Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction à la psychologie

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction à la psychologie par Université de Toronto

4.9
étoiles
4,414 évaluations
1,502 avis

À propos du cours

This course will highlight the most interesting experiments within the field of psychology, discussing the implications of those studies for our understanding of the human mind and human behavior. We will explore the brain and some of the cognitive abilities it supports like memory, learning, attention, perception and consciousness. We will examine human development - both in terms of growing up and growing old - and will discuss the manner in which the behavior of others affect our own thoughts and behavior. Finally we will discuss various forms of mental illness and the treatments that are used to help those who suffer from them. The fact of the matter is that humans routinely do amazing things without appreciating how interesting they are. However, we are also routinely influenced by people and events without always being aware of those influences. By the end of this course you will have gained a much better understanding and appreciation of who you are and how you work. And I can guarantee you that you'll learn things that you'll be telling your friends and family about, things that will fundamentally change the way you think of yourself and others. How can you resist that?!...

Meilleurs avis

AA
25 janv. 2021

I found this course very interesting and interactive. I especially enjoyed the week of extra videos where we went into detailed psychological concepts like dreaming. Thank you for an amazing 12 weeks!

ND
27 nov. 2021

Perfect start. This motivates me to learn more. Prof. Steve is my favorite teacher now. Couldn't have asked for a better person to teach me. Scratched the surface pretty well, now time to dive deeper.

Filtrer par :

1376 - 1400 sur 1,484 Avis pour Introduction à la psychologie

par Carla D

4 mai 2017

I absolutely loved this course. It really is a great and thorough introduction to the fundamentals of Psychology and Psychological theory. Towards the end of the course, the lectures felt a bit material-heavy and rushed, in that there wasn't enough time anymore to cover it all so maybe it would be good to extend the course period. But aside from that, everything was great. Steve is a wonderful professor and his lectures were interesting and engaging. I would definitely recommend this course to others.

par Katharine A

9 juil. 2017

I really enjoyed this course. Professor Joordens is super knowledgeable and his interest in the subject is evident. The extra videos and resources were an added bonus. Some of the links were no longer working (copyright reasons, etc.), and I may be incorrect about this, but a couple questions on the final seemed to be about material that hadn't been covered (about parenting, I think?). Overall, great course, and I'd recommend it to anyone looking to explore the subject.

par Rokas Z

19 janv. 2021

Awesome course! I have payed for courses before this on other sites and payed decent amounts of money, I am glad I discovered this one.

Very informative and the professor himself is great. Made me chuckle a few times. Learned a lot here.

Only reason of not giving 5stars is that many of the links added at the power point or at the end of the lecture are not working and some seem outdates. It would be great if this course would be reorganised.

Nevertheless amazing course.

par James T

15 mars 2017

I enjoyed everything about this course. The lectures were snappy, engaging and informative. The topics moved quickly, but not so much that it skimmed.

The resources don't always work (because the links are external) and the exams are misaligned, with questions on the Week 6 exam based on lectures from Week 7. This is a problem, and will reduce people's grades for sure, but this doesn't sway me from recommending this course.

par kevinm

20 déc. 2017

It gave me a good overall foundation for future psychology courses and the content was interesting and properly-leveled.

The only downsides were some outdated supplementary materials, a wonky interface for the final paper submission, and a plethora of unprofessional typos/misspellings (e.g. "agression" or "predjudice" or even the final exam had a misspelling in one of the answers "confindence" or something like that).

par Justin L

3 juil. 2020

This course is an excellent choice for anyone seeking to gain an introduction to Psychology, The course is delivered with an emphasis on understanding and allows you to take in each topic ranging from Neurology to Mental Illness. I will highly recommend this course in the future. Professor Joordens is excellent and does what it takes in his online video lectures so as you will take information and learn from it.

par diane m

9 déc. 2018

Never thought I could enjoy so much 12 weeks on psychology! Thanks to Steeve Joordens it was really easy to understand the various topics. I've learned so much and it gave me the hint to know more and to use this knowledge in my professional field. I have now enrolled for positive psychology course, and this introduction gave me a good base to keep on going further.... Thanks so much!

par Chandra L G

12 mars 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed the teaching style of this instructor. Would have preferred to continue future educating with the same instructor. The courses do account for time out of the education system. Ppl can also sign on at their convenience and the deadline reminders were a life saver. I have already signed up to continue moving forward, keeping an active brain and learning. Thrilled!

par Angelos A

4 déc. 2020

I would have given it 5 stars, however the course needs improvement on the evaluation process. After finishing my assignment I could either receive evaluations nor give mine to peers. As deadline was approaching and as the review algorithm was not giving me any feedback, I had to go fishing in the forum of week 10 in order to find who wanted to be reviewed and ask to review mine.

par Gilbert R

1 janv. 2020

Last YearI received this course with Steve.I took the course for free and was very happy to do it again this year.

