Chevron Left
Retour à Mathematics for Computer Science

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Mathematics for Computer Science par Université de Londres

4.1
16 notes
7 avis

À propos du cours

“Welcome to Introduction to Numerical Mathematics. This is designed to give you part of the mathematical foundations needed to work in computer science in any of its strands, from business to visual digital arts, music, games. At any stage of the problem solving and modelling stage you will require numerical and computational tools. We get you started in binary and other number bases, some tools to make sense of sequences of numbers, how to represent space numerical using coordinates, how to study variations of quantities via functions and their graphs. For this we prepared computing and everyday life problems for you to solve using these tools, from sending secret messages to designing computer graphics. If you wish to take it further you can join the BSc Computer Science degree and complete the full module ‘Numerical Mathematics’. Enjoy!”...

Meilleurs avis

Filtrer par :

1 - 8 sur 8 Examens pour Mathematics for Computer Science

par Bingxin Q

Jun 17, 2019

There are still some unsolved bugs of the grading system in the exam.

par Volodymyr B

May 10, 2019

I'm on week 3. So far so good. Challenging. Love practical tasks with implementation of steganography and cryptography.

par Chan C K

May 10, 2019

quizes are sometime buggy otherwise everything is fine

par Greg L

May 03, 2019

still errors in quizzes after notification in beta-test. No-one from staff replies to comments or forums. I really want to give it 3.5, not 4

par 강병재

Mar 17, 2019

Some questions are wrong.

Tells us formulas but doesn't tell the proof of it.

par Jordan W

Mar 06, 2019

Great review of maths for comp sci

par Sébastien L

Mar 05, 2019

I have learnt quite a few things in this course. However, I will point out that you must be very attentive and not too surprised when you find a mistake, as they are common. I will leave aside the fact that there weren't many classmates around, which prevents you from having meaningful conversations in the forums and feedback on your peer-reviewed assignments, but I believe it is of interest to realize this soon enough as to not have unrealistic expectations. I was especially disappointed with the quality of the quizzes and other assignments: there were many mathematical expressions that weren't formatted correctly which made it very hard to decipher them. Apart from having badly formatted questions (containing spelling mistakes here and there), there are a few instances where even the answers gathered from the grading tools are wrong in some cases and at the very least ambiguous in other cases. I knew most of the material before taking the course and I was unable to achieve a perfect grade, partly due to the fact that there is absolutely no support from the teaching staff and partly due to the grading system used by the university. On the positive side, most of the videos were engaging in my opinion and all the concepts presented are directly useful to any computer scientist. I particularly enjoyed the first half of the course on number bases and modular arithmetic. Depending on your background, you may find the second half of the course somewhat basic, yet still useful. Overall, I would recommend other courses such as CS50 by Harvard University before this one if you are looking for a certificate. Otherwise, you can skip assignments, do not worry too much about the grades and learn important concepts from this course as a great mathematical foundation in computer science.

par Deleted A

Feb 20, 2019

The content is very interesting and the professor is amazing.

But, the quality of the examinations could use some perfecting, although they are challenging and relevant which is a very good thing!