Chevron Left
Retour à Electric Industry Operations and Markets

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Electric Industry Operations and Markets par Université Duke

4.8
étoiles
267 évaluations
52 avis

À propos du cours

This is a two week course. In the first week you will learn about the core activities that the Industry executes to bring electricity to customers. We will review what electricity is, how it is generated, how it is transmitted, how it comes into buildings, and how consumption of electricity instantly feeds back on the transmission and generation of electricity. You will learn to: Define what electricity is; Describe how electricity is generated, transmitted and distributed; Describe how electricity is generated, transmitted and distributed; and Summarize how the consumption of electric energy instantly feeds back on the transmission and generation of electricity. In the second week, the course shifts to the markets that drive Electric Industry operations. You will learn about the various costs of the electric industry’s core activities, how electricity is priced, the various ways that electric markets are structured, how these market structures determine which power plants are dispatched to produce electricity when, and how recent changes in generator fuel prices, generation technology, market regulations, and environmental regulations are transforming both Electric Industry Markets and Operations. You will learn to: Describe the main cost components to the electric system; Compare the costs of different types of power plants; Interpret the retail pricing of electricity; Explain the different types of electric markets and understand how they operate to dispatch electric supply to meet demand in real time; and Explain why and how the electric industry is regulated....

Meilleurs avis

AM

Jan 08, 2018

This course is very helpful for me and for all those who study electric industry operations and markets. The professor explained it very well and its a one of the best course i have taken

AJ

Oct 19, 2019

Great overview on how electric industries works, specially the relationship between regulator, system operator, utilities and other actors. More advanced course could be interesting.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 50 Avis pour Electric Industry Operations and Markets

par Cody N

Jul 24, 2017

Fantastic class! I was impressed by the high quality of peer-graded submissions, and I believe the instructors/course creators deserve a lot of credit for that outcome.

par Alex T S

Dec 11, 2017

A lot of the content in the week 2 lessons is subjective and is only relevant to the United States. Although it is useful information it does not have any benefit for a person who isn't in the US.

par Alexis A B M

Jan 08, 2020

Excelente curso, muy buena introducción a la operación y manejo de los diferentes tipos de mercados eléctricos de los EEUU, pero los fundamentos sirven para comprender cualquier tipo de los que se manejan a nivel mundial.

par Hugh M

Jul 10, 2018

The professor really has put thought into his course structure - it pays off as a student. He goes through everything from a to z in this space in a logical fashion, answering a lot of unanswered questions I have.

par Asad M

Jan 08, 2018

This course is very helpful for me and for all those who study electric industry operations and markets. The professor explained it very well and its a one of the best course i have taken

par 黃泓溥(Huang, H

Aug 30, 2018

The Course is just Amazing!! All thanks go to the instructor and the team who made it. A good reference guiding me to walk through the major topics in the industry.

par Rodrigo G A M

Sep 02, 2017

Muy buen curso, permite conocer de manera general las operaciones de la industria eléctrica y contextualizar los distintos tipos de mercados que existen en E.E.U.U.

par Asad U R

Nov 06, 2018

Course was an awsome experience for me, i have learnt alot about electric industry. i learnt how power generates, how it tranmits and how its distributes.

par Maureen M

Sep 20, 2019

This course does a great job of touching all relevant topics in the industry. It is very easy to comprehend for people who have little to no experience.

par Edgar V

Jul 24, 2017

The course presents a broad set of topics required to have a basic understanding of the electricity market, using clear explanations and audiovisuals.

par Alex G

Feb 21, 2018

Very good overview of the industry, and as someone working in an ESCO, still managed to fill in some gaps in my knowledge. Highly recommended!

par Kevin R C

Feb 28, 2019

Very detailed, insightful and well designed course. I enjoyed doing this and I am thankful for the skills I gained as a result.

par Meena T

Aug 27, 2018

This is an excellent course. However, it needs to be updated to reflect current and future market developments and regulations.

par Tsiflikas E

Aug 21, 2018

A very nice lesson I suggest to those who want to attend it will learn many new knowledge they do not know so far....

par Yasir M Y

Feb 16, 2019

very great course has point out different side of Basic Electrical Engineering operation and Marketing as well.

par Chung-Han Y

Feb 05, 2018

Excellent and concise! Highly recommended to everyone who is interested in the electricity power sector.

par Haren M

May 02, 2018

Muy claro y simplifica de una forma genial todas las complicaciones inherentes al sistema eléctrico.

par Po W M

Sep 05, 2018

A short and sweet course. I have actually learned quite a lot in the peer review assignment.

par ELEMASETTY U

Jul 24, 2019

It gives a great response for the inputs in learning for Electrical Industry and operations

par Lavrenko S

Jan 29, 2020

This is my first online education, I will remember these emotions forever. Thx u so much!

par Aarón E G A

Jan 15, 2019

Excellent course. I learned too much and helped me to understand some concepts better

par Vincent d M

Sep 30, 2019

Excellent overview of the basics of the electricity from generation to distribution!

par Olusola A

Sep 20, 2017

A great overview of the industry. Very educational even for an energy professional.

par Jayanth B C

Sep 05, 2018

I thank the prof. For sharing his knowledge. Also my co learner

Thank you.

par Anitra P

Mar 25, 2020

Really excellent overview, I enjoyed learning the foundations in week 1.