I was a few points averaged under 70 but started right off the start on the Quiz with 45%.I stuck to the course for close to the year and wasn't too worried about my certificates! I’m looking forward for this years . Happy New Year’s course.gilbert

par Hakim B

6 févr. 2018

Fascinating topic and most of the classes were relevant, covering a large array of questions from the structure of the brain, to the explanation of childhood trauma. But having a very synthetic turn of mind, I would have liked to get shorter lessons, straight to the point (even if the teacher's style was really enjoyable and relaxing). Thank you teacher!

par sarah l

15 déc. 2017

The lectures were engaging and relevant. I also appreciating the introduction to a multitude of theories and experiments. My only frustration was the lack of effort put in by classmates where the peer reviewed assignment was concerned. Many wrote nonsensical phrases such as "abcdef" and I felt that the peer review grading was lacking critical thought.

par Josh

19 juil. 2017

I really enjoyed this course - the professor was really animated and you could tell he really enjoyed teaching his subject. However, I wish there was more exploration of each topic. The prof. does give a whole host of resources at the end of each lecture with which one can explore however i feel as if the lecture was slightly time constrained.

par Kjell D M

25 oct. 2017

Great course to get a rough delineation of the main concepts of psychology. The tutor is a good teacher, he's funny, knows his content well, and most importantly can bring it over in a simple but deep enough way (with clean powerpoint slides and meaningful extra material). Kudos to you Steve! Thank you very much to whoever worked on this. :)

par Hitesh G 1

25 août 2021

Some of the links provided don't work. They are not directly accessible in some lectures. The optional videos are all in the end instead of parallel to the weeks. Other than these technical issues, I really enjoyed this course and even felt like Prof. Joordens did an excellent job at teaching it. I look forward to more of his work.

par Arun A

29 janv. 2021

Hi all, This course, as the name suggests, is oriented towards an introduction to Psychology. They have covered few of the key aspects and explained them beautifully. If you are looking for in depth concepts its better to look for a full time degree courses. Overall a good introduction to the course with good faculties.

par Huthayfah A

22 oct. 2017

The material is very easy to grasp for beginners. Moreover, the instructor presents in a way that always makes you curious and interested to learn more and, best of all, makes the presentation itself fun.

The only problem is with the exams, which occasionally ask you questions on material not yet covered.

par Ram P

15 mars 2017

Very friendly approach & easy way of teaching made me more positive. Some PPTs were dark so that i couldn't focus well on letters but all other aspects were nice. Especially my Prof. Steve Joordans was very friendly. i miss his lecture a lot. Overall it was a wonderful experience. Thanks a lot.

par Abdelrahman E

11 janv. 2020

A great starting point for whom need to learn about Psychology. but i think it will be better if video lectures contain more illustration and written items and short videos showing the experiments discussed in the lecture.

Thank you for giving me such a great opportunity to learn more.

Love you.

par Immanuel A

8 mai 2021

Great course, thank you Professor Joordens! This course gave me good foundations in psychology. The professor is funny, lively, and we can see that he enjoys teaching this course so much. The modules are arranged and categorized nicely. And there are interesting bonus videos!

par Wilma M - P

12 juin 2018

I find the course GREAT! A Game -changer, Relevant and Research-based, Engaging and Enriching, Awesome Professor and Thought-provoking lectures and discussionsGREAT! Thank you very much Professor Steeve Joordens, to Coursera and to our peers for this learning opportunity.

par Chanuwas A

30 déc. 2016

I found the course pretty engaging. I enjoy studying it and also feel encouraged to do some further study. However, the topics that are taught are not very holistic to me compared to some other basic psychology courses. Anyway, it's still a nice course to take :)

par Temitope A O

13 juin 2020

While registering for this course, I made a payment from the VISA Card with my wife's visa card. The name on it is Ibironke M Oguntuase. Surprisingly , I cant find my certificate at the end of the course.

Kindly check and do the needful urgently.

par Taylor C

30 janv. 2018

Course itself was perfect, materials were taught in a great way, both enriching and understandable.

My only concerns are the practices and exams. It would be better if more practice questions were provided and exam answers were given to students.