and catastrophes) and general ruts in life, and insights such as the value of selective ignorance over general competence. We’ll provide practical insights from science about how to learn and change effectively even in maturity, and we’ll build on what you already know to take your life’s learning in fantastic new directions. This course is designed to show you how to look at what you’re learning, and your place in what’s unfolding in the society around you, so you can be what you want to be, given the real world constraints that life puts on us all. You’ll see that by using certain mental tools and insights, you can learn and do more—far more—than you might have ever dreamed! This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or subsequent to, its companion course, Learning How to Learn. (Mindshift is more career focused, and Learning How to Learn is more learning focused.)...

Meilleurs avis

DI
30 oct. 2020

Great course! This is a lot more general than Learning about Learning but is also useful nonetheless. I like the focus on keeping positive and being confident in your potential despite our weaknesses.

EC
26 août 2020

I enjoyed this course very much. I am 64-years-old and this course taught me that you can learn anything new no matter what age you are. I am now broadening my passions and learning is a lot more fun.

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 3,086 Avis pour Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

par Venkataraman N

24 avr. 2018

This is an excellent course. It was well-presented and it is easy to learn. It is not very demanding and yet can teach you a lot of useful things. You do have to make the time commitment to be an active learner. This course teaches a lot of practical skills that might be useful in the current environment. These include: (a) the importance of persistence and flexibility in learning anything new; (b) the importance of being a life-long learner; (c) challenging conventional myths about learning; (d) developing confidence to learn a new skill; (e) learning simple but effective productivity techniques; (f) learning to reflect on your own learning . I highly recommend this course.

par Viktoryia L

15 avr. 2020

This MOOC was a great choice to learn. The mail idea for me is "Matching passions with opportunities and broadening, not just following, my passions".

I always thought that I must choose only 1 way in my career, which was marketing. The idea was so strong that I didn't have any hobbies, I considered I couldn't afford them as they took time, and that was the time which I had to spend to improve my career skills. But that was a huge mistake, my life became inanimate. The idea of several passions gave me hope that I can succeed in several paths. And thanks to that idea I'm planning to receive a degree in Psychology as well as start learning Data analysis (Python, SQL, etc.)

par Alexander K

19 nov. 2019

I would highly recommend this course to take. From my own experience I can say, that while taking this course I learned a lot and got advice on how to succeed in my own career. After finishing this course I know which step to take next. You will learn very useful and ready to use methods to enhance your ability to learn new skills and to find your hidden potential. If you have always wanted to find a mentor and for some reasons haven't done it yet, you will get great advice on how to do this elegantly. This course motivates, inspires and encourages you. Many people have already done a mindshift. You can make a mindshift too and this course will show you how!

par Chowdhury K A

21 mai 2018

May our Lord's Blessings be on you Beloved Professor Oakley and your MOOC team. You have, in essence, invited us inside your home. Learning then became, in that ambiance, a second nature. The facility with which we interacted with the concepts put forth is testament to your insights about teaching. Every single time the "I" came out in your talk, we students were drawn into that realization -- our Professor is one of the most honest individuals we have seen in our lives. Perhaps this is serendipitous, your life and this MOOC concepts dancing to the finest music. Music to our hearts. Please continue to take care of all of us. We are honored to walk with you.

par Tung N

18 mars 2020

I joined this course right after finished the " learn how to learn" course. Both of them are great and beneficial for me. It provides many new and useful tools and methodologies to improve my learning and development. It also gives me some breakthroughs and motivates me to explore new activities that I have never experience before. Key concepts are introduced in this course can help me to solve a problem I face during learning effectively and efficiently. The quality of materials is advance and very convenient. We also saw what happened behind the science and understand how the course was prepared. Thanks Barbara for dedication, passionate and humanities

par Thanh N L

2 juil. 2017

I have learnt a lot from this course, just like the new way in thinking and learning effectively. As a result, I get inspiration and motivation to pursue my dream. I love the way how professors sympathize our obstacles and help us feel better by analyzing and interpreting them. We know that we are not that bad and some traits considered as bad could also be our advantages. The discuss forum is an ideal place for us to express and share our stories, feeling and somehow see ourselves in some people from all over the world through their stories. Some bonus videos about memorizing are interesting, too. I really have got mindshift. Thanks a lot.

par Kaylyn D

5 juin 2020

I truly enjoyed this course. It showed me other ways of looking at things that I previously thought of as weaknesses. Like learning at a slower pace is not all the time bad because being slower actually helps us learn a material deeper as to when we learn it quickly. Also, the value of poor memory but at the same time, it showed really creative ways of keeping facts in mind. The illustrations and analogies to explanations on how the brain works when learning happens gave insights on how I can help myself learn. The tips on MOOCing were also great. This course gave me great encouragement to embrace learning anything I may be interested in.

