Chevron Left
Retour à Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential par Université McMaster

4.8
étoiles
9,897 évaluations
2,880 avis

À propos du cours

Mindshift is designed to help boost your career and life in today’s fast-paced learning environment. Whatever your age or stage, Mindshift teaches you essentials such as how to get the most out of online learning and MOOCs, how to seek out and work with mentors, the secrets to avoiding career ruts (and catastrophes) and general ruts in life, and insights such as the value of selective ignorance over general competence. We’ll provide practical insights from science about how to learn and change effectively even in maturity, and we’ll build on what you already know to take your life’s learning in fantastic new directions. This course is designed to show you how to look at what you’re learning, and your place in what’s unfolding in the society around you, so you can be what you want to be, given the real world constraints that life puts on us all. You’ll see that by using certain mental tools and insights, you can learn and do more—far more—than you might have ever dreamed! This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or subsequent to, its companion course, Learning How to Learn. (Mindshift is more career focused, and Learning How to Learn is more learning focused.)...

Meilleurs avis

DI
30 oct. 2020

Great course! This is a lot more general than Learning about Learning but is also useful nonetheless. I like the focus on keeping positive and being confident in your potential despite our weaknesses.

SM
21 juin 2020

I enjoyed this MOOC. It is very well-done and clearly covers the topics of mindshifting along with career advancement. Also--good illustrations and visuals/sounds which assist in the learning process.

Filtrer par :

176 - 200 sur 2,859 Avis pour Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

par Kevin M K M

20 oct. 2020

This course took me about 8 days to complete, it's well structured with short videos and very engaging content. I had already taken Barbara's first-course Learning How To Learn and this felt like a sequel to the first course. I highly recommend this course to anyone looking to improve on their learning techniques whether you are currently in the process of learning or thinking about embarking on a learning journey.

par Dr S T L

30 juil. 2020

it was a wonderful and enjoyable learning space .Barbara is indeed a great role model as she shares her own mindshift across disciplines

i truly enjoyed both her and Terry way of teaching that made the whole experience invigorating for me at 52 years.

it has been higly validating that i was and am and will be a Mindshifter and a life long learner !

thank you all and happy and joyful learning times ahead !

par Eva M C T

21 août 2020

I learned so much from this course Midshift. I happened to know myself more and because I learned how approach people, accept new learning and skills, and adapt with new environments, in a very creative way. The whole course team especially Ms. Barbara Oakley and Sir Terrence Sejnowski did a great job. They were such effective mentors. I can't thank you enough, but thank you so much. God bless and more power!

par Parikshit M

28 avr. 2020

This was my first MOOC and I am overwhelmed with the online teaching qualities of Dr. Barbara.

My first week did not give me the kick and I got more into the course after starting week 2.

Some times it was becoming too technical and I was like… why… ? But every aspects is stitched well and I realized the importance of those technicalities as well.

I strongly recommend to take the MIndShift now… Now

Thank You

par Francoise F

2 oct. 2017

This course like his sister course: "Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects" should simply be a prerequisite for anybody on this planet who starts learning or teaching no matter when. I strongly believe also that a simpler version for very young kids and kids should also be created too. Well done to the instructors/mentors of these two courses. You are simply the best!

par Oscar

29 juil. 2017

Muchas gracias a Coursera por esta maravillosa oportunidad de aprender de la mano de personas tan valiosas e importantes como lo son la Dra. Barbara Oakley y el Dr. Terrence Sejnowski.

Muchas gracias por permitirme tener el honor de acceder a conocimiento de calidad.

Dios permita que algún día toda la educación mundial pueda ser 100 % gratis, incluidos los programas especializados y certificados.

Hasta Pronto

par Andres M

3 mai 2017

It is an amazing science based course (explained in a way that anyone can get it) about your mind and how you can make changes in your life through learning. It has very practical advice about many aspects that help you understand how your mind works and how to use it to better your life, no matter what you have experienced before. Thank you very much, again (for this course and for ‘Learning How to Learn’).

par Maged R

21 août 2017

Mindshift continues the success of Learning How To Learn, a catchy course that helped me to plan and set points of what to look for in my learning journey, how to set goals and how to overcome procrastination and how to deal with emotions from past experiences and the worries of the future, it also reinforced the importance of reading and shed the light on MOOCS and their invaluable weight in today's world.

par Priya K S

27 juin 2020

I enjoyed this course and found it very useful and practical. The content and presentation was really good. Keeps the interest going with simple concepts backed with scientifically proven research and data to explain the concepts. Helped in bringing out new perspectives to any situations in life. The sessions were short and clear with fun learning which helps you understand and retain the concepts clearly.

par Vinson C

28 mai 2020

The instructor Dr. Barbara Oakley is very good. Her class is fun, easy to understand and the teaching is practical and useful at the same time. It gives me a new perspective of how online learning should be. Whether you are having trouble learning, feeling frustrated about your career, questioning about your own ability, or looking for ways to learn effectively, this is the class you don't want to miss.

