Chevron Left
Retour à Electric Industry Operations and Markets

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Electric Industry Operations and Markets par Université Duke

4.8
étoiles
935 évaluations
247 avis

À propos du cours

This is a two week course. In the first week you will learn about the core activities that the Industry executes to bring electricity to customers. We will review what electricity is, how it is generated, how it is transmitted, how it comes into buildings, and how consumption of electricity instantly feeds back on the transmission and generation of electricity. You will learn to: Define what electricity is; Describe how electricity is generated, transmitted and distributed; Describe how electricity is generated, transmitted and distributed; and Summarize how the consumption of electric energy instantly feeds back on the transmission and generation of electricity. In the second week, the course shifts to the markets that drive Electric Industry operations. You will learn about the various costs of the electric industry’s core activities, how electricity is priced, the various ways that electric markets are structured, how these market structures determine which power plants are dispatched to produce electricity when, and how recent changes in generator fuel prices, generation technology, market regulations, and environmental regulations are transforming both Electric Industry Markets and Operations. You will learn to: Describe the main cost components to the electric system; Compare the costs of different types of power plants; Interpret the retail pricing of electricity; Explain the different types of electric markets and understand how they operate to dispatch electric supply to meet demand in real time; and Explain why and how the electric industry is regulated....

Meilleurs avis

DJ

10 août 2020

Content was easy to follow and digest - it was a good refresher course for me as I've been in the industry for some time, but within the IT discipline. Learned some new things along the way too.

SL

5 mai 2020

Great course with a superb faculty. Learnt a lot about the industry and market regulations of electricity.\n\nWould really recommend this course to all who are interested in electric industry.

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 244 Avis pour Electric Industry Operations and Markets

par Ubaldo S

6 avr. 2020

Good introductory course to the Electric sector !!! From the Physics basics to the market basics.

par Aleena R

18 mai 2020

The course is more about US electric markets and industries and their regulations. It must be generic as we are not from US

par vincent P p

7 juil. 2020

This course needs major upgrades. I got degree/certificates from others well known universities like Centrale Paris, Stanford, Berkeley, Rice. But this course is not at level of a university.

The content is not complete missing foreign market which moved from government owned to public.

The content is not up-to-date, the data are at least 5 year old, they are old analysis on the changes to renewable (E.g. Texas has 20% renewable).

The content is not touching the future market with IoT technologies, MicroGrid solutions, Consumer become producer.

The content does not touch the current research like what the main topics of NREC.

The presentation is a poor melting pot of powerpoint took from others.

I was almost cancelled my purchase but I did not it give this feedback to help others.

par Abdul R S

5 juin 2020

a nice course

par hussain a

11 sept. 2020

So far my experience has been challenging, learning again after years away from education, yet it has been so fulfilling, the photography department is a wonderful hub of activity, students from all The three years cross paths within the week, and are respectful and helpful to each other. We have a fantastic team of tutors who without doubt go above and beyond for all the students. For anybody considering Blackburn college to study the photography course, then I would definitely recommend it. I feel very much a part of my department and I am looking forward to my third year next year.

par Max K

24 sept. 2020

Very informative, general introduction to the existing systems that keep our lights on; from generation, transmission, distribution, all the way to our homes and businesses. As a visual learner, the lectures could be improved by including bullet points that summarize Lincoln's word as he is presenting. Sometimes the verbiage is extensive and hard to translate into effective notetaking. Just my two cents... If you're interested in learning about this topic, take I would certainly recommend this course!

par Ketevan G

28 sept. 2020

From my point of view, the course provides quite a good insight in energy field, specifically, markets and industry in general. One also can master the means of energy generation and understand the principle of power production, transmission and distribution, as well as, market.

I also should mention, that the lecturer Mr. Pratson has got a big knowledge and expertise of the field, as well as, faculty to convey them to the students.

