Chevron Left
Retour à Fibonacci Numbers and the Golden Ratio

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Fibonacci Numbers and the Golden Ratio par Université des sciences et technologies de Hong Kong

4.8
étoiles
722 évaluations
255 avis

À propos du cours

Learn the mathematics behind the Fibonacci numbers, the golden ratio, and how they are related. These topics are not usually taught in a typical math curriculum, yet contain many fascinating results that are still accessible to an advanced high school student. The course culminates in an explanation of why the Fibonacci numbers appear unexpectedly in nature, such as the number of spirals in the head of a sunflower....

Meilleurs avis

NR

Aug 18, 2019

Excellent exposition of a fascinating subject.\n\nVery well organized, including a handout with the course material.\n\nMany thanks to Prof. Chasnov and the HKUST for this worthwhile opportunity!

JR

Jul 13, 2020

Someone has said that God created the integers; all the rest is the work of man. After seeing how the Fibonacci numbers play out in nature, I am not so sure about that. A very enjoyable course.

Filtrer par :

201 - 225 sur 250 Avis pour Fibonacci Numbers and the Golden Ratio

par Mrs A C

Jul 27, 2020

Nice

par Nagireddy s

Jul 24, 2020

Nice

par Naga M G

Jun 12, 2020

Good

par Madhapuram m

Jun 02, 2020

good

par ARAVINDH D

May 25, 2020

Good

par Rajeshree D

Jan 28, 2019

best

par Meg- n n

Jul 02, 2017

in

par Yaprak O

Nov 08, 2019

Overall, an interesting course that cannot be found ordinarily in a classroom setting. Instructor explains the concepts well, and the personal element adds to the course. Gives new insight into the meaning of numbers and definitely helps improve certain math skills such as proving statements, geometry, algebra etc. Quizzes are easy, a light course in terms of assessments overall.. One downside is that the questions have no solutions posted (at least I could not find it) so we do not have a correct framework for answering these types of questions. Also, some videos had an excessive non-mathematical, historical and oriental side to them which did not exactly appeal to me. However, definitely a unique course that will provide you with a unique perspective.

par Deep P

Apr 30, 2020

This course did a great job of giving me an amazing understanding of the Fibonacci numbers and the golden ratio. I found it super interesting, and I was delighted whenever a connection was found between the two large subjects was found. One recommendation that I have to improve the course is to provide a little more assistance/hints with solving the HW proofs/problems. I found some of them tricky at times, and giving up made me feel unsatisfied, so help in solving or giving out strategies on how to do difficult proofs would be greatly appreciated.

par Susannah R

Aug 08, 2019

This course gives a fascinating insight in the logic behind some of nature's beauty. It requires a lot of maths, far more than I did at school (A Level) many years ago. It is definitely aimed at keen maths students. I found that many of the examples in the videos and the model answers to the questions missed lots of steps that I needed. These logic jumps may be second nature to somebody regularly studying maths , but for the 'casual' MOOCer at home who thinks "Ooh! that looks interesting", it left me struggling.

par Paul R M

Apr 27, 2018

I liked this course, and I discovered the amazing relationships one can derive for Fibonacci numbers and related entities. The lecturer is very clear, and if one does the exercises then one gets a good grasp of the subject. I gave it only four stars partially because the subject matter seems to be more a way to amaze your friends rather than doing something relevant. I would like to understand if it can be applied to real world problems. Maybe that's because I am not a mathematician!

par Mike H

Jul 05, 2020

I enjoyed the course well presented and documented. One suggestion Professor Chasnov mentioned other Maths courses that are available. A problem I have being retired but interested in maths, what other classes are suitable, I often go into high school courses that I did years ago, or head off into really challenging areas that I have no chance of completing. I suggest that there should be a course tree maybe for number theory as a topic that gives guidance.

par Anne P

Jun 14, 2020

An interesting course with enough 'easy' bits to counteract the very hard parts.

Only thought about improvements would be to see the lecturer smile. For example, he said he'd had fun in the course but his face indicated he was bored by it all. It's nice if you can show that you enjoy the work so students think it's interesting to do.

par Kim R

May 29, 2020

Really enjoyed the enthusiasm and interest level of the professor. Math level was cumbersome at times, but overall gained an appreciation for these numbers and their beauty! Thanks for offering this course.

par Sophia R L

Jun 24, 2020

All topics were very interesting and I love that there were real life examples and history incorporated into subject. The course was engaging and the material was fascinating & useful. I learned a lot!

par Utpal B

Jun 06, 2018

This course blends the rational thinking of mathematics and the aesthetics of art in nature. Enjoyed it. Thanks Coursera and Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

par Catherine K

Mar 15, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed this course. Interested in the Fibonacci Numbers and Golden Ratio and was looking for more information, this was clearly provided.

par Isaak C

Sep 02, 2020

It is a great course. If more real life examples of Fibonacci numbers and the Golden Ratio can be illustrated, it will be more fun.

par Devashish N

Jun 25, 2019

Yeah, the course was fun and i knid of learned a lot of new stuff and I'm satisfied with that.

Good course to learn.

par Kush S

Jun 30, 2019

Good Course with practical examples and mathematics applied to derivation and understanding of equations.

par Chandrakant N P

Jul 04, 2018

It was very useful to enhance my knowledge of Golden ration. A very good delivery by Professor Jasnov.

par Roshni S

Aug 10, 2019

The course has given a deeper insight into the subject. It made me appreciate the subject more.

par Swetha S

May 29, 2020

It's really interesting and fulfilled!! Thank you so much for this course.

par E

Jun 29, 2017

Professor, thank you for sharing. Appreciate the opportunity.

par Ashwin K

Dec 13, 2016

Good course. More problems sets would have been great!