par Danica B

21 sept. 2017

It's a great course, a brush up on Learning how to Learn and expanding it to realize - you can learn anything!It reviews basically all the concepts from Learning how to Learn, and builds wonderfully.If you are doubting whether you can learn something or if you keep failing and procrastinating, this course will give you amazing advice supported by research on what to do to improve the position you're in :)

par Diana S

11 févr. 2020

This is a great course for everyone. It is well designed. The content and delivery method is excellent. Mindshift is filled with a treasure chest of tips and tricks for learning and skill development. The course contains a perfect mix of practical and theoretical content. I suggest everyone take this course as the information will have a positive impact on your life happily leading you to a Mindshift.

par M E

25 mai 2020

Thanks to Dr Barbara, Tery and all other team members for presenting this wonderful and lively course. I completed this course, spending 2 hours a week on it and I have a good reputation for being taken this course. This course broadened my outlook about the learning process. This will help me to take a good plan for my futue plan. I hope this team will bring new MOOC as soon as possible. Thanks again!

par Joshua A W

12 mai 2020

I can say this course is perfect. The lecturers provide informations and insights from what you can learn and share. There are various illustration in each of the video provided with a humor added. I can say that i'm not bored to repeat this course again. Dr. Barbara Oakley also shared about her history and her experience on what she has learned during her life which is very inspiring to the students.

par Vivek

3 mai 2017

Best MOOC of self development. Often we never discussed topics like how to change field specially when we grow older, reason is, proof less myth spreaded in the society about learning new things at old age. This MOOC debunked such myth and also give insightful coverage of different aspect of mindshift. If you are reading this review I would personally recommend to take this MOOC if you want mindshift.

par Dries G J

30 juil. 2017

Loved this course! It is a really great way to help me overcome the fear of being "stuck in a career" or thinking that the skills I have are "not relevant" in the future job market. This course gave me practical examples of the best ways to broaden my existing passions, know the benefits of doing simple things such as taking breaks, finding a mentor, reading more and discovering my hidden potential!

par Aya E F

31 déc. 2017

This course has been very beneficial to me. It tackled through a lot of important topics for me such as procrastination and career shifting. It encouraged me and made me believe that I am on the right track of my career.

It's simple, easy and highly recommended.

We're never too old to keep learning and it's never to late to enhance your skills and increase them.

Thank you Dr Oakley and Dr. Sejnowski

par Ayisha L

16 juil. 2020

I enrolled this MOOC to learn how to learn and my expectation was fulfilled to a 100%. I learnt that human brain is a powerful tool whose abilities are limited by human thoughts and beliefs. The course, its excellent videos and the instructor gave mind blowing insights. I don't normally rate high, but this course deserves a 10/10. I cant thank Coursera enough for housing such incredible courses!

par Georgia W

27 avr. 2020

I have never done a MOOC before and i am so thankful this was the first one i chose to do. The bar is certainly set high now for any other MOOCS i will be taking in the future. I had not done much learning for a while so i was very nervous to start up again. This course helped me gain confidence and knowledge around always learning and i cannot take what i have learnt out into the real world.

par Adrianto R

1 mai 2020

I love this subject. Learning How To Learning and Mindshift is a complete set of tools that make me more comfortable in learn. I learn that learning style is similar to driving or riding style in real or virtual motorsport world. So i can adapt what I learn from virtual motorsport or other video games skills to my learning style and process. Thank you Mrs Barbara for this incredible journey.

par Wanderley G

10 janv. 2018

Study is my hobby and I think that I am much more prepared to get more from it after attending this course. You are going to find discussions about meditation, active learning, reading habits, memorization tricks and more. You are also going to find some important discussion about how much important is conceptual understanding and practice with repetition. I wish you enjoy as much as I did.

par PallaviPandavula

30 sept. 2020

This course is one the best courses I have ever taken. This course gives you a broader perspective of study, career, life altogether. This course gifted me with valuable insights for which I feel really grateful. I strongly believe that this course would be useful to any person who wishes to become a better version of himself , irrespective of age ,background. I enjoyed taking this course.

par Judy O

13 avr. 2020

Course information applicable for every age and stage of career re: new methods of framing your mindset about how to learn new information and how what you have thought of a negative trait may actually be an advantage for creativity, short cuts and deeper concept understanding. Easy to keep up with just a few hours a week through short MOOC"s, keep concepts, polls and only a few tests.

par Margarita G S

7 mai 2020

A very comprehensive course with plenty of advice and strategies to learn better and pursue our dreams in a more effective way. The videos are interesting and funny, there are plenty of mini tests and mini forums to test our knowledge and Barb and Terry have put their passion into this course just as much as in Learning to Learn. I highly recommend you take it, it's worth every second.

par Thomas S

19 mai 2017

Very inspiring and motivating MOOC by Barbara Oakley and Terrence Sejnowski. They provide clean lessons in a structured and appealing way. I liked the quizzes, the integration of entries (essays) to the discussion forum. I learned a lot while having fun with this extraordinary course. Finally I want to mention the natural, but fundamental way both Barbara and Terrence teach the course.