Chevron Left
Retour à Essentials of Global Health

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Essentials of Global Health par Université Yale

4.8
étoiles
1,228 évaluations
275 avis

À propos du cours

Essentials of Global Health is a comprehensive introduction to global health. It is meant to introduce you to this topic in well-structured, clear and easy to understand ways. Much of the course will focus on five questions: What do people get sick, disabled and die from; Why do they suffer from these conditions? Which people are most affected? Why should we care about such concerns? What can be done to address key health issues, hopefully at least cost, as fast as possible, and in sustainable ways? The course will be global in coverage but with a focus on low- and middle-income countries, the health of the poor, and health disparities. Particular attention will be paid throughout the course to health systems issues, the linkages between health and development, and health matters related to global interdependence. The course will cover key concepts and frameworks but be practical in orientation. ESSENTIALS OF GLOBAL HEALTH WAS PRODUCED IN PART DUE TO THE GENEROUS FUNDING OF THE DAVID F. SWENSEN FUND FOR INNOVATION IN TEACHING. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Course Learning Objectives By the end of the course, learners should be able to: • Articulate key public health concepts related to global health; • Analyze the key issues in global health from a number of perspectives; • Discuss with confidence the burden of disease in various regions of the world; how it varies by sex, age, and location; key risk factors for this burden; and how the disease burden can be addressed in cost-effective ways; • Assess key health disparities, especially as they relate to the health of low-income and marginalized people in low- and middle-income countries; • Outline the key actors and organizations in global health and the manner in which they cooperate to address critical global health concerns; • Review key global health challenges that are likely to arise in the coming decades. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Value Added of the Course The course seeks to add special value by being comprehensive, by handling each topic in a consistent framework, and by helping learners gain an understanding of well grounded approaches to assessing global health issues and what can be done to address them. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- The Readings and other materials for Essentials of Global Health For almost every session of Essentials of Global Health, you will see: - Required readings - Recommended readings - Recommended videos We have selected a small number of readings for each session that are central to understanding the content of the session. We have put these under “required readings”. For each required reading, we have also indicated how carefully you should read the material and on what parts of the material you should focus your attention. In addition, we have selected some additional readings that would be very helpful to your understanding the content of each session. The first is a textbook, Global Health 101, third edition. This is a comprehensive introductory textbook that closely follows the content of this Essentials of Global Health course. We have indicated for each session what part of the book you should read. Using this textbook can be very valuable to your mastering the content of the course. The second set of “recommended readings” is some additional readings, mostly from journal articles and reports. For these, too, we have indicated how carefully you should read the material and on what parts of the material you should focus your attention. Learners should note that to access articles from The Lancet they will have to register with the Lancet, if they do not have online access to a library that has The Lancet. Once they are registered, they will be able to sign into The Lancet and access all of its free articles. We have also indicated for most sessions one or two videos that relate to the topic of the session. These are meant to help the learner get a better feel for the topic which is being covered. Most learners will find the videos brief, easy and enjoyable to watch, and very enlightening....

Meilleurs avis

MM

Mar 18, 2017

It was one of the best courses I have done on coursera.Also the instructor explains detailed subject matter very well which makes it easier to understand the subject.Certainly a 10\10 for the course !

MK

Jul 05, 2020

A very thoughtful and insightful course that help me to understand the global health, its key concept, challenges and cost effective strategies to address the issue in the global health perspectives.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 276 Avis pour Essentials of Global Health

par Benjamin M V

Dec 05, 2017

This is the BEST course I've ever taken on Coursera! It's very complete, covers a very wide range of topics, has tons of mandatory and additional references for reading, the Prof. is very good at teaching, the visual production and materials are impeccable and the fact that it almost makes you feel like if you were sitting there in the very same classroom is an aspect that other courses should try to implement. It would be awesome if peer reviewed essays were required for this course.

If you want to learn about global and public health, this is the best way to introduce yourself to those topics.

par Prompiriya P

Apr 26, 2020

Magnificent course! I enjoyed every lectures by Professor Skolnik because the course was designed to be very rich in detail and scientific research from WHO, but with warm atmosphere and very simple/forgiving Quizzes for knowledge check through-and-through. Taking this course during the pandemic lockdown really helps with understanding of the disease and its implications and effects to our world and health. Even for someone like me who is not in scientific workfield.

