Chevron Left
Retour à Fundamentals of Immunology: Innate Immunity and B-Cell Function

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Fundamentals of Immunology: Innate Immunity and B-Cell Function par Université de Rice

4.7
étoiles
1,547 évaluations
300 avis

À propos du cours

Course 1 of a three course specialization called Fundamentals of Immunology. Each course in the specialization presents material that builds on the previous course's material. This is the first leg of a three-part journey through the defenses your body uses to keep you healthy. In this part we hope to give you the vocabulary and concepts you need to interact with the medical community and to provide them in a context that makes them memorable. Fundamentals of Immunology introduces students to the basic functions of the adaptive and innate immune systems. The early lectures survey cells, tissues and organs using metaphors, cartoons and models to improve understanding and retention. After describing the form, function, origin and varieties of antibodies, subsequent lectures provide details on the mechanism of the generation of variation. The course provides animations of gene rearrangement and class switching and descriptions of affinity maturation correlated with detailed physical models of antibody structure. The final lecture reviews these concepts in anatomical context. Testing employs multiple choice questions testing facts, concepts, and application of principles. Questions may refer to diagrams, drawing and photographs used in lecture and reproduced in the outline. What You’ll Learn: The difference between adaptive and innate immune systems, the characteristics of various pathogens that they protect you from and the overall strategies employed in this protection. The detailed structure of antibodies and related immunoglobulin receptors, the characteristics and function of the different antibody classes and the mechanism for producing both the recognition regions and stem regions.  Finally, how these structures are coded for in the DNA and expressed in the B cells....

Meilleurs avis

BR

21 nov. 2020

Thank you very much Professor! I really enjoyed your lessons and passion for teaching. I am glad you are able to share your talent with the world via this medium. Looking forward to the next class!

AR

5 août 2019

So far the lecturer has been very entertaining and interesting in her explanation of various concepts of immunology. I am excited to finish this course, which will be relevant to my future studies.

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 299 Avis pour Fundamentals of Immunology: Innate Immunity and B-Cell Function

par Mahima D

28 juil. 2020

A difficult course for non-biologists explained in a very simple manner. I really liked the energy which with the instructor takes these classes. Appreciate it!

par Jorge L L S

18 juil. 2020

It was an amazing course, In med school we don't receive enough immunology classes and It's really important for understanding each disease and their treatment.

par Robert N

10 sept. 2020

Really understandable up until week 5 and 6 where it gets complex. Although the lecturer does a great job of giving real-world euphemisms for complex topics

par Samantha L

11 mai 2020

Professor Novotny creatively engages students and makes learning interesting and understandable. I really enjoyed this course and would highly recommend it.

par Mimi D

26 déc. 2021

I​ enjoy the course. It was a quite detailed and good explanation.Thank You, Dr.Alma Moon Novotny

I am looking forward the courses like this in the future.

par Dr. J M

11 juil. 2020

I was very happy and benefitted learning this online course. Hope this has improved my basic/fundamental in immunology and will help my research as well.

par Snega M D S

3 juil. 2020

I really loved the course and it did meet my expectation. But if the content were organised it could have been great. My instructor was really amazing.

par Irune I P B

29 mai 2020

Muy bueno, realmente está bien explicado. Es una materia compleja pero no se nota por como se explica. Muy dinámico y didáctico. Totalmente recomendado

par Annu k P

20 juil. 2020

Its was an amazing course as I ya microbiologist student it help me alot to understand about organ, immunity, ag-ab interaction.. Really enjoyed it..

par Abhinav B

24 avr. 2020

I had a wonderful time doing this course! Professor Alma is a phenomenal teacher who made me understand all of the concepts at ease and a lot of fun!

par Giovanne D

6 août 2020

Excellent course. The professor is very interested in how the student will visualize and understand the matter. Also, it is a very complete course.

par Werner S

8 juin 2020

This is a fantastic and very instructive course. It is really fun to watch the lessons, the material is excellent. This final exam was a bit tough!

par Romit B

30 mai 2020

The course was very interesting and enlightening. Professor Alma has explained topics in a very interesting manner. thank you for this opportunity.

par Nikhil K S

14 mai 2020

The course was immensely helpful for me and had attractive explanation through model and pictures which gives more insightful view of the subject.

par Nicolas B

2 juil. 2020

it was an interesting course and the lecturer really made the work simple to grasp and the per review feedbacks were really assisting. Thank you.

par Craig L M

24 juin 2022

Passionate instructor. Taught with a balance of content and appropriate context. Great foundation for the specialization. Highly recommended.

par Sierra C

24 mars 2020

I actually really loved this course. I found it very interesting and I learned a lot more on a much deeper level than I initially expected.

par Miguel F P

6 janv. 2020

It is excellent if you want to know how your body works without being afraid of getting lost in dense concepts and complicated vocabulary

par GIACOMO S M

29 mai 2020

This course is very useful for anyone who is starting to study immunology or wants to improve his knowledge about general immunology!

par Vignesh I

16 avr. 2020

Simply amazing!! Really appreciate the work done by all the people involved in this course. I was able to learn a lot!

Thank You :-)

par Nkuba N A

5 nov. 2021

I have appreciated the methods used such as metaphor. I have understood for the first time clearly how gene rearrangement works.

par Jhon J O M

30 juin 2020

Es un excelente curso que permite aprender las bases de la inmunología y a su vez profundiza en muchos aspectos. Muchas gracias.

par kristin v r

5 avr. 2019

Great Professor. Funny and explains material well. Gave me the real quirky science teacher experience that I loved in Undergrad.

par Raviraj P

28 sept. 2020

Course was really helpful and gave a correct and required information. Each and every topic was well explained and interesting

par Angelita F

20 févr. 2022

Thankyou Mam!! It is a complicated subject but somehow you make it very interesting to learn and follow. Three courses to go!