Chevron Left
Retour à Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential par Université McMaster

4.8
étoiles
9,842 évaluations
2,870 avis

À propos du cours

Mindshift is designed to help boost your career and life in today’s fast-paced learning environment. Whatever your age or stage, Mindshift teaches you essentials such as how to get the most out of online learning and MOOCs, how to seek out and work with mentors, the secrets to avoiding career ruts (and catastrophes) and general ruts in life, and insights such as the value of selective ignorance over general competence. We’ll provide practical insights from science about how to learn and change effectively even in maturity, and we’ll build on what you already know to take your life’s learning in fantastic new directions. This course is designed to show you how to look at what you’re learning, and your place in what’s unfolding in the society around you, so you can be what you want to be, given the real world constraints that life puts on us all. You’ll see that by using certain mental tools and insights, you can learn and do more—far more—than you might have ever dreamed! This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or subsequent to, its companion course, Learning How to Learn. (Mindshift is more career focused, and Learning How to Learn is more learning focused.)...

Meilleurs avis

SM
21 juin 2020

I enjoyed this MOOC. It is very well-done and clearly covers the topics of mindshifting along with career advancement. Also--good illustrations and visuals/sounds which assist in the learning process.

DI
30 oct. 2020

Great course! This is a lot more general than Learning about Learning but is also useful nonetheless. I like the focus on keeping positive and being confident in your potential despite our weaknesses.

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 2,847 Avis pour Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

par Kaylyn L D

5 juin 2020

I truly enjoyed this course. It showed me other ways of looking at things that I previously thought of as weaknesses. Like learning at a slower pace is not all the time bad because being slower actually helps us learn a material deeper as to when we learn it quickly. Also, the value of poor memory but at the same time, it showed really creative ways of keeping facts in mind. The illustrations and analogies to explanations on how the brain works when learning happens gave insights on how I can help myself learn. The tips on MOOCing were also great. This course gave me great encouragement to embrace learning anything I may be interested in.

par Kevin M

9 mai 2020

I especially recommend this course to people who have never really researched about learning, learning techniques and how to learn better. This course will give you a good overview about how your brain works when learning new things and how you can become a better learner. It can really shift your mind, when you are new to the topic of learning. But even if you already have some knowledge about things like focused/diffused thinking, procrastination, focus techniques or the importance of reading, you still might get some new information out of this course. And you can go through it very fast, so it's definitely not a waste of time.

par MARLINE D L

23 juin 2020

YES! Definitely 5 STARS. The Course supports improvement of educational system in every part of the world, not just throughout college also for adult learners who would want to learn more.

The course mentors, DR. BARBARA OAKLEY & DR. TERRENCE SEJNOWSKI are greatly responsible for discussing all the details bit by bit, from one video to another, from start to finished very consistent in sharing the topic. The best part is, its not boring at all. I enthusiastically listen, watch and even write notes for added learnings throughout the program. I just love MOOcing!!! Learn, adjust, apply and share! Thank You for the Mindshift!

par Joshua J

25 juin 2019

This course is very inspiring and helpful to anybody who are in a career rut and have been struggling how to continue their career life. This course gave me many new insights on what to do next while in a boring career for 17 years and "jump-starts" again my motivation to learn new things and not to limit myself within my job specialization. The professors were very encouraging and explained the course ideas in a very simple but effective way. I would recommend this to anybody who has a passion on learning and to anybody who want to know some new insights to get them motivated to explore new things beyond their current job.

par Ricardo S C

1 avr. 2019

It was very enriching to do the second course with Barbara Oakley as an instructor. After 'Learning how to learn', 'Mindshift' helped me to better comprehend the concepts presented in her first MOOC and is currently serving as an inspiration to orientate my professional career. As it is taught throughout the course, only by an active learning/active approach, it is possible to change your path (of any kind). So I intend not only to use these MOOCs, but also search for new MOOCs and books, to continue finding information, technical knowledge, concrete examples, in order to have a more pleasant and successful life and career.

par Olga G

18 juin 2020

This is the second course I take created by Prof Oakley. "Learning how to learn" was a game-changer for me. I was a straight-A student during my school years but left my country and relocated after matriculating. Having to learn a new language from A, B took me some time and my attempts to study were mostly unsuccessful. 30 years later, after completing both Prof Oakley's courses, I am excited about learning again. I have enrolled in a new course and looking at upskilling and learning new disciplines. Thank you once again for making "Learning how to Learn" and "Mindshift" informative, encouraging, and very interesting.

par Laura I M G

5 juin 2017

I really enjoyed this class!