Thank you!

par Chan T W

14 déc. 2020

The course covers everything a learner needs to know about electricity, from physical properties, how it produce, to how it is being dispatched and distributed to end users' loads. Although the course would focus on US settings, but it already gives an idea on how electric industry generally works. I hope there will be a continuation of this course that provides a more in-depth discussion on the topics that were tackled in this course.

par Rohit B

26 juin 2020

I am very grateful to Coursera and the team for providing this platform for learners. I have taken this course to know the basics of the Electric Industry operations and this helps me a lot to understand the working environment of the electric industry. Also, I would like to thank the instructor for his insightful teaching methodology. Very intuitive course. Thank you

par JOSE L E

31 mai 2020

Very well structured and explained, while it lacks dynamism by the lecturer; it's a good starting introduction to the industry and its complexity, oriented to beginners or as a refresh of basic concepts; the approach towards renewable energies and electrical mobility seems a bit outdated and not being given much of importance.

par mehmety

18 juil. 2020

This course was very inspiring in terms of learning the basics of the electric industry and how utilities are functioning. It has provided me so many insights about the electricity markets and contributed highly to my professional life as an energy expert. Thank you Coursera for offering this course to the energy community.

par Aleksandr S

24 juin 2020

Many thanks to Duke University and Pr. Pratson! It was an interesting course which is aimed at broadening knowledge in the sphere of electric energy, all the companion processes and total situation at market within the country, reginal and local levels. The final project may be useful as an attachment to portfolio.

par Paula O

11 mai 2020

Even though its set to study the US electric Industry Operations and Markets, the course is made in a way that it explains general theory about them before going specifically to the States situation and it also starts from a very basic energy concepts explanation, so it helps to remember basics as well.

par Didimo E G T

25 nov. 2020

As an Electrical Engineer (1988) I learned a lot from this course, I wish back then engineering curriculums included more useful stuff like this one to prepare the graduate for the REAL employment market. The final project was particularly interesting.

https://www.linkedin.com/in/dgrimaldo/

par Bazarbayeva A

6 janv. 2021

Thanks a lot for course. I received deep understanding how Energy Market performs inside and expanded my vision about trends and their strategy for the upcoming years. Also I can identify types of electric industry companies and evaluate potential its further development.

par Siva G

21 déc. 2020

Thank you Dr. Pratson. Super helpful. I work in the industry and found the course very useful. It touched on a number of things I am familiar with, and always wished was a part of structured course. I request Dr. Pratson to expand the course into a specialization.

par Brian J

2 févr. 2022

T​his is a very good introduction to the fundamentals of electricity generation, transmission and distribution, as well as electricity markets and their regulation. Strongly recommend for anyone new to the field that needs a relatively quick primer on the basics.

par Diego E P

22 sept. 2020

The course helped me understand how electricity is generated and which parameters are taken in consideration for this activity. Really interesting and the material shown realy helps in understanding the concepts. Great course!

par Toru H

13 mars 2021

Course is well organized to start learning overview of electricity from basic current (ampere), force (voltage), resistance (ohm), quantity (coulomb), energy (joule) to generation , transmission, distribution and market.

par Ali A A A I

5 nov. 2020

Amazing course provided by Duke University. Dr.Linclon Pratson is an amazing teacher. he explains everything in good manner with site visits also. high voice and you can listen to every word carefuly.Thank u coursera

par Jesús A M C

11 avr. 2021

The course is comprehensive and simple. Excellent to grasp the basics concepts of electricity generation, transmission and distribution, as well as understanding electricity markets structures and regulations.

par Awab E

11 mai 2020

It is so important course for every body working in utility specially who works in operation or planning and also it is so helpful for any one want want to know about the electricity operation and markets.

par asish t

10 févr. 2021

I am sure that this course is a good one for the beginners in the electricity industry and will surely add value to the experienced. The explanation of Lincoln was very good and simple.

par Haider R

29 juin 2020

This course was really good for understanding the electric industry. This course teaches you the whole process from the generation of electricity to the consumption of the consumer.

par Fernando A M M

9 oct. 2020

This course walks you through the electrical sector in the US. The lecturer is very good at communicating his ideas and the materials and contents are great! 100% recommended !