Chevron Left
Retour à Hadoop Platform and Application Framework

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Hadoop Platform and Application Framework par Université de Californie à San Diego

3.9
étoiles
3,058 évaluations
733 avis

À propos du cours

This course is for novice programmers or business people who would like to understand the core tools used to wrangle and analyze big data. With no prior experience, you will have the opportunity to walk through hands-on examples with Hadoop and Spark frameworks, two of the most common in the industry. You will be comfortable explaining the specific components and basic processes of the Hadoop architecture, software stack, and execution environment. In the assignments you will be guided in how data scientists apply the important concepts and techniques such as Map-Reduce that are used to solve fundamental problems in big data. You'll feel empowered to have conversations about big data and the data analysis process....

Meilleurs avis

GM

Feb 01, 2016

I'm forced to give 5 stars. I don't want to have a certification on a poor quality course (another coursera mistake). This material needs tremendous amount of work to get finished and revised.

NP

May 16, 2020

Learned about Hadoop Ecosystem, limitations of map-reduce approach and Spark as a solution to overcome some of limitations.Thanks for giving me the opportunity to participate in this MOOC.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 715 Avis pour Hadoop Platform and Application Framework

par Mengfei W

Oct 06, 2018

This is one of the most disappointing classes I ever took on Coursera. I am a Coursera believer and have taken so many classes here. But with all due respect, the instructor in week 2 and 3 was just mumbling to himself in front of the camera. I feel kind of disrespected. This course is not well prepared and should not be on Coursera.

par Ryan H

Aug 24, 2019

The instructor in week 2 makes me want to kill myself. There are people who can teach, there are people who can't teach, and there is this guy who absolutely cannot be allowed to teach due to safety reasons.

par Davide C

Oct 08, 2019

The course presents a general introduction to Hadoop world, but some explanations aren' t clear.

I appreciated links and references proposed to study other (ex. Python), and section quiz.

Are there problems with guides of Cloudera, but can be solved searching on the web (thank you Stackoverflow).

FInally, I didn't like sections presents by the Indian professor, because he "ate the words" and without underline text a lot of phrases were incomprehensible

par Leonel G

Jan 28, 2018

This is a good introductory course. The content is good, but the presentation is not great. The presenters speak with a low, mumbling voice.

The programming exercises could also be improved: they are based on a contrived example (TV shows and view counts). The presentation of the exercise gives several clues on how to progress on the exercise, but in at least one case, that was not straightforward and there was a simpler solution.

par Jan N E

Apr 11, 2020

Outdated (like what... 5y old?!)

A LOT of struggle with the old VM

Week1 is 1:1 the cloudera quickstart tutorial not even with additional comments

Liked the week 4&5 modules though but had to install spark locally

par Hasan A

Mar 24, 2020

I hope they update the virtual machine provided and the scripts. Getting the VM to work in its current state requires familiarity with linux (in order to solve the permissions issues among other things).

As for the theory and the pace of the lectures. I really concerned myself to have learnt about these subjects.

To the lecturers and the staff, Thank you very much!

par Derek J

May 18, 2020

Great course. I really liked the lectures. They were quite information-filled, so I really needed to pay attention. But I think I learned a lot and got a lot out of the course after knowing nothing about Hadoop. You do really need to know Python beforehand. Writing out Map and Reduce tasks and Spark jobs is hard enough with the syntax.

par Leon D

Nov 17, 2019

Great simple course to get started in the Hadoop zoo. The VM provided makes getting set up easy enough and is a great tool for assignments. I'd encourage the course creators to keep the VM up to date however, as it's beginning to accrue technical problems. Make sure you skim the forums for issues with the VM!

par Shreeyash R K

May 12, 2020

Well, the course is excellent for those from Hadoop or Apache Spark background, but as a newbie, please don't expect a nice detailed explanation from this course. Also, I was a newbie too and had to struggle more than usual to just pass the assignments especially programming assignments. But besides coding, architectural fundamentals are explained good enough to understand the basic working of Hadoop.

par Seongtaek L

Jun 20, 2020

Good enough for level 0 beginners, but it feels kind of scratches the surface. I'd say it takes you from level 0 to 0.8, not level 1 or 2.

