Chevron Left
Retour à International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice par Université de Leyde

4.8
étoiles
936 évaluations
205 avis

À propos du cours

“International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice” is the first MOOC of the Kalshoven-Gieskes Forum on International Humanitarian Law, which is the platform within the Grotius Centre for International Legal Studies of Leiden University for the research, teaching and dissemination of international humanitarian law (IHL). In this course, Prof. Robert Heinsch, Dr. Giulia Pinzauti and Dr. Emma Irving will give you a deep insight into the rules that govern armed conflict, and aim to mitigate human suffering on the battlefield. You will explore the why and how of IHL, followed by the different types of conflict. In no time you will find out which rules apply to the civil war in Syria, the military intervention in Ukraine and the occupation of the West Bank. During this course, you will learn how hostilities should be waged: Which weapons can be used by combatants and other fighters? And, who should never be a target during military operations? We will also look into the concept of protected persons, and you will find out how IHL affords protection to the sick and wounded, medical personal, detainees, children, journalists and other persons who are not - or not anymore - fighting. At the end of this course, you are introduced to the different implementation and enforcement mechanisms that aim to increase respect for IHL. Here, you are invited to think critically whether IHL works! Throughout this course you will benefit from a mix of theory and practice, which is at the heart of the vision and mandate of the Kalshoven-Gieskes Forum. You can participate for instance in an ongoing case study where drones are flying over the fictitious country Arfula, and detainees are locked up in tiny cells. Or, you can join our discussions about IHL success stories and the major IHL challenges we face today, with distinguished speakers from the International Committee of the Red Cross and US Naval War College! This course is free to join and to participate in. There is the possibility to get a verified certificate for the course, which is a paid option. If you want a certificate, but are unable to pay for it, you can request financial aid via Coursera....

Meilleurs avis

AK
14 déc. 2018

this course is helpful in basic understanding of IHL and in understanding the difference between Human rights laws and IHL enforcements . Teaching Faculty clarified simplified the overview very well.

VS
30 mai 2019

A really very wonderful, articulate and helpful course. The Professors were great with their knowledge and presentations. The practical insight given by the guest-speakers were just priceless.

Filtrer par :

51 - 75 sur 204 Avis pour International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice

par Гостев Ф А

27 oct. 2020

A very good basic course on the IHL. Good structure and content, very helpful to set the foundation. Features a great amount of linked sources, interesting further readings, podcast interviews etc, which is worth your time.

par Aditia B S

22 janv. 2020

Really helping me to understand what International Humanitarian Law, this course acquire more some knowledges and law-vocabulary in the same time. It's appropriate with you who want to learn more about international law

par Stacey B

9 mai 2020

A truly insightful course which gives you a good introduction to IHL in theory and in practice, especially for those with no background on the topic. Every concept is well-explained and the content is rich as well.

par Marina T d M F

12 mars 2020

It's a privilege to have access to this content. I had a clear understanding of the mechanisms of IHL and how they differ from regular international law and hopefully can apply it further on my education.

par Elvira M J

24 nov. 2019

A complete and highly recommendable MOOC: enjoyable, with accurate readings, video training, podcasts and a case study that is being extended with each module. I recommend it without a doubt.

par Elisa B

26 déc. 2018

Really interesting course, well-organised and full of useful information. Thank you to all the Course Team for making it so enjoyable to learn so much about such a complex subject.

par Jack A C

28 déc. 2020

I really appreciate the panel of professors, and their sharing content is very helpful for my career. Most importantly, the exclusive interviews with experts are definitely fabulous

par Ethel E W

14 déc. 2020

Cousera constantly reviews the course to make it easier for learners.

It's been a great course study and my own pace. Thank you so much to all the parties who made this possible.

par Gisela A C R

10 juil. 2019

I enjoyed this course immensely. There is enough material as well as additional material to delve deeper into the content of the course. I will definitely recomend this course.

par Daniil B

7 avr. 2020

That's an incredibly interesting course, it can make you interested in Humanitarian Law if you've never heard of it. I was enjoying all the time I participated in the course!

par Patience M N

12 juin 2019

I'm enjoying the course. The quiz part is brainstorming as it mandates and allows one to pay attention to the detail in the explanations given.

Thank you for this course.

par Ajay R

20 juin 2020

The best course to understand the basics of International Humanitarian Laws. The tutors have remarkably succeeded in making this subject quite interesting and engaging.

par Elena V

21 mars 2020

It was the most interesting course of Coursera. I'm specialised in IHL for 2 years and notwithstanding this fact I found out many important things. Thank you very much!

par Daniela D

14 mars 2019

Es un curso excelente, te ponen casos practicos para que los estudies y te indican en donde se encuentras la normas de DIH, así como su explicación e interpretación

par Johnny E

10 juin 2019

This is a nice course, It helps me open many ideas about International Humanitarian Law and the role of this IHL for every individual and for a society in general.

par Jose S M

28 juin 2020

Excellent course to understand International Humanitarian Law. This will help a lot in my teaching of Constitutional Law and International Law. Thanks and cheers!

par Olena N

28 déc. 2019

I Liked this course. I do recommend International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice for all who interested in International Humanitarian Law. Many thanks.

par Avinash S

6 juin 2019

excellent course for the understanding of the international humanitarian law both for academicians and practitioners to begin a further study on the subject.

par Malu C

27 juil. 2019

This course has helped me for a better understanding of the International Humanitarian Law, its implementation and enforcement. It will help me in my career

par Andreea I

29 janv. 2019

This course is very well structured and the video lessons are thoroughly explained, in a language for anyone to understand. I am really enjoying it so far!!

par Charlotte E

4 oct. 2019

Really interesting, through and enjoyable course. So much to learn but really gives you the insight into the complexities and obstacles to consider in IHL.

par Soumaya

7 juin 2020

I am absolutly delighted with this course! I have gained a great understanding of IHL and it did broaden my perspective of law in war times.

Thank you!

par Maroof R

19 août 2019

Though it was my first MOOC, but the kind of which made me interested for more electronic self-education! Indeed a perfect website to excel and thrive!

par Tofail A

27 sept. 2019

As a humanitarian, it's a highly demanded course to me. Will put in my practice and so on the "International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice"

par Ewa R

31 juil. 2019

Very comprehensive course, which helped me to systematize my knowledge. I definitely recommend it, and am thankful for the possibility to take it!