Chevron Left
Retour à Data Warehouse Concepts, Design, and Data Integration

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Data Warehouse Concepts, Design, and Data Integration par University of Colorado System

4.4
étoiles
967 évaluations
195 avis

À propos du cours

This is the second course in the Data Warehousing for Business Intelligence specialization. Ideally, the courses should be taken in sequence. In this course, you will learn exciting concepts and skills for designing data warehouses and creating data integration workflows. These are fundamental skills for data warehouse developers and administrators. You will have hands-on experience for data warehouse design and use open source products for manipulating pivot tables and creating data integration workflows. In the data integration assignment, you can use either Oracle, MySQL, or PostgreSQL databases. You will also gain conceptual background about maturity models, architectures, multidimensional models, and management practices, providing an organizational perspective about data warehouse development. If you are currently a business or information technology professional and want to become a data warehouse designer or administrator, this course will give you the knowledge and skills to do that. By the end of the course, you will have the design experience, software background, and organizational context that prepares you to succeed with data warehouse development projects. In this course, you will create data warehouse designs and data integration workflows that satisfy the business intelligence needs of organizations. When you’re done with this course, you’ll be able to: * Evaluate an organization for data warehouse maturity and business architecture alignment; * Create a data warehouse design and reflect on alternative design methodologies and design goals; * Create data integration workflows using prominent open source software; * Reflect on the role of change data, refresh constraints, refresh frequency trade-offs, and data quality goals in data integration process design; and * Perform operations on pivot tables to satisfy typical business analysis requests using prominent open source software...

Meilleurs avis

LS
18 sept. 2020

Great course. It mimics real life case. However, the time required to complete assignments is much more than stated. The assignments are great though, I learned a lot from those.

EK
15 déc. 2015

Very nice class, well thought out and organized. The assignments are interesting and the practice assignments are relevant. Getting hands on on Pentaho was a big plus.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 185 Avis pour Data Warehouse Concepts, Design, and Data Integration

par Nils K

16 nov. 2017

The torture of having to identify which of the many combinations of Pentaho, Java and some freeware plugin actually works in the end has completely ruined this experience. I don't care if SOMEWHERE in the notes there is info I should install Version 5.0.2.3 instead of 5.0.whatever, this is just plain laziness in the course design by picking software which might have worked in the past and then not updating the instructions while pocketing the student's money for years to come. I have about had it with spending my nights installing and re-installing this junk of software nobody uses anyways in a real business setting only to advance in this class.

par Sebastian G

2 janv. 2017

Personally I don't recommend this course. I really need to learn data warehousing for my job and I have no problem with learning by doing. This course gave me basics, but the learning was very stiff. I think it's just to theoretical here.

par Александр К

10 nov. 2018

The quality of assignments is awful

par gavin

9 nov. 2019

Disgracefully outdated course that does not match with the technology that it claims to use -- dont bother with this one

par sujay b s

18 janv. 2018

Pentaho does not work, hence I was not able to complete week 2 assignment and the course.

par Rochelle H

19 août 2017

No guidance from instructors, and the assignments have nothing to do with the lectures. If I could get a refund, I would quit and get my money back. Not worth the frustration.

par Mesum R H

13 déc. 2016

Good learning for Data integration and ETL learning. How data from source to target table transform over the business requirement to be ready for processing

par Nelson F A

24 août 2018

A very good course. It is challenging, especially the assignment in week 3, but extremely rewarding. Thanks to Coursera and the University of Colorado for creating this course. Really good to get an understanding of enterprise level data warehouses.

par John F

20 févr. 2016

Overall a great course mixing concepts, technical skills and self learning very well. I'd recommend this course for anyone who is looking to learn about building data warehouse from scratch with minimal starting knowledge.

par Robert L J

5 mars 2016

Again, professor Michael Mannino presents a very well prepared course that achieves optimal results in limited time. This course provides the background and basic skills necessary understand and work with Data Warehouses.

par Montana F R

25 mars 2016

Excellent course in the way of preparation to be a Expert in Business Intelligence and Data Warehouses.