One thing to be fixed would be that some Reading material link either does not work or, in Professor's Skolnik's text cases, does not exist on that website anymore.

par Egoabata O

Aug 01, 2017

This course was very informative and easy to follow & understand. I have no background in global or public health but taking this course really helped me understand the topic better and grow m interest in the field. I definitely recommend this course to anyone who has an interest in global health.

par Maitreyee

Mar 18, 2017

It was one of the best courses I have done on coursera.Also the instructor explains detailed subject matter very well which makes it easier to understand the subject.Certainly a 10\10 for the course !

par Anadela V Y

Jul 08, 2020

A significant topic for everyone, because health issues affect everyone. I was updated on the burden of disease issues, introduced me to new concepts, and learned more about efficient health systems, key ideas in public health/global health from different perspectives, and the health challenges that need to be addressed by governments and the global community.

It's a relatively lengthy course, but it's worth it and I feel fulfilled to have completed it. This is a very good course, with a very knowledgeable instructor and author Prof. Skolnik. This is for those who want to be active in the healthcare scene--community, national, or global, as well as for those who just want to gain more insights and awareness on healthcare issues and how we could better protect ourselves from diseases and disabilities, among others.

I would like to explore more about public health/global health after taking this course. I've always been interested in such topics.

Thank you, Yale University, Coursera, and Class Central, for this learning opportunity!

par Olutoun S

Aug 06, 2020

Richard was thorough and very practical. His course content cut across a lot of disease states and also included teachings from professionals from very important and essential health bodies/ agencies; people who had been/ still are on the field in different parts of the world.

I'll encourage those who can to take time in going through the course and actively participate in the discussions as well.

Thank you Richard!

par Noime L

Apr 28, 2020

By far, one of the best course I have taken. I like how Professor Skolnik discussed each lesson throughout the whole course with vignettes in relation to the topic. Only the problems are some of the links to the readings are dead. But overall, still a great course to take. I learned a lot!

par Abigail S

May 17, 2020

A really comprehensive overview of the different areas of health - not just limited to the physical (diseases), but including accidents and injuries, mental health, nutrition, etc.

Really enjoyable course, good content, well-paced and excellent range of assessment materials.

par Norma A B H

Feb 28, 2018

Me parece un curso excelente, abarca muy bien el sistema de salud, sin embargo, me gustaría que abarcaran el tema de protección al planeta y cómo afecta económicamente, socialmente, y obviamente en la salud. Gracias, quedo muy satisfecha, y muy enriquecedor.

par TAMARA O

Oct 25, 2017

Very engaging course. I have gained in-depth knowledge on addressing issues that affect health globally. I recommend this course anytime, anywhere.

.

par aamani

Aug 24, 2018

The course offered a detailed view about general health problems on a broad areas. From the course, we gain experience in some strategic thinking materials to design better health systems and take decisions to improve global health

par Bernardo C P

Dec 20, 2017

It is a comprehensive course, covering a broad range of topics and you can get a glimpse of nearly every subjects concerned with Global Health. Yet, the classes are very monotonous, not dynamic at all. The information is transmitted in the the same way every single class and after 3 or 4 classes into the course it starts getting boring and repetitive. Besides, in my opinion, many of the recommended articles are not relevant. The time dedicated to each reading is always way over underestimated as it will take you much more time than planned to go through everything if you wish to go that deep. The recommended book is very good though.

par Mariama S D

Jun 26, 2020

Essential of Global Health is an interesting and cross cutting course of all aspects of global and public health.

I have learnt amazing issues ranging from what people get sick, disabled, and die from to some topics on communicable and non communicable diseases, and lots more.

Most importantly, it is very crucial for anyone interested in working within the field of global health, especially in low and middle income countries, where the epidemiological transition is growing very high and communicable diseases are also issues of both public and global health concern.

Thank you Professor Scolnik for your efforts in ensuring that we gain up-to-date knowledge and skills in the field of global health.

par Francisco F P

May 05, 2020

Definitely a 101 course on Global Health which you should take in case you're interested in the topic and want to kick-start that enthusiasm. Or maybe if you just want to dedicate several hours to the topic in order to have a global awareness of such a relevant matter in Health.

I applied for Financial Aid due to my interest in the course and, after knowing I had been accepted, I took some 7 days of intensive learning to complete the course, while also reading the suggested Global Health 101, which I believe was very positive.

