Chevron Left
Retour à International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice par Université de Leyde

4.8
étoiles
475 évaluations
113 avis

À propos du cours

“International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice” is the first MOOC of the Kalshoven-Gieskes Forum on International Humanitarian Law, which is the platform within the Grotius Centre for International Legal Studies of Leiden University for the research, teaching and dissemination of international humanitarian law (IHL). In this course, Prof. Robert Heinsch, Dr. Giulia Pinzauti and Dr. Emma Irving will give you a deep insight into the rules that govern armed conflict, and aim to mitigate human suffering on the battlefield. You will explore the why and how of IHL, followed by the different types of conflict. In no time you will find out which rules apply to the civil war in Syria, the military intervention in Ukraine and the occupation of the West Bank. During this course, you will learn how hostilities should be waged: Which weapons can be used by combatants and other fighters? And, who should never be a target during military operations? We will also look into the concept of protected persons, and you will find out how IHL affords protection to the sick and wounded, medical personal, detainees, children, journalists and other persons who are not - or not anymore - fighting. At the end of this course, you are introduced to the different implementation and enforcement mechanisms that aim to increase respect for IHL. Here, you are invited to think critically whether IHL works! Throughout this course you will benefit from a mix of theory and practice, which is at the heart of the vision and mandate of the Kalshoven-Gieskes Forum. You can participate for instance in an ongoing case study where drones are flying over the fictitious country Arfula, and detainees are locked up in tiny cells. Or, you can join our discussions about IHL success stories and the major IHL challenges we face today, with distinguished speakers from the International Committee of the Red Cross and US Naval War College! This course is free to join and to participate in. There is the possibility to get a verified certificate for the course, which is a paid option. If you want a certificate, but are unable to pay for it, you can request financial aid via Coursera....

Meilleurs avis

AK

Dec 15, 2018

this course is helpful in basic understanding of IHL and in understanding the difference between Human rights laws and IHL enforcements . Teaching Faculty clarified simplified the overview very well.

VS

May 31, 2019

A really very wonderful, articulate and helpful course. The Professors were great with their knowledge and presentations. The practical insight given by the guest-speakers were just priceless.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 112 Avis pour International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice

par Md. A U

May 22, 2019

This was an amazing journey with the my respected Professors of Leiden University. I am really pleased to have this course completed successfully which have enriched my knowledge about actual implementation and enforcement of International Humanitarian Law. This was my first journey with Leiden University and I enjoyed the whole journey with this course. Hope see you soon with another challenge with new course to expand my knowledge in Humanitarian World.

par Kusal K A

Dec 10, 2018

'International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice' is a very creative and knowledgeable online course which is created for the law students who are learning IHL. I would like to thank for the course creators to make such a good online course for the law students in worldwide. This course has been a source of intellectual enrichment and practical professional development for me.

par Baagala E L

Feb 01, 2020

This has been really an amazing course.I have acquired a lot of knowledge in IHL.The beauty about this course is that we didn't only stop at studying the theoretical aspects of IHL but also the practical aspects across the globe are incorporated therein; contemporary IHL issues which has given me a clear insight on various matters regarding IHL it's applicability, implementation and enforcement.Iam really grateful and thankful.

Thank you Leiden University -Kalshoven Gieskes Forum ( Leiden KGF).

par Yolondie R C

Feb 01, 2019

This course was really comprehensive and engaging! It addressed a lot of really complex areas of law in a practical way that was easy to understand and really get involved with. I also really appreciated how there was a specific focus on how we can actually begin contributing to the field of international humanitarian law now and how we can pursue a career in such a fascinating area of law. Thank you for providing such a fantastic course!

par Basanti M

Dec 21, 2018

Incredible opporunity to learn more about this niche area of International Law. This course offers a a great, basic, introduction to International Humanitarian Law and is catered to everyone. You do not need to have a law degree to understand the contents of this course and it really offers you a well rounded idea of what IHL is, how to approach understanding IHL and the ways in which it is currently being challenged.

par Osca A F

Mar 25, 2019

I HAVE REALLY ENJOY THE COURSE AND I AM FOREVER GRATEFUL TO COURSERA FOR ALLOWING TO TAKE MY DREAM COURSE. THANK YOU AND THANK YOU ONCE AGAIN. I NOW WANT TO PERSUE MASTERS PROGRAM IF THE UNIVERSITY OF LEIDEN WOULD GIVE ME THE OPPORTUNITY.

THE COURSE HAS BEEN SO MUCH INTERESTING ABOUT IHL , ICRC, ICC AND THE BODIES IHL LAIISED WITH . THANKS ONCE AGAIN.

par RABIA W

Feb 17, 2019

Excellent course for law students...

par Omran a

Mar 27, 2020

This training course is very enjoyable and excellent in the field of international humanitarian law. I liked the sequence of topics and the different method of training from reading and listening and showing examples that occurred on the practical reality and training applications on the issue presented .. I hope that this training course will be developed on the Internet because it is undoubtedly valuable It is useful for those who are interested and interested in international humanitarian law.