100 % recommended!

par Jose A

12 juin 2017

I've learned lots from this course. I highly recommend it if you want to learn the concepts behind data warehouses.

par Esteban R

1 oct. 2019

good material but should update some videos since program versions have changed.

par John P

19 oct. 2020

5 stars for content and assignments; 2 for peer-reviewed grading

The content in this course is very good. You'll learn some good concrete skills, while completing some challenging assignments.

The peer reviewed assignments are problematic. Cheating is rampant. Your peers will often turn in empty assignments, I assume so they can get access to the answer file. I have had to review assignments that were blatantly plagiarizing the answer file. Another peer even plagiarized my own work as his. I have flagged multiple submissions as plagiarism, but I don't think Coursera does much of anything with these flagged submissions, since cheating is so commonplace throughout the platform. I just tell myself that I'm here for the learning; I can't stop others from stealing my own work. Seriously, who takes a MOOC just to cheat??

I suppose the integrity and honesty problems I mention above are more problems pertaining to the Coursera platform as a whole, but having your own work plagiarized definitely affects your experience and perception of a class. Furthermore, it should be up to the course designers to develop assignments that work in spite of Coursera's problems.

Despite all this, I will be continuing with the course series, as this is fascinating stuff.

par Peter V

11 oct. 2020

The course content is what saves this course from getting a really low score. I actually learned a lot about data warehousing so I can forgive a lot of the logistical problems that this course has, and these problems are not necessarily problems with this course but may be more widespread among coursera in general. Take this course if you are interested in data warehousing but are willing to be a completely independent learner. The course forums are full of people asking for their assignments to be graded which doesn't make sense because I never had to post anything, and mine were eventually graded. Module 2 has a bug where there are 2 assignments to choose from, but coursera thinks you have to complete both to pass the module.

The assignments are interesting and you will learn a lot if you actually complete them. From doing peer reviews I noticed a lot of people not even doing the assignment and hoping that people will just give them a passing grade. There is also a lot of plagiarism going on because I graded the exact same submission many times.

Aside form the issues above, I learned a lot, and I think it is actually worthwhile to take the course if you are patient and can self-teach.

par Felix M

2 août 2017

I love both the theoretical and practical nature of this course. Enough content is provided to ensure a smooth introduction to data warehouses and proficiency in the important concepts of Extraction, transformation and loading. The progression of content across the weeks is excellent and Michael is definitely the best instructor in the subject.

par Bintang A S

1 janv. 2017

I love this course! Especially with the practice exercises. This course has helped me significantly improve my understanding & the technical skills revolving data warehousing. It would be much better though, if this course has a lot more technical exercises, learning how to utilize essential data warehousing tools efficiently.

par Deleted A

30 nov. 2018

I just re-reviewed the 1 week and will re-review it within the day, prior to taking the exam. overall the presentor is very capable and has mastery of the subject which is very very good. I love this course and i hope I could have this re-reviewed once I get to have the paid subscription.

par Nasheena

3 avr. 2019

Excellent course, you will learn how to use data warehouse tools, you will gain design experience and have organisational context to work in data warehouse development projects. My experience from this course is you need to be quite dedicated to pass.

par Susan W

16 avr. 2016

great course with hands on practice of the concepts. Getting the tools installed is a little frustrating but once you get past that part there are a lot of good exercises to apply what you are learning.

par Konstantin P

10 juin 2021

I liked the quality of lectures. Exceptional meterials to undrstand classic ETL/ELT process in a nutshell. I used this course to get basic knowledge on this thing before an interview.

par Liberto S

19 sept. 2020

Great course. It mimics real life case. However, the time required to complete assignments is much more than stated. The assignments are great though, I learned a lot from those.

par Ernesto K

15 déc. 2015

Very nice class, well thought out and organized. The assignments are interesting and the practice assignments are relevant. Getting hands on on Pentaho was a big plus.

par Sherri J

13 avr. 2017

I enjoyed learning this material and found that the Pentaho Kettle hands-on experience was a nice additional to skill set that I can provide my clients.

par Ranjeet K

13 avr. 2020

Good course for starting DW and ETL. Some of the technologies like Pivot4j are old/ irrelevant today. They should be updated with latest technologies