I can't enough to Coursera and Yale University for this opportunity, which I will surely share among people with similar interests!

par Abiodun J o

Aug 25, 2020

I so much enjoyed the course. A big thank to the pilot of this Essentials of global health.

I have learnt greatly well and ready to exploits more knowledge in future and put already acquired knowledge to work.

There are rooms for improvement to end/reduce global health challenges.

I strongly hope for more prospects for African countries and South Asia to overcome their rigorous health issues.

Global health need more attention for effectiveness hand of management and control towards achieving the world dreams

par Clara P O T

Jul 07, 2020

O curso de Essentials of Global Health é incrível! Só me fez gostar ainda mais sobre saúde global e saúde pública. Esse curso vai fazer você refletir sobre todos os determinantes socais e culturais que influenciam a saúde da população global. É um curso extremamente interessante e necessário para área da saúde. Indico a todos a adentrarem a esse mundo de saúde global! Vale a pena! Obrigada Yale e Coursera por essa parceira em um curso de alta qualidade. Grata por essa oportunidade!

par CHUKWUKELU C I

Apr 06, 2020

I am glad I got through it despite my tight schedules. It was very helpful in keeping my mind updated with the events and challenges that face our daily lives. With the knowledge I have acquired, I'm ready to apply them anytime I come in contact with a problem. Thank you Yale university for this awesome privilege, I never in my dreams believed I will have this opportunity to conclude a course in one of the ivy league institutions

par Heinz W

Jul 12, 2020

Thank you for providing this course. It is an excellent overview of Global Health, providing really valuable insights on the health of different populations, different geographies and how to potentially address the most urgent issues. Thank you to Prof. Skolnik and the students appearing in the videos. This was really an almost-live classroom atmosphere, highly appreciate your dedication to providing such an engaging course.

par debbie o

Jun 09, 2020

RICHARD YOU ARE A VERY GOOD TEACHER THAT PASSES ON KNOWLEDGE CREATIVELY.

I LOVE YOUR CLASS (THOUGH FIRST TIME LEARNING GLOBAL HEALTH) I LOVE THE INTERACTION IN THE CLASS WITH THE STUDENTS AND ESPECIALLY THE UPDATED GRAPHICS WITH STATISTICS.

EVEN WITH NO PRIOR KNOWLEDGE IN PUBLIC HEALTH, ONE WILL LEARN SEAMLESSLY. I COMPLETED MY CLASS IN LESS THAN A MONTH. THANK YOU YALE UNIVERSITY FOR THIS OPPORTUNITY.

par Rozemarijn E v d J

Apr 15, 2020

I really liked it a lot, I didn't know I would be interested in the whole Global Health bizz. yet I was drown to it. I couldn't stop studying, I might pursue another career. I think as a human you are obligated to take care of other people. If I can make an impact like this, I would. So thank you for this opportunity, I am ever so grateful that thanks to you I have found more knowledge.

par Peter S

Nov 28, 2017

I cannot praise this course too highly - it is simply superb. The lecturer is brilliant - very knowledgeable, and someone who puts the material across with great clarity and enthusiasm. The 10 weeks are well arranged and providing one works hard, you come away feeling quite an expert on the subject. I have enrolled in quite a few MOOCs over recent years, but this is by far the best.

par Pascal P

Jul 26, 2018

Overall a good course with a very broad coverage of many different topics. However, there were certain things I did not like, such as the bad quizzes (when there was an answer "all of the above" it is almost always the correct one and I didnt even had to read the question.) and the faked conversations between the professor and the students. Not a fan of it.

par Emily N F

Jun 08, 2020

I found this class to be incredibly interesting and enjoyed the discussion prompts. I felt that the quiz questions appropriately addressed the main points of each week. The instructor was very engaging to the students in the lecture videos and asked questions that were relevant to the course material.

par BARTHOLOMEW N

Jul 19, 2020

I really love this course and glad I participated in it. A lot of information and refreshing topics. Thank you professor for your impact in the global health and special thanks for the interviews especially Dr Peter Hortez ( he is one of the expert panel in COVID-19 discussion in the cable tv)

par Anton R

May 28, 2020

I wish to especially thank the professor. He explained a lot of difficult concepts well and I was enthused to continue and finish this course because of him. This course gave an excellent overview of the salient points pertinent to global health and this serves as a great primer to topic.