It is very useful regardless of your expertise, background, or age. You can apply what you learn in every aspect of your life, and I feel that it will transform it if you follow the wise advice given in it.

I definitively recommend taking this course. It is very engaging, with multiple animations, and very valuable information. The professors have conducted a good amount of research to help you feel more secure about exploring new horizons, in terms of learning. After taking this class I feel much more motivated and I also feel a great desire to continue learning new things.

par Shonal R

23 avr. 2020

It has been the most wonderful MOOC journey for me. You can expect a drastic change in your mindset, your personal development, growth and you'd yearn to learn more in no time! This MOOC taught me how to broaden my passions, learn something to its fullest, little tricks, and nooks to go through with your learning and academia. The part about Career was not applicable to me, as I am still quite young and a student. Overall, this is an essential course that I would recommend everyone to take. Its a once in a lifetime opportunity to learn something so great! That too from the best of the mentors globally.

par Ong Y L

22 sept. 2020

A powerful course with many actionable tips and advice for a fulfilling life of learning and career (re)invention. I love how Prof Barbara cares for her learners by sharing her real-life story of stress and its health consequences, along with concrete strategies on how to manage our emotions better. Prof Terry is amazing too as a walking example of a senior adult who learns and grows: he tried his best to be animated and humorous in this MOOC, as compared to his serious persona in Learning How to Learn. Thank you, Profs Barbara and Prof Terry for another brilliant MOOC that's so relevant and timeless!

par Justyna D

27 août 2017

Great course, way more interesting than I have anticipated - helps to keep you optimistic and motivated, provides good methods for reframing your mind and changing your attitude. 'Problems' become 'challenges' and nothing is as grave as it is when you put into practice some of the 'emotion labelling methods. The course also puts emphasis on importance of lifelong learning. To sum up - great teachers, who present material in an interesting way that attracts your attention. I would recommend everyone for a start (it was also my first MOOC and I am even more encouraged to take up more of those, but do i

par Kieko S

13 août 2020

During this course, I can solve a lot of mysteries that happened to me but I do not find the correct reason. For example, when I took a certain lesson I thought that I perfectly understood the contents of the lesson. Few days after the lesson I could recall some part of the lesson but I did not understand that main concept of the lesson that I thought I perfectly understood. I thought that it was caused by my poor working memory. That is not true, I did not questioned me if I understand the concept of the lesson on the next day. Thank you for letting me discover such lot of mysteries in my brain.

par Reagan E

1 juin 2017

Insightful and life-changing.Cleverly fun way to learn the ability towards learning and understanding.This is something we should take to prepare yourself before starting a new course. It's a must before diving into other courses training or practice.It helps you to have an effective way of absorbing new information which speeds up your learning.It is good for all ages who wants change,in general.It is a sort of a lobby before you start stepping at new doors of exploration or opportunities. It is like the golden rule in learning,and these rules are the few ones that isn't meant to be broken.

par Prem P G

21 juil. 2020

Mindshift was my 4th MOOC course on Coursera. It helped me to a great extent on my executive coaching profession. Concepts explained by author Barbara are very simple, practical and adoptable in daily life. It brought many new perspective like importance of slow learners, knowledge of unrelated filed, procrastination is not bad all the time. Other powerful techniques like focused and diffused thinking, pmomodoro techniques etc are real life changers. I witnessed the change in 3 weeks and commit for life long learning to keep my brain agile and improve on my mental and spiritual well-being.

par Asha S

17 déc. 2017

I find Barbara very supporting person. I like her calm and gentle manner with which she encourages her audience to keep learning by trying different styles of studying anything new despite of the age , education, career condition of the learners. I also find very useful that this course is based on science researches. Thanks Dr. Terry Sejnowski for that. I like that this course includes stories of success and nice tricks for learners like memory tips displayed by Nelson Dellis. It also helped me to understand more how actualy the learning process is implemented. Learning is great!

par ZINAT A

27 avr. 2020

Great course for all age groups! The course is a series of lectures with slides detailing specific key concepts. These key concepts are explained with analogy and metaphor hence making it very simple to understand. The course has a big focus on bringing that gear shift in the process of thinking in order to achieve success. There are many different concepts and practical techniques covered, so there's something for everyone. At the end of the course, I feel more aware with how my actions impact my life and have already gotten a few habits down so that I just feel better overall.