par Kevin M

9 mai 2020

I especially recommend this course to people who have never really researched about learning, learning techniques and how to learn better. This course will give you a good overview about how your brain works when learning new things and how you can become a better learner. It can really shift your mind, when you are new to the topic of learning. But even if you already have some knowledge about things like focused/diffused thinking, procrastination, focus techniques or the importance of reading, you still might get some new information out of this course. And you can go through it very fast, so it's definitely not a waste of time.

par Linda A B

28 avr. 2021

I took this course because I am going back to school and was having some anxiety, as I am middle aged, and haven't been to school in many years. However, I love reading. This course has made a huge impact already. Dr. Oakley is phenomenal. She was easy to understand, used pictures, has a sense of humor and shares her personal stories. I enjoyed the stories of her guest speakers as well. Dr. Oakley, eased my anxieties. I totally understand that school will be somewhat of a challenge, this course has made me realize my expectations of myself were too high, unrealistic. I am not as fearful of school. Thank You so Much Dr. Oakley!

par MARLINE D L

23 juin 2020

YES! Definitely 5 STARS. The Course supports improvement of educational system in every part of the world, not just throughout college also for adult learners who would want to learn more.

The course mentors, DR. BARBARA OAKLEY & DR. TERRENCE SEJNOWSKI are greatly responsible for discussing all the details bit by bit, from one video to another, from start to finished very consistent in sharing the topic. The best part is, its not boring at all. I enthusiastically listen, watch and even write notes for added learnings throughout the program. I just love MOOcing!!! Learn, adjust, apply and share! Thank You for the Mindshift!

par Joshua J

25 juin 2019

This course is very inspiring and helpful to anybody who are in a career rut and have been struggling how to continue their career life. This course gave me many new insights on what to do next while in a boring career for 17 years and "jump-starts" again my motivation to learn new things and not to limit myself within my job specialization. The professors were very encouraging and explained the course ideas in a very simple but effective way. I would recommend this to anybody who has a passion on learning and to anybody who want to know some new insights to get them motivated to explore new things beyond their current job.

par Ricardo S C

1 avr. 2019

It was very enriching to do the second course with Barbara Oakley as an instructor. After 'Learning how to learn', 'Mindshift' helped me to better comprehend the concepts presented in her first MOOC and is currently serving as an inspiration to orientate my professional career. As it is taught throughout the course, only by an active learning/active approach, it is possible to change your path (of any kind). So I intend not only to use these MOOCs, but also search for new MOOCs and books, to continue finding information, technical knowledge, concrete examples, in order to have a more pleasant and successful life and career.

par Olga G

18 juin 2020

This is the second course I take created by Prof Oakley. "Learning how to learn" was a game-changer for me. I was a straight-A student during my school years but left my country and relocated after matriculating. Having to learn a new language from A, B took me some time and my attempts to study were mostly unsuccessful. 30 years later, after completing both Prof Oakley's courses, I am excited about learning again. I have enrolled in a new course and looking at upskilling and learning new disciplines. Thank you once again for making "Learning how to Learn" and "Mindshift" informative, encouraging, and very interesting.

par Laura I M G

5 juin 2017

I really enjoyed this class!

It is very useful regardless of your expertise, background, or age. You can apply what you learn in every aspect of your life, and I feel that it will transform it if you follow the wise advice given in it.

I definitively recommend taking this course. It is very engaging, with multiple animations, and very valuable information. The professors have conducted a good amount of research to help you feel more secure about exploring new horizons, in terms of learning. After taking this class I feel much more motivated and I also feel a great desire to continue learning new things.

par Shonal R

23 avr. 2020

It has been the most wonderful MOOC journey for me. You can expect a drastic change in your mindset, your personal development, growth and you'd yearn to learn more in no time! This MOOC taught me how to broaden my passions, learn something to its fullest, little tricks, and nooks to go through with your learning and academia. The part about Career was not applicable to me, as I am still quite young and a student. Overall, this is an essential course that I would recommend everyone to take. Its a once in a lifetime opportunity to learn something so great! That too from the best of the mentors globally.

par Ong Y L

22 sept. 2020

A powerful course with many actionable tips and advice for a fulfilling life of learning and career (re)invention. I love how Prof Barbara cares for her learners by sharing her real-life story of stress and its health consequences, along with concrete strategies on how to manage our emotions better. Prof Terry is amazing too as a walking example of a senior adult who learns and grows: he tried his best to be animated and humorous in this MOOC, as compared to his serious persona in Learning How to Learn. Thank you, Profs Barbara and Prof Terry for another brilliant MOOC that's so relevant and timeless!