I would like to suggest, that a specific training course be held so that the participants are registered before the start of the course and divided them into working groups at the end of the course to talk and discuss with each other in each group and then put the application issue and solve it according to opinions and analytical discussions, for example dividing the working groups into a defense team and a prosecution team General, the judges' team and the contradiction of the Ervola case and the violations that occurred

par Syed H

May 17, 2019

Dear Professor Robert Heinsch | Professor Giulia Pinzauti | Professors Emma Irving & Cinny Buys of the Universiteit Leiden & Kalshoven-Gieskes Forum. THANK YOU.

As I completed my Course today with Honors, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the very clear, concise lectures and videos that enabled me to follow and understand the content of the course. The research you put into your lectures right from Week 1 to Week 5 were well thought of and sequential for any student to follow which is commendable. Your instructions along with audio-video, and the interviews of guest speakers were very clear, and the voice tone quality superb, all which enhanced the learning experience. It has been a pleasure learning from your lectures.

par Riham F

Mar 08, 2020

The course is incredibly presented and the material is outstanding! Just the right amount of knowledge and study with further enrichment applicable. The case study is perfect to implement what was learned in each module. Perfect presentation from the Professors. I am focusing to get tangible career path out of this course.

Please offer more relative courses to International work and sustainability.

Thank you so much!

par TOM M G

Dec 06, 2018

I would have no hesitation in recommending this course. The content was excellent and the lectures were presented in a manner which allowed one to easily absorb and understand the subject matter. The pod casts from the outside experts during the course were absolutely fantastic. Many thanks for putting on such an interesting course which has further fueled my interest in International Humanitarian Law.

par Steven E d G

Dec 22, 2018

The content is sufficient and well presented, without overloading the student with too much information. Theories are also connected with real-world examples, which makes the lessons easy to appreciate and relate to. The overall structure of the course is organized and well planned. Thanks to Kalshoven-Gieskes Forum, Grotius Centre for International Legal Studies, and Leiden University.

par Bešir I

Mar 21, 2020

This was my first online course and I am very pleased with this kind of education and learning. It is interesting and a huge advantage is that you have an opportunity to access the course whenever you want. I am sure I will attend many more courses, especially because of positive experience on this one. I recommend it!

par Molly A W

Oct 19, 2019

I completely loved this course and I learnt so much about IHL and how its put into practice and it has helped me realize that I really want to study Law and so I am now applying for Bachelors Programs at various universities in The Netherlands and Ireland, my dream is now to become a Human Rights Lawyer.

par Cassandra B

Apr 19, 2019

The course explores all the main components of IHL. However it also introduces the student to contemporary issues and challenges in IHL. It is very didactic with the case study on Arfula. Explanations are great and all the professors interesting. I like the fact to have podacts with visiting experts.

par Didem

Dec 14, 2018

absolutely I have learned a lot. I'm now thinking to learn much more about IHL and write an article about it. I loved teachers and the way that they explains very serious subjects to us. I hope I can be there, in Leiden, in The Hague :) again, thank you all. I am really grateful.

par Rick a D N V

Jan 19, 2019

Excellent course! Objective material with well-prepared teachers. All exercises and activities are practical, with a very good theoretical basis. The "Arfula Case" is the icing on the cake, inasmuch as it presents an stimulating and pedagogical option to deepen knowledge about IHL.

par Gabriela G N

Jul 12, 2019

It's been such an easy way to learn a lot about IHL!, even if your academic background is very low or not related at any point, you will find flexible and high quality interviews, lectures and additional material to learn as much as you can, noticing your progress week by week.

par Despina K

May 18, 2019

Excellent organIsation and categorisation of the modules. Very important and enlightening course for all of us who try to keep up the law in every range. Your university made the so called achievement on education on IHL, especially in nowadays worldwide warlike circumstances.

par Karl B P A

Jan 06, 2020

Leiden U's IHL course offered broad and current perspectives alongside in-depth discussion of the different laws constituting the entire body of IHL. I felt comfortable with the mixed activities encouraging retention of knowledge, as well as discussion with peers.

par Amina Z

Aug 12, 2019

Really enjoyed it! Completed 5 weeks in one! Is suitable for both those who already have some knowledge of IHL and those who just start getting familiar with it. Many thanks to all the people who worked on this course and made it available for us! Best of luck!

par Lyhak C

Nov 25, 2019

This course provides a very interesting outline for students like me to easily understand the whole purpose of the course which makes me feel influenced by everything they have prepared. I suggest students who want to improve their IHL apply for this course.

par Aruna P

Nov 14, 2019

This is a course everyone and anyone should take to understand what exists in terms of law. With the increasing number of armed conflict happening around the world, this course can help nation and states at war prevent from committing massive human casualty.

par Michael M

Feb 26, 2020

The course is really fascinating and those who are interested in pursuing career in humanitarian field shall do it! The complexity of this course captured my mind. However, every single detail is explained in plain language. So do it and you won't regret!