par Marifel S

24 juin 2020

This course is worth-taking not only for young people, but also for old ones as well. Just like what the title says, this course helps you "mind shift". For one, after taking the course for four (4) consecutive weeks, I started forming and entertaining ideas which I began to translate into small-step actions for self-improvement, for better learning, and for making my mind active. I also got to develop techniques to improve memory--thanks to bonus videos offered in this MOOC. Thank you professors and McMaster University (via Coursera) for this outstanding learning experience.

par Dominique W

14 janv. 2020

I took this course because I was very impressed with "Learning How to Learn." There is very valuable information in this course relating to life long learning, careers, mental tricks and the course touches on some neurology and how we technically learn. I did find that there was some small inconsistency and randomness though. Such as how to create a successful Massive Open Online Course which I felt was slightly irrelevant to the course as a whole.

I still do recommend this because there is valuable insight and I plan on reading the book this course was based off of.

par Amio R

1 déc. 2017

This is the first MOOC I have ever completed. I did not take the instructors' previous course Learning How To Learn and still this course was very helpful. I did not expect this course to be enjoyable. The scripts were very well written. The delivery of the instructors specially Barbara Oakley was top notch. I finished the course in less than a week. I must say this course has made a great impact on my mindset. I had enrolled into many MOOCs in the past but never completed one. It has made me eager to join and finish other MOOCs. I also wish to retake this course later.

par David G

18 avr. 2020

Very good course with nice hints for your future. It will help you have a better approach dealing with failures and help you learn better through multiples examples. Moreover, this course shows us as well why things that may be ours weaknesses or sound useless, may actually be our strength and that nothing is useless at the end of the day. Finally it shows us about the importance of passion and to broaden our passion and the environment evolve. AND LOTS OF OTHER THINGS :) The professors are knowledgeable and funny and the course is very interesting and well structured.

par Prabhjot K

9 mai 2020

It is an extremely wonderful course. Must have for everyone if they want to become successful not in their career but also in their lives. This can change the way you learn and look at things. If you are planning for career enhancement, career change or career switch then this MOOC must be the first step. I totally changed myself not only in how I look at things but also witnessed the change in the way I was thinking before. I would like to thank Dr. Barbara Oakley for creating such a wonderful course. All the best for everyone. Happy Learning and Happy. Mindshift.

par ankit k p

12 juin 2020

I have started feeling positive about myself and am aware of handling stressful situation by marking labels on to them and moving my emotional thinking to a more rational type and thereby getting rid of them a bit easily than before. Applied tricks and tips given by Mrs. Barabara Oakley and Dr. Terence Sejowski into daily life about deep learning. reframed my thoughts into rational ones and tried to get hold of a better lucrative side skill that is going to give me returns. Thankindg Barbara nad Ternce from the bottom of my heart to bring this MOOC available to us.

par Jamelah M

8 juin 2017

I love how friendly Dr. Oakley appears to be. She is always so excited about the material, it automatically makes me more interested in what she has to say. I think sharing her background and struggles made her down-to-earth and made me feel like if she can do it I can do it too. Many professors act as if they are high and mighty and that you could never be as intelligent as they are. Dr. Oakley showed me through her personal story and her teaching material that if I use the tips and techniques I've learned through both of her courses I can truly learn ANYTHING!!!

par Gursaajan S

17 avr. 2020

This was the first MOOC learning experience and it turned out to be best MOOC .The Instructor Barbara was fantastic with her work .The perfect timing where she added humor and metaphor were almost relatable .The course overall is something that's a bliss to mind and very good learning experience apart from majors.It indeed helped me to reframe my thoughts and be and get the positive side of myself .The career advice is the golden gem of this course which makes you understand of passion and working world needs a brilliant m ind to work.Overall The best experience

par Randi S

26 mai 2020

This course is enjoyable and good course for those who want to start taking a new field of learning, landing new career or just to develop personally. The subject is well teaching with good sense of humor. There are so many advices I can find here and many information that I never got before. It helps to motivate me and to leave every subject I fail and being not rude to myself. I just hate it when it finish. I really enjoyed the journey of watching this MOOC. Thanks for the great free MOOC. I hope I can apply it in my real life of long life learning.

par Elita F M U

3 juin 2020

I think the presentation is 100% good, the video, the speech, the themes, the questions. You can really feel that there were too many hours preparing this material. The ideas are very clear, so it helped me understand everything quickly and easily. The videos were short and fun and there was not as much reading as other courses. I really feel grateful and hope that this teacher can be blessed to do these good things for the world.

If you are reading this to decide whether or not to take the course, take it! It's easy, cool, fun and you will really learn!