The design of the final programming assignment was bad, not in terms of difficulty, but what it teaches you and expects from you. Seems like there is a problem with the right answer for it, but it's not being updated for 4 years. Also, the automatic grader doesn't give you any guide to get you correct your previous answer; you have to figure out why your submission is wrong with no clues. The worst part was that I had to correct the input file on my own, which should have been given rather than generated during one of the previous steps of the other assignments.

par Omar K

Oct 03, 2017

This is a very bad course. The VM image provided is very buggy and does not work. ( It took me 4 hours to make it to the second part of the first tutorial just to find out that the second part is broken due to miss-configured HUE server ). Professors do not respond to questions in forums as well. PLEASE do not waste your money/time on this course. The main issue is that other courses in the same specialization are very good but without passing this course, you can not earn specialization.

par Maksim B

Feb 16, 2017

I took this course as part of "Big Data" specialization.

Unfortunately after taking break for half year the specialization changed and currently this course is not part of active "Big Data" specialization.

I cannot buy the complete specialization and cannot take single courses because specialization surprisingly can change so I prefer not to take more courses by this platform.

Thanks!

par Tiago L

Nov 30, 2017

I was almost done with this course but I ended up finishing it. I have taken other courses on Coursera, and this one is the worst so far. You may get to know the basics of the Hadoop Platform but the lectures aren't much interesting and the lecturer reads the bullet points or a script. I was disappointed, frankly.

par Oana M

Oct 11, 2016

A bit more explanation along the slides would be really appreciated. Also it was a bit disappointing was the fact that the hands-on exercises were every word read from Cloudera, no addition/ additional information or clarification.

par Pablo T

Apr 10, 2018

A walk-through of Cloudera's tutorials. Way overrated and over-hyped. Not worth the money.

par Deleted A

Feb 29, 2016

The course starts to get weighed down by all of the material being shared, but just in the nick of time come the hands-on exercises. There are only a handful, and they come with pseudocode, so you aren't on an island, but they still add a ton of value because they put you in the driver's seat and get you thinking in terms of how you might solve a real-world problem in MapReduce or Spark.

par Candice Z

May 16, 2016

Overall the course is very good. It helps you gain systematic knowledge on Hadoop and some very popular applications. But I have to say that the coding assignments are a little bit hard for those who don't have any programming experience. I would suggest add more hints in the assignments so that students do not need to put too much time researching about the basic syntax...

par Ravikumar

Nov 13, 2016

This course is very useful and provide technical insight about Hadoop and Spark framework architecture. This course teach you about what is big data and how to develop application using the Hadoop platform and I would like to recommend this course for those who want to become big data developer, this course is very helpful to start your career and understand the framework.

par Saad T

Oct 12, 2018

All the labs were really helpful in building the understanding of different applications. One area I felt could be helpful for labs is example of what output would look like at key intermediate steps. Writing up code stepwise and comparing results against some sample example would help as it would re-affirm the solution works as expected all the way through the exercise.

par Anthony G

May 07, 2017

The course gave me an entry into Hadoop and Spark. I recommend revisiting the lectures and reading the forums if you get stuck. You will need a machine with enough RAM to run the Cloudera virtual box to do the programming assignments. I got stuck on a ubuntu 14.04 linux machine with only 8 gigs of ram but was able to run it on a iMac with 20 gigs of ram.

par Jose A R N

Dec 31, 2016

My name is Jose Antonio. I am looking for a new Data Scientist career ( https://www.linkedin.com/in/joseantonio11)

I did this course to get new knowledge about Big Data and better understand the technology and your practical applications.

The course was excellent and the classes well taught by the Teachers.

Congratulations to Coursera team and Teachers.

par Akshay V

Jul 26, 2016

I loved this course very much. The methodology used for teaching the students in order to build their basic concepts and basic understanding about the hadoop platform and application frameworks is astounding. I would like to thank all the instructors who guided and instructed throughout the course.

ThankYou so much.

par Suchit C

Mar 03, 2016

This course was really good ..The exercises were just right, neither too tough nor very easy. However I personally feel that Spark section could be described a little more in detail. However, it doesn't take anything away from the course. A fantastic introduction to Big data tools with Hands on experience.

par Iaroslav N

May 24, 2017

The best Hadoop introductory course on the market. Thankfully to the well structured course program it was easy to grasp all the Hadoop concepts with the reasonable time investment. The hands on assignment are challenging, but doable for anyone with no prior Hadoop or Python experience.

par Anirban M

Feb 13, 2016

The concept given for HDFS write & read was ok. But it requires to elaborate on the Map Reduce flow from the memory & process side. But the thing I really liked is Spark. It really changed my vision towards Hadoop. With such an advancement Hadoop has become one of my favourite.