par Justyna D

27 août 2017

Great course, way more interesting than I have anticipated - helps to keep you optimistic and motivated, provides good methods for reframing your mind and changing your attitude. 'Problems' become 'challenges' and nothing is as grave as it is when you put into practice some of the 'emotion labelling methods. The course also puts emphasis on importance of lifelong learning. To sum up - great teachers, who present material in an interesting way that attracts your attention. I would recommend everyone for a start (it was also my first MOOC and I am even more encouraged to take up more of those, but do i

par Marianne E

12 avr. 2021

This was a fantastic course in follow up to the Learning How to Learn Course. Barb Oakley is an authentic, down to earth, passionate scholar! She was very relatable and honest in her approach and shared insights and knowledge that will change my life (even at age 51...and having 13 yrs of post secondary education! ) I thoroughly enjoyed both she and Terry,but Barbara really shaped the course and respectfully made it her "own" so to speak. I even showed some of the videos to my 16yo daughter about the "passion trap" and broadening one's passions ;) Wonderful! I will re-watch some of it in the future.

par Kieko S

13 août 2020

During this course, I can solve a lot of mysteries that happened to me but I do not find the correct reason. For example, when I took a certain lesson I thought that I perfectly understood the contents of the lesson. Few days after the lesson I could recall some part of the lesson but I did not understand that main concept of the lesson that I thought I perfectly understood. I thought that it was caused by my poor working memory. That is not true, I did not questioned me if I understand the concept of the lesson on the next day. Thank you for letting me discover such lot of mysteries in my brain.

par Reagan E

1 juin 2017

Insightful and life-changing.Cleverly fun way to learn the ability towards learning and understanding.This is something we should take to prepare yourself before starting a new course. It's a must before diving into other courses training or practice.It helps you to have an effective way of absorbing new information which speeds up your learning.It is good for all ages who wants change,in general.It is a sort of a lobby before you start stepping at new doors of exploration or opportunities. It is like the golden rule in learning,and these rules are the few ones that isn't meant to be broken.

par Swapnil D

16 mai 2021

This course is probably _not_ an eye-opener for most people and it is not meant to drastically change your perspective about yourself or the others around you. Instead, it's an excellent pocket guide to help you rethink and reconsider you learn and approach your career and profession. The course does an excellent job of tying in some practical wisdom with scientific research. Hidden within this course is some great advice, tips and plenty of motivation that people from all walks of life will find extremely useful regardless of their age, cultural background or where they are in their career.

par Prem P G

21 juil. 2020

Mindshift was my 4th MOOC course on Coursera. It helped me to a great extent on my executive coaching profession. Concepts explained by author Barbara are very simple, practical and adoptable in daily life. It brought many new perspective like importance of slow learners, knowledge of unrelated filed, procrastination is not bad all the time. Other powerful techniques like focused and diffused thinking, pmomodoro techniques etc are real life changers. I witnessed the change in 3 weeks and commit for life long learning to keep my brain agile and improve on my mental and spiritual well-being.

par Asha S

17 déc. 2017

I find Barbara very supporting person. I like her calm and gentle manner with which she encourages her audience to keep learning by trying different styles of studying anything new despite of the age , education, career condition of the learners. I also find very useful that this course is based on science researches. Thanks Dr. Terry Sejnowski for that. I like that this course includes stories of success and nice tricks for learners like memory tips displayed by Nelson Dellis. It also helped me to understand more how actualy the learning process is implemented. Learning is great!

par ZINAT A

27 avr. 2020

Great course for all age groups! The course is a series of lectures with slides detailing specific key concepts. These key concepts are explained with analogy and metaphor hence making it very simple to understand. The course has a big focus on bringing that gear shift in the process of thinking in order to achieve success. There are many different concepts and practical techniques covered, so there's something for everyone. At the end of the course, I feel more aware with how my actions impact my life and have already gotten a few habits down so that I just feel better overall.

par Eduardo O

7 avr. 2021

About a year ago I found the book "Learning how to learn" and was fascinated by the subject, but what really got my attention was the way the author wrote the book. I did some research and discovered that the author had made this and other MOOCS. I immediately enrolled in them. Each video is really well-thought of. The instructors are very effective with their topics. The videos are very stimulating because there is always motion. At least I found that stimulating. I would really recommend this MOOC to anybody, no matter what personal and